We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have ur own transport then is ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KK Times Square Hotel
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Tawau Division, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you have ur own transport then is ok”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

When i first check into this Hotel, they already given me a bad impression straightaway...Standard check in time is 2pm, every Hotel is the same... i arrived there 2.30pm with my wife, expecting the room to be ready, but to our dismay, the room not ready, ok, no big deal, i booked for a kingsize bed, since twin sharing room is available, so i requested to change ... i plan to stay for 5 nights... the door locked got problem,. everytime we open or closed the door, there will be a alarm sound going on... quite irritating... refer to the front desk, they said is like that... ok, i can accept that... when i am about to go out , front desk call and informed that they accidently swipe my card RM500. instead of verifying my c/card like any hotel normally do... After settle everything, i move out the next day to other hotel which is far more cheaper the price than here.... Another thing , the room is registered under my wife 's name, Michele Lee... b4 we check out, we already informed one of the female receptionist that we will be checking out at 2pm, but they still call up and asking whether we extend or checking out... i can assure is the same female receptionist who we informed to about our check out time and she still call us to verify again, plus, she address my wife name as Mr Micheal Lee...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckham72332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    38
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
15
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The room itself was nice, clean and comfortable. Normally people would say this hotel is not in a convenient location. Times square of Kota kinabalu is not so far away from the main part of the city, however because of the road system it is quite difficult to walk down there, meaning you have to pay for taxi every time you go out. There is no taxi waiting for you outside the hotel, so you have to ask the receptionists to call it for you. the hotel rate is actually higher than some of nicer hotels in the town. So, not worth paying for this hotel.

I would give you still 3 stars if the location is the only disadvantage. Unfortunately some of the receptionists are quite rude, making you hesitant to ask for anything including taxi. It is not that they don't know how to speak. But can they just simply say "please take your seat while I call for taxi" instead of "Sit down there!". This is just one example.

They know the location is one thing their guests do not like about them, so they had put up ads saying there are cheaper/free shuttle to the city or airport. We asked for that, and they said "oh, the ad is a very old one". Next day, the ad was still there, so we asked once more. the same answer. Why would they not take off whatever things that they know out of date? If not, they should provide the service even though they are an old ads.

One more thing I did not like was that they did not provide complimentary services for the second night. When we came back for the second night, towels were not there, coffee/tea/water was not there.

We just did not know for what we were paying so much money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yukari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

kota kinabalu
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I think the location not good for tourist. I my self stayed here because of safety for my car... a lot of KK hotel doesnt have parking lot so i end up choose this hotel. Also, there's pub and bar in this area..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eina30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Good price, perfectly comfortable room, OK surroundings. Free wifi and lots of decent (but not particularly interesting) places to eat within a few metres. It's not in the centre of town - although only a short taxi ride away - but absolutely fine if you've got business on that side of town, as I did. And it is a good price. But if you're coming on holiday, or your business is in town, then I wouldn't really recommend it as anything special. You're better off picking a place to stay that is more convenient to the sites and the business district.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabah, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

It's an added value for money for a night or two only. Not within the best location of the city unless you're into clubs or semi fine dining. Service was to meet expectation but not to exceed. You would expect smile, greet, talk & listen but neither answer nor anticipate. Room was spacious but not clean. The room maid might have forgotten to vacuum the room despite used toothpicks found under the bed! Maybe she had a back-to-back assignment. Requested a twin sharing and got a "Hollywood King", Air-conditioning was rather hot. Mini Bar was not chilled enough to compliment your beverages. Bathroom amenities was basic minus the toothbrush & paste, Extra towel was at RM3.00 per / request. Make sure you get a higher floor & city view. It delivers you some justice. And by the way, having a car would be an added advantage, or you'll end spending a fortune for taxis or the internal transfer services.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aramaitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed here for just 1 night stay since, we have flight the next stay. The hotel is 20 mins. ride from the airport. The reception is small. The room have a big queen size bed with LCD TV.
The room that we stayed have a nice view, of the city. The hotel is located in the secluded area
of KK where all the club hopping begins. but the place have only a few choices of food restaurants we could eat. You wanted to stay here for 1 day, but for 2 days, you will get bored. But, it was a good stay, since, the bed is nice and they have a big cable LCD TV.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

My first word ,HONEST,Room spacious,quite,clean,good services hope to stay here again nextime........just a few minute to town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perantau07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
#18 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#28 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sabah Oriental Hotel
Sabah Oriental Hotel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Times Square Hotel

Property: KK Times Square Hotel
Address: Block C-16-G, Signature Office KK Times Square | Off Coastal Highway, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — KK Times Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KK Times Square Hotel offers a business boutique style hotel, which is a modern & contemporary designed with the essence of true Sabahan hospitality, Our hotel, from the courteous and friendly staffs, right up to the rooms that spell practically and comfort ability is our theme. The aim of the hotel is to redefine the expectation of the guests. The convenient location of the hotel also means that one is never too far away from the center of the city shopping districts. In addition of that the hotel also provides free parking space including basement parking and 24 hours security guard & CCTV security control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your KK Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing