We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely Stay”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Homely Stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second time staying here. The last time was two years ago. I would say it is still a great place to stay in terms of the location, price of room and friendliness of staff. Unless you are looking for big spacious room that with great scenery.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N1t3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    390
    93
    12
    1
See reviews for
187
541
105
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The rooms are very simple but clean and well furnished and comfortable to sleep in. The view isn't special. At night it's quiet. If you don't get one of the more expensive rooms with your own fridge, they have a common room fridge that everyone can use too.

The location of the hotel is excellent, within 5min walk of Suria Sabah and 20mins walk of more distant areas like the handicraft market. Just next to the hotel there is a bakery / restaurant / supermarket complex which is a great place to pick up fruits / snacks and essentials you've missed out on like toothpaste and toiletries.

What impressed me most was the helpfulness of the staff. We stayed for 2nights at separate times - the first night was before we climbed Mount Kinabalu. We checked out the next morning and left our stuff there overnight and came to pick up our stuff after finishing the climb the next afternoon. The hotel lady was incredibly helpful and offered us a shower with towels and laundry service, even though we'd already checked out. We also kept some other luggage that we didn't need on the rest of trip until we came back a week later!

They are also great on giving tips on where to go / eat and give helpful directions.

For the price this is an amazing little hotel that ticks all the boxes - good location, helpful staff, clean rooms... I would definitely be staying here again if I ever swing by KK City again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poortugaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel Eden 54 is a nice place to stay for a couple of nights. We had a room with a double bed and window. The view was absolutely terrible (we looked straight into another building) but we didn't spend much time in the room. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. There are 2 great shops just next door with all kinds of vers fruitshakes and other food and drinks.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel eden54 is opposite sabah suria shopping mall. Walking distance can get a lots of restaurants and it is near to Gaya street sunday market. The hotel only can provide 1 room key which I need to call my
friend to open the room when we are not going out
together. Share refrigerator provided in public area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim Yin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mambajao, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When my husband and i arrived, we were welcomed by the warm smiles of Ling ling, she was very helpful. I love the simple interior of the hotel, especially with the plants inside and the different kinds of cactus just outside our room. The hotel is simple yet elegant. The hotel is conveniently located, only a walking distance to the big Suria Mall and to the KK harbor where you can take boats for an island hopping nearby. It's a pity that we only stayed for a night but if ever we have the chance to go back to Kota Kinabalu we will surely stay at this hotel. I give this hotel the highest rate and i will recommend to some friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne34_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel has a good location in center of the city. The ferry terminal (for islands hopping) is like 5-7 minutes walking distance from the hotel, the new Suria Mall is 2-3 minutes walking distance, down stairs are Tong Hing supermarket and also fruit stall selling not only fruits but juices like coconut, chinese herba drinks, cakes and etc. To find the hotel, just mention "Tong Hing" or "HSBC Bank in Jalan Gaya", the taxi driver or the local will know the place.

The room is bit small but clean and well equipped with TV, coffee/tea, bathroom amenities and housekeeping on daily basis. There is a common area in front of the front desk located at the 1st floor where you can used the common freeze. Wifi is all around the hotel and inside the room as well, the coverage/reception is a bit slow. Plenty of along the Jalan Gaya and all this is within 2-15 minutes of walking distance. The service is good, and the staffs are friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Book early as the hotel always fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddyTbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As recommended by other TripAdvisor reviewers, Hotel Eden54 definitely met 100% of all my expectations. Clean rooms? Check. Great location? Absolutely! The Suria Sabah Mall is right at the back, 2 supermarkets bracket the hotel, and Old Town Café is just a block away. No breakfast included? No problem. Ask Ling-Ling or any of the hotel staff stationed at the reception desk, and they’ll point you to nearby Fook Yuen, which opens at 6am daily. Jesselton Point is also strategically located approximately 250-300m away from the hotel (or a 5-10 minute leisurely/touristy walk’s distance), so island hopping is ridiculously easy. WIFI connection in the room? Yup. Hot water? Mmhmm. The requisite air-conditioning in a humid country? Of course. Plus a ceiling fan for you to turn on while the A/C unit revs up upon your first sticking your key card into its anointed slot, which controls the room’s electrical system.

We did follow other previous guests’ suggestion to request for a room with a window facing the inner court garden. Coming from the Philippines, I had imagined a large garden with green grass, trees, and flowering plants. LOL! While the window did let in additional light, we faced a tiny pocket concrete garden with potted plants and the back-ends of other rooms’ air-conditioning system. You can hear boisterous guests from other rooms through the window, too. Good thing, though, those other guests limited the noise to only 20 minutes, so that inconvenience was short-lived.

Overall, a fantastic stay. I’d highly recommend this to Kota Kinabalu travelers looking for a budget-friendly, but great value place to stay.

Room Tip: Agreeing with other room recomms I read here: get one with a window. I think there are other less ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,036 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.9 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing