We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you want to stay book ahead!”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Woolpit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“if you want to stay book ahead!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Cool and stylish. Warm and inviting. Serene and friendly. All these phrases epitomise Ling and her top class accommodation. All the benefits of a hostel with the class of a boutique hotel. Kitchenette and common space, computer and printer, as well as kettle and WiFi in your room. While we were there the amazingly efficient and business like Ling organised a trip for us, got our laundry done, let us make international phone calls when our debit card got blocked, told us the best place to buy pearls (and it's much better than the market! ), and was gracious with us throughout. She has stamps and phone cards and anticipates your every need. Next to the hotel is Tong Hing supermarket which has a great range of international food, fresh fruits, wine, a cafe and bakery. HSBC with an array of ATMs is on the next corner. You can walk to the waterfront easily.

Room Tip: We booked ahead and still got the last room. We met many people who had tried more than once to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    384
    92
    12
    1
See reviews for
184
536
104
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Don't waste your money or time looking elsewhere in Kota Kinabalu. The lady that runs this hotel makes the stay as enjoyable as you could ask for. She is efficient and prompt in responding to reservation requests and goes out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. She takes all of your needs and desires into consideration and goes out of her way to please. Her recommendation for local food was wonderful The place is spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and provides all of the comforts you need for a wonderful stay and she does it for a very reasonable price. There is no reason this hotel isn't number 1 on Trip Advisor for KK. Do yourself a favor if you find yourself in Kota Kinabalu and stay at the Eden54, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The rooms with windows on the front of the hotel were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

There are a lot of great reviews for this hotel, that's why we chose it. The reviews (the 5 star ones) are right on. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff, especially Ling Ling, is very helpful. When we arrived Ling Ling had some very good recommendations for dinner and a tour to the cultural village which was a lot of fun and worth while.
We stayed for two days, left some luggage and returned after a trip on the Kinabatahgan River. When we got back our luggage was in our room and all was well. Ling Ling arranged for all our cabs, at an ungodly early hour to get to the airport.
Simply, stay here it's a great palace.

Room Tip: There are some renovated rooms that are a bit nicer. The street noise was not objectionable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjrozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed in here for three nights with my partner earlier this month. Although we had quite a small room, it was extremely clean and very well decorated. We were not disappointed. The staff were approachable, helpful and very friendly. The hotel is located adjacent to a very well stocked supermarket and within walking distance from a 7 eleven. It is also walking distance from a shopping mall, the waterfront, a variety of restaurants and the market stalls on J. Tujuh Belas, which sell durian (the worlds smelliest fruit). Durian is so smelly, that it is not permitted on the hotel premises! All in all, I would certainly recommend that you stay here if you happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gideon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel to stay. Clean and comfortable. Near to shopping mall, fillipino market, night market and jesselton point.
Btw to ling ling thks for everything. 5 stars to her. Dun hesitate to ask her anything. Great job ling ling.
Will come back here again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank quiverex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the StudioPlus and really enjoyed our stay. Although the reservation process seemed a bit cumbersome (requires submission of your flight details), it really is to ensure they know when to expect your arrival. After confirming the reservation, they gave good information on how to get to the hotel from the taxi, etc.

There is a short stairway to get to the reception and room level, and hallways are a bit dark and the room is also a bit dim, but the bathroom is very brightly lit and clean.

They include complimentary tea and coffee as well as drinking water. The manager was really very helpful in giving us advice on where to go or what to eat, or where to find things we wanted to do/see. Very friendly and very informative, don't be afraid to ask her questions.

Reception is 24 hrs, and she also helped to book a taxi for us as we had an early morning flight to catch (40MYR since it was during the early hour, normally 30MYR).

The location is on the extreme end of the main area, but almost everything is in walkable distance.

They have wifi, but the signal was too weak in our room (far from the main reception area), but they also have a shared computer you can use if needed.

Right next to the hotel is a small supermarket/shop and they have REALLY good, sweet fruit that is already prepared. do remember to buy some!

Room Tip: wifi signal couldn't reach RM 218
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I just came back to KL from my KK trip recently. I stayed here for 2 nights total with my family of 3 persons. The first thing I notice is the cleanliness of the hotel. The location is excellent with 2 supermarkets on either side of the hotels. Popular places to visit are all within walking distance. Food is not a problem. Just walk down Gaya Street and you will bounce into many restaurants and eateries. What I like most is the pantry area in the hotel. It is staff with plates, cups, spoons & forks and knives, etc. with 2 microwave ovens and 2 refrigerators. You can make you own favorite tea, and prepare your own fresh fruits (which I can't miss even when travelling). It also has a PC where I can go online to check in my e-ticketing.

The Manager and staff Ling Ling are very friendly and I got lots of tips and advises on popular places to visit and local dishes to savor, even places to eat on the way to Tamparuli and Kundasang.

You must try to experience the stay there.

Room Tip: I prefer my 3 beds room to be facing the inner court yard (garden) because it is newer and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing