We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with fantastic staff”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and cannot fault anything. The rooms were cleaned every day and the bed linen and towels were also changed daily. The small but well equipped kitchen is handy if you want make some lunch or breakfast. The supermarkets either side of the hotel are great for buying essentials. The hotel is near some of the top rated restaurants on TA and is a few minutes walk away from Jesselton Point. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. On my 2nd night I fell and badly cut my foot and they were more than happy to administer first aid and offer advice on how to treat my injury. They were also very helpful with calling for taxi's and organizing our trip to the orangutan sanctuary at the Shangri-La hotel. We will miss our stay here in KK and hotel Eden. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 293917Charles16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

The outstanding feature of this hotel is the wonderful wonderful staff. They are fun, friendly and so so helpful. The ladies at reception who own the hotel are full of information and happy to help at any time. We stayed in 3 different rooms during our time in Borneo. They very kindly kept our large rucksacks when we went off trekking and again when we went to stay in a homestay. It is important to book a room with a window as I believe there are rooms without windows. The rooms are compact, very clean and nicely decorated all with lovely bathrooms. There is no breakfast but there is a very good supermarket just outside the hotel and plenty of restaurants within walking distance. You are very central and within walking distance of Jesselton point to get a ferry to any of the islands, lots of large shopping centres if you need to buy anything, and the waterfront area for restaurants. Ticks all the boxes and makes for a really pleasant stay in Kota Kinabulu.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilld001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Was generally happy with the stay..We booked the family room in advance(Dec 13 for our March 14 trip). Ling Ling helped arranged our car(for our Kinabalu trip) and taxi ...room was cosy and bed comfy-loved the pillows-many 5 start hotels provide 2 pillows to 1 bed..we had 5 pillows on each bed ! Once again..thank you to Ling Ling and Danny( very friendly guy and gave us lots of tips). Location is good-very near the Jesselton's jetty and shopping mall. Very near to gaya street market and KK waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slwh23PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our daughter and husband enjoyed their stay here previously and suggested we give it a try. We were checked in and welcomed the warm friendly owners and allocated a room on the front, road-side of the hotel. The room was basic and clean and we were content with it. Unfortunately, we didn't get a good night's sleep; the bed and pillows were too firm for us and there was considerable road noise and TV noise from the adjacent room. Because of this we decided that although the hotel was good as a budget hotel, we had made a mistake in thinking that it would suit us 70 year olds, and we decided to move. I was apologetic to the owners - it was after all our mistake - but the the owner sympathized and even offered to make another booking for us..... You can't get more understanding than that! Do try it if your young and looking for a budget hotel.

Room Tip: Room along the front have windows but are attract a lot of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sejlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Hotel Eden54 is exactly what you need in KK, very clean hotel with friendly staff, good rooms with hot showers and comfortable beds. It is next door to a good supermarket which has everything you could possibly need. It is also less than a 5 minute walk to the Sunday market, several good restaurants and a huge shopping mall.

We were in KK to climb Mount Kinabalu, we booked 4 nights at the hotel so we could leave some bags there whilst we did the climb. It is a very safe and secure option.

It is also on a very quiet road compared to some of the other busy roads.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think we had the biggest room available for 2 people and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dowzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Eden 54 twice, once before leaving to go diving at Mabul (Sipadan), and again on our return to Kota Kinabalu. We loved the place. It has a great location, walking distance to lots of the sites and activities. It has a good kitchen area for preparing food or snacks and is right next door to a great produce market and a grocery store. We found the staff fabulous, always helpful, informative and had lots of suggestions that allowed us to make the most of our time in Kota Kinabalu. A very easy place to give our highest recommendation it.
I should also note that during our first stay, we had to change rooms but they managed that with very little fuss or bother. They also allowed us to leave some things in storage while we were gone for a week to Mabul, and had our left bag, and laundry ready for us when we returned. Awesome service.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Retired4good_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is fairly new / newly renovated and the rooms are nice and modern. The rooms are large enough to move around in and the toilets clean and spacious. Everything you would expect from a budget hotel and worth the money paid.

Location-wise, it is closest to the jetty and about a 10-12 minute walk to the waterfront. Not the most centrally located hotel but not cut-off either. It's a pleasant walk after all.

We were a family of 6 + toddler and we booked the family room (2 queen beds) + double (compact D) and this was sufficient for our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahaniIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing