We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Bad experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

For the price, it's quite a bargain for a centrally located hotel. As expected, rooms are small and deco is decent, but that's perfectly fine to me. However, the sound proofing is awful! I can hear toilet flushes and people showering. Worst of all, a group of inconsiderate tourists were chatting loudly along the corridor at 6am!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the standard double room for rm136 per nite. The room is indeed small with little room for walking. It's like Tune Hotel but the bright side is it comes with toiletries, free wifi n tv (because u have paid all for this =]). Although the room doesnt have a flask to boil water, they have a water dispenser near the lift area and also an ironin board.

The location of the hotel is quite convenient as it is located near to the centro mall and 10-15 mins walk to gaya street and filipino market.

The downside of the hotel is that the doors are difficult to shut from the outside, u have to bang it shut so if u r inside sleeping and your neighbors r banging the doors, it gets very annoying, you can also hear people talkin at the corridor area.

If you are looking for a convenient place with just a room to sleep then u may consider it. If u want comfort and peace then u may look elesewhere.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stanleyipkiss86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Yes, I can hear everything! Screaming kids and parents at the corridor, the flushing of the toilet next door, people talking over the phone, noisy TV can be heard over the wall! There is practically ZERO sound proofing. The rooms are so small and congested. The only good thing is that it is working distance to shopping malls nearby and there are a lot of food centres nearby. The free wifi does not work all the time!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, it will be less noisy. Do not take the hotel's breakfast, it is nothing go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JamesOngSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here in May during one of my business trip. I would recommend their studio room which cost you about USD 100-120. But its worth much more than that. its a suit with full fledged kitchen, believe me you will love it. If you have little bit interest in cooking,thats the place you should be.
At the same time if you choose some other rooms it will equally disappoint you.

Would love to be here in this hotel and this room as and when I travel to KK

Room Tip: Go for Studio Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skhanna441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying in our Studio. For your information, if you do not want to do cooking in your next trip or Studio is not available, you may also consider our Superior triple that is located on the same floor with Studio. The rooms are more spacious than our standard room in lower floors and also equipped with better facilities such as ironing facilities in the room, minibar, kettle etc.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again in the near future.


Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Overall for this hotel is good for comfortable room even though it is quite small, acceptable price and good location. However, it is terrible for breakfast. d ingredient they use in breakfast is smelly & expiry. i got food poisoning & gastric after having their breakfast. Pls dun take their food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janepung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We regret to hear that you have got food poisoning during your recent trip to Kota Kinabalu and feel sorry that the breakfast smells bad to you. However, it is impossible that the restaurant will use expired ingredients. Our restaurant is currently tenanted to Japanese owner who runs many famous chain outlets in West Malaysia. The variety of breakfast is limited but it is freshly cooked everyday using fresh ingredients. The kitchen staff and the management staff of the restaurant also taste the food everyday after they cook but no food poisoning case is reported.
The food poisoning may have caused from other food taken somewhere else which is not suitable to some individuals.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again.

Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Apart from the small rooms, everything else was fine. Booked my room through Agoda.com and stayed there on three separate occasions in the past 2 years. Rooms were nice and clean. Staffs were very professional. Within walking distance to almost everything in Kota Kinabalu. A bit dodgy to walk around at night, but use common sense and you will be grand.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MELVIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

i chose this hotel because of my friend told me he had lives before, with a ticket package the price was excellent, the staff of hotel were polite, the room was clean and simple, the big window let the room being capacious.

Room Tip: non smoking room, with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getwayhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,210 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#64 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata | Asia City, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £26 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, a 100% Smoke-Free Hotel since 1 November 2017, offering 275 guestrooms with all the essential amenities for a refreshing experience with great value. Guestrooms are cosy with eclectic mix of stylish feature wall, anchored along efficiency with essential amenities such as Wi-Fi (inclusive of all public areas), LCD TV with satellite channels, electronic safe and power shower. Each guest floor from Level 1 to Level 11 offers common ironing room and hot & cold water dispenser. Located strategically in the heart of the city within Asia City complex, a mere 10-minute drive from the airport and walking distance to several local shopping centres, the hotel operates on the philosophy of “Smart, Clean, Simple”, offering a different dimension of accommodation to the business and leisure travelers – simplicity with a value-focus experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing