We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I felt very at home here which is particularly important when you travel alone. It was really nice being able to buy familiar foods from the supermarket downstairs and prepare it in the common kitchen/lounge area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RobinEsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    390
    93
    12
    1
See reviews for
187
541
105
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is the second hotel we stayed in KK for 4 nights. Not only the cozy decoration, beautifully relaxing stay made even better by the excellent service and friendly staffs in Hotel Eden. Agreed with other reviewers, the small con is the "semi-warm water".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshTsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were very lucky to get a room at this hotel without a reservation when we first arrived in Borneo, as we discovered later that it is rated the second best hotel in Kota Kinabulu by Trip Advisor, and we soon discovered why. The Hotel Eden is centrally located, is meticulously clean, has lovely decor that makes it feel more like a hotel than a backpacker lodge, yet it offers a large, very comfortable common area with kitchen facilities for its clients to store and make their own food. As such, it feels much like a luxurious budget hotel.

In addition to the pleasant hotel decor and its prime location, there is the stellar service provided by Ling Ling, the hotel manager. When we arrived, we had some vague idea of what we wanted to do with our time in Saba. Ling Ling devoted hours of her time planning and coordinating the next segment of our trip. She was priceless.

Rooms were available in various budget ranges. We chose to indulge in the large room at the front with the street view. Well worth it.

We tried to rebook a room here on two other occasions when returning to this city, and on each it was fully booked, but Ling Ling found us accommodation elsewhere, so be aware that booking ahead is a wise decision if you want to stay here.

Room Tip: If you want to indulge yourself, ask for Room 104 facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Hotel Eden as a stop-over before heading to the the Shrangrila, Rasa Ria. We were delighted with the homely atmosphere of this hotel and the friendly staff. Ling Ling, the owner/Manager went out of her way to provide us with information on things to do, restaurants to visit, etc. She also kindly arranged our transport to and from the Rasa Ria with a really nice private driver in a comfortable air-conditioned van. This was a lot cheaper than arranging transfers through the Rasa Ria.

Whist the Hotel Eden is more of a budget hotel, our family room was large, clean and the bed and pillows super comfortable - just what we needed for our jet lag. I wish that we had booked to stay here at the end of our trip instead of staying so many nights at the Tanjung Aru hotel.

Location wise, you are close to the markets and the shopping mall and waterfront. Downstairs from the hotel is a store that sells literally everything - it caters to the back-packer / foreign market. They also serve great food.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSydney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel 9 nights and Ling Ling really made me feel home. Huge supermarket downstairs to buy foods, and you can keep them in the fridge in common kitchen. WiFi worked very well throughout my stay. Only cons are limited amenities and semi-warm shower. I would definitely stay again if I visit KK in the future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Thaiahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I guess that reviewers who reported the Eden 54 as a bargain had not stayed at the Four Points by Sheraton in Sandakan, which is a beautiful four star hotel for about RM20 more. Now that was a bargain. I guess KK is more expensive. We paid RM179 per night for our three night stay.
The Eden 54 is conveniently located budget hotel with a western supermarket with liquor department on one side of the entry and a local store on the other. The reception and rooms are all upstairs and there is no lift. Shops, restaurants and the waterfront are all in easy walking distance.
Our room was clean and tidy but very small with no luggage racks and nowhere convenient to put our bags. There was a small flat-screen television, a small fridge, tea making, an armchair, a wardrobe and desk with chair. The wifi was slow sometimes and okay at other times.
The bathroom was clean and convenient but there was a smell. There was no hot water in the sink but this was mitigated by one of those great little individual hot water systems that give immediate and infinite hot water. The towels were clean but quite shabby. A laundry service was provided at RM6 per kilogram.
For our three night stay I would have preferred to pay more and stay somewhere more spacious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Writing this while still staying in this hotel. What I like about this hotel is the way how it fits what we called "just nice" for the travelers.

The cleanliness is exceptionally great. The staff are generally helpful and friendly.

Leaving on the 14th and still having a great time in Kota Kinabalu, despite the afternoon rain which restricted a few activities!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room facing the balcony garden, great to open up the window for fresh air every mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teoh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing