We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Breakfast” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
“Bad Breakfast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Overall for this hotel is good for comfortable room even though it is quite small, acceptable price and good location. However, it is terrible for breakfast. d ingredient they use in breakfast is smelly & expiry. i got food poisoning & gastric after having their breakfast. Pls dun take their food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janepung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We regret to hear that you have got food poisoning during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu and feel sorry that the breakfast smells bad to you. However, it is impossible that the restaurant will use expired ingredients. Our restaurant is currently tenanted to Japanese owner who runs many famous chain outlets in West Malaysia. The variety of breakfast is limited but it is freshly cooked everyday using fresh ingredients. The kitchen staff and the management staff of the restaurant also taste the food everyday after they cook but no food poisoning case is reported.
The food poisoning may have caused from other food taken somewhere else which is not suitable to some individuals.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again.

Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    239
    164
    30
    18
See reviews for
71
125
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Apart from the small rooms, everything else was fine. Booked my room through Agoda.com and stayed there on three separate occasions in the past 2 years. Rooms were nice and clean. Staffs were very professional. Within walking distance to almost everything in Kota Kinabalu. A bit dodgy to walk around at night, but use common sense and you will be grand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

i chose this hotel because of my friend told me he had lives before, with a ticket package the price was excellent, the staff of hotel were polite, the room was clean and simple, the big window let the room being capacious.

Room Tip: non smoking room, with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getwayhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

we chose a standard room through our travel agency.=( consisting of a queen bedroom ).Upon arrival,we were so shocked to see the size of the room.Its too small for a family of three.You need to get your plain water ( mineral water supply ) from a common area and ironing to be done in a common area as well.The walkway from the front door to the bed is so narrow ( especially if you are big and tall) .In short its too cramp.

We upgraded to a triple room which is the size of your usual hotel( roomy with daily top up of two mineral water bottles ) and personal ironing board and iron( iam a muslim wearing with a hijab therefore iam not comfortable ironing outside by myself) .

The standard of cleanliness is good and the staffs ( from housekeeping to front desk are amazing) .Very efficient indeed. We use the laundry services for few days and we are happy that the clean laundry came back the same day at no extra charge unlike other hotels we have stayed in.( we did not request for same day delivery).

Buffet breakfast was decent,same meal every morning but hey you get what you payright?.If you are keen to try local delicacies ,opposite star city mall, the y have pasar tani( morning market ) every Monday,wednesday and Saturday.Or you can have your breakfast at the nearby stalls which is really cheap ( 7 pieces of banana fritters for one ringgit , 3 big donuts for one ringgit and few other local delicacies such as kuih kuih,coconut rice,yellow rice with dishes.really cheap indeed and halal too.

You can also have your lunch at the starcity mall mixed rice shop which is again halal.If you are a durian lover, you should also try the durian pancake ( you can get it at the very entrance of the star city mall.

overall,we enjoy our stay at cititel express .we will come again in the nearest future ..good location,good value for money and good services from the hotel staffs

Room Tip: get a triple room if you are travelling with more than 3 person.and if you are travelling as a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jangankepoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I can say its just meant for sleep and rest if you have works to do near the hotel.

Its quite far if you intend to walk from the hotel to Pasar Vietnam where the goodies of pearl are sold as a main attraction.

The room is clean and comfy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zakisarpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The room is very clean, new furniture. Clean toilet. Very small in size. Modern design and good interior set up, so you won't feel the room is that 'small'. Buffet breakfast was decent, but same menu every morning. We stayed 3 nights, our last breakfast became boring... wish they could have change some of the food..

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank XRuChiaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

cheap,clean & comfortable for backpakers.the room was fine,quite small & bed is very comfy.this type of room is only for one who didn't care about spaces & maintenance. for the price just don't expect too much of it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Property: Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing