We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price is fair and it is tidy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Be honest its location is not the best for me. because i loved to go area around gaya street, searching for food. but anyway it is around 15-20mins walk from hotel to gaya street.instead it is near to a (not fancy mall) called Center Point, where it has supermarket and local stores.

Its room is very very small but tidy and clean as well as comfortable temperature (yes, the air conditioner is controllable), clean washroom and wifi. as we lived in the cheapest class of room, there is no fridge.

regarding to it price and my experience, it is quite ok.

Room Tip: if possible, try to ask a higher floor. i lived at floor 9 but still can hear sound from vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JosepineK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This will be a very quick and brief review as there is not a lot to say about this hotel. I think its based on the Japanese concept of how small can you make a room and still get away with renting it out as a double hotel bedroom. I would suggest that this hotel has won the contest as they have the smallest double bedroom with on suite that I have ever stayed in and that includes back packer hotel accommodation.

If you just want a bed and somewhere to shower then this hotel is for you as it has nothing else to offer.

Its reasonably close to the city centre and night life so that is a good thing.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you cannot get into any other hotel, or stay if you just want somewhere to store y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Went there twice with 2 weeks apart and didn't have any choice but to stay at this hotel. The 1st trip we stayed at 9th floor (room 913, 914 and 915) and we were given rooms that are in the middle of the floor (thats mean no windows). It was so stuffy and I suggest Claustrophobic should avoid this because I almost drowned myself in the room and im claustrophobic. Poor sound proof because I heard everything from babies cried next doors, people drying their hair next doors in the morning and ugh it was horrible and footsteps from people walking on the hallway. Second stay at Cititel hotel, we got 11th floor and the rooms are getting smaller. I assume that, the higher the floor, the smaller the rooms are. This time we got rooms with windows BUT unfortunately the windows can't be opened. And luckily, we got corner rooms away from hallway. Nevertheless, the rooms are clean, not smelly, high pressure of water in bathrooms.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

For the price, it's quite a bargain for a centrally located hotel. As expected, rooms are small and deco is decent, but that's perfectly fine to me. However, the sound proofing is awful! I can hear toilet flushes and people showering. Worst of all, a group of inconsiderate tourists were chatting loudly along the corridor at 6am!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the standard double room for rm136 per nite. The room is indeed small with little room for walking. It's like Tune Hotel but the bright side is it comes with toiletries, free wifi n tv (because u have paid all for this =]). Although the room doesnt have a flask to boil water, they have a water dispenser near the lift area and also an ironin board.

The location of the hotel is quite convenient as it is located near to the centro mall and 10-15 mins walk to gaya street and filipino market.

The downside of the hotel is that the doors are difficult to shut from the outside, u have to bang it shut so if u r inside sleeping and your neighbors r banging the doors, it gets very annoying, you can also hear people talkin at the corridor area.

If you are looking for a convenient place with just a room to sleep then u may consider it. If u want comfort and peace then u may look elesewhere.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stanleyipkiss86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Yes, I can hear everything! Screaming kids and parents at the corridor, the flushing of the toilet next door, people talking over the phone, noisy TV can be heard over the wall! There is practically ZERO sound proofing. The rooms are so small and congested. The only good thing is that it is working distance to shopping malls nearby and there are a lot of food centres nearby. The free wifi does not work all the time!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room, it will be less noisy. Do not take the hotel's breakfast, it is nothing go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JamesOngSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here in May during one of my business trip. I would recommend their studio room which cost you about USD 100-120. But its worth much more than that. its a suit with full fledged kitchen, believe me you will love it. If you have little bit interest in cooking,thats the place you should be.
At the same time if you choose some other rooms it will equally disappoint you.

Would love to be here in this hotel and this room as and when I travel to KK

Room Tip: Go for Studio Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skhanna441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying in our Studio. For your information, if you do not want to do cooking in your next trip or Studio is not available, you may also consider our Superior triple that is located on the same floor with Studio. The rooms are more spacious than our standard room in lower floors and also equipped with better facilities such as ironing facilities in the room, minibar, kettle etc.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again in the near future.


Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#15 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu

Address: No. 1 Jalan Singgah Mata, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £25 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing