We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Great middle of the road hotel ! Good value - easy location to walk to sites especially tourist office and Sunday market
Clean , modern and really helpful manager .

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwnkta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    396
    94
    12
    1
See reviews for
188
549
108
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

This small pearl is the best place to spend your vacation in Kota Kinabalu. Is very close to many restaurants and a supermarket. The staff is AMAZING!! so helpfull and kind, we felt like home!!!! many many thanks to all of them!!
They are able to organize what ever you want in the area.
Perfect hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchfly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I stayed for one night with kids. The room is small for our family!
Overall these hotel is more suitable for solo people.
The TV channel is less and not clear.
The front desk people is helpfull and friendly.
Just u pay peanut u get monkey, so dont expect too much!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed there three days after climbing Mount Kinabalu and this was, for sure, the best value we got for money in Malaysia. The room was clean, well equipped and just a place where we loved to relax a bit.
Location is quite good, being not far from the town center (also really close to a relatively expensive but recommendable super market offering a lot of quite good "Western" food).
After a couple of days in "basic" accomodations (which happened to be not much cheaper than this bargain), this was a real "feel good" place with very friendly staff. Food recommendation from the reception led us to the best food we got in Malaysia - Thanks for that!

Overall - simply great and well done. We really loved to stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh_3041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My husband and I stayed here on two occasions during March whilst travelling around Malaysia, as part of a trip to celebrate his 40th birthday. I had spent a significant amount of money on this trip and booked eden 54 really as a means to save some cash, before moving onto a more expensive coastal resort. What a pleasant surprise!

Long before we had arrived at the hotel, I was impressed by the service, care and attention shown to us. Despite the fact the room type we wanted was already fully booked, we were made to feel our custom was valued and Roseanne went out of her way to ensure we could have a room that we would be happy with.

Arriving at the hotel after 20 hours of travelling, we were welcomed in, shown to a lovely room - simple in style but with nice furnishings and very clean - and had all our questions answered by Ling Ling and Roseanne. The location of the hotel is slightly away from the main part of town, but the easy and nice walk is no problem and there are restaurants nearby if you don't feel like venturing too far.

Overall, you do have to remember that this is not a 5* hotel. But, what you get for your money far outweighs almost every hotel experience I've ever had. Nothing is too much trouble for any staff member and having somewhere in a good location, safe and clean to stay, with comfy beds and great service (and better WIFI than anywhere else we went!) for less than £30 a night, really can't be complained about! Would we go back? Undoubtedly!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed here three separate nights over the course of a week. The first and third nights where quiet, but the second night it was really noisy. Not sure if this had to do with the people that where staying at the hotel that night, the room I had or if the hotel was really busy, but it wasn't ideal and it was pretty hard to sleep.

Otherwise, really loved:

- The really friendly ladies at the counter that gave me tips on local eats, etc.
- The free wifi and computer in the lobby
- The communal fridge, but also being able to buy cold drinks for a very reasonable price.
- The location, esp being next to a bank and supermarket and nearby the shopping centres.
- Being able to leave luggage at the hotel (when I went to climb Mt Kinabalu)
- The size of the room and the furnishings - modern and comfortable size.
- Easy to find from the airport and by other drivers.
- Location to the city and the wharf.
- Great value for money and easy to book via email directly.

I would definitely stay here again and would tell others to do the same.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illan-and-Stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I am probably repeating what all other reviews have said, but I have to say it again - this is a first class hotel at an great price. Quality everything from consierge to bedding and extra's such as free wifi, inexpensive & fast laundry service, close to everything we needed - supermarket, shopping centre, restaurants etc. If i had to find something not quite right, it could be the lighting - a little under done for reading at night. But that is being really picky!! (and lighting is a common problem across Asia). I would happily go back to KK if i could stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danya66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
456 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,444 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing