We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazing service!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed for 1 night before climbing mt kinabalu. The rooms were of a good standard and the service fantastic - we were given some good tips and recommendations for shopping and massage. We wanted to stay another night when we returned from the climb but they were fully booked. However, They booked an alternative hotel for us and even drove us there! Very impressive!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrismema09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    393
    94
    12
    1
See reviews for
188
547
107
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The service at Eden54 was amazing. The staff were fantasic and were professional and extremely helpful. They had cheap and efficient laundry service. Close to resaurants and tourist attractions. Parking isn't very good around the hotel. The hot water service wasn't the best, but the rooms were good. The size of the rooms varied. They had fridges for communial use. Tasteful Decor. Great price for the rooms expecially with the service that the staff provided.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We have stayed in Eden 54 from 20.03.2011 to 24.03.2011 during our 3 weeks trip to West and East Malaysia. Kota Kinabalu was the last city we visited before flying home. The city is a good starting point for all kinds of activities in Borneo - be it mountain hiking, jungle trekking or scuba diving. A flight to Sandakan and the Sepilok Orang Utan reserve takes only 40 minutes and is a good idea.

The infrastrucure of Kota Kinabalu leaves not a lot to wish for with all the food, markets and all the shopping you'll need. People are laid back and friendly - and the doctor's are open 24h if you need one.

Hotel Eden 54 is a boutique-style hotel, interiour reduced to the necessary and inspired by the fashion of boutique hotels that can be found in Europe (but much cheaper!). The hotel is situated only 15 min by taxi from the airport – and in walking distance of several shopping centers.

We were welcomed by the owners who run the hotel with professionalism and a real spirit of service. We immediately felt at home here!

Eden 54 is the ideal stop for a couple of days or as a basis for exploring the environments. Free wifi, facilities to print out your next flight ticket and the nice rooms are just everything you need. There is no breakfast - but then, breakfast in a hotel would be a waste in Kota Kinabalu, where you have a tremendous choice of foodcourts and street food. We recommend a stroll down the road for some Roti Canai with Tarig tea - delicious.

Whenever you need an advise or help, you can count on the hotel staff to be right there - we have rarely met such friendly and helpful people, even in Malaysia.

So look no further when in Kota Kinabalu - just tell the taxi driver at the airport "Eden 54" and they will say "good choice"! What better reputation can a hotel have ?

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitideParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Eden54 is roughly a 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu airport. The hotel is within walking distance to some restaurants, shopping malls and a supermarket, which came in handy to buy some food and drinks for our hike up Mt. Kinabalu on the following day. Our room was small but clean; not great for a longer holiday but just perfect and great value for staying a night before or after moving on to the national park or other sights. The staff was very helpful in pointing out where to find a place to buy gloves and they also stored our luggage (even though we did not move into the hotel again after our hike) during the following two days when we were climbing up the mountain. The hotel also offers a common dining area including a fridge where personal food can be stored free of charge.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is a really good value hotel. When we arrived our baggage was taken care of. The room was quite adequate - had
Most of what we required. we mentioned that the communal fridge in the corridor was full up and so ling ling provided us with a small fridge, in our room. The next day ling ling asked us how was our room and how did we sleep,
I suffer with pretty bad back pain, and mentioned this. so ling ling said how about we change the matress on the bed, which was no trouble for her at all, my sleep improved greatly. Ling ling is also very informative when it comes to the local area. She knew which islands were best for snorkelling and suggested sapi - which was great. When we had to take a taxi to go somewhere, she would tell us how much we should pay. There is a huge supermarket next door which we used get supplies. Toiletries were a very good price compared to Perth.
Just 5 mins walk around the corner is the jetty there is a great pub called the cock and bull where there is a fantastic house band that played great music there every
night of the week- we had many 2am nights there with Danny, Lester, Mel, carol, and loala. They all have the best voices we have heard in a live band to rival those here in Perth western Australia. All in all I would recommend the area as well as the hotel we stayed here for 6 nights and then went to another hotel afterwards. - Review on hotels.com

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Simple, functional and does the job but I wouldnt wow! about it. The hotel is run by savvy Chinese that have maximised the potential of some industrial/office looking building (= tiny rooms and ours without windows). Location is downtown indeed but quite a walk away from the promenade with restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Gl0betr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

A really excellent choice, great location, very competent and helpful staff, fabulous room that I got when I walked in off the street. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaghdadSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.9 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing