We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

While I cannot say that I received the same warm treatment from the Receptionist, everything else was fantastic. Affordable room (Studio King with window), clean and 1 supermarket on each side for last minute toiletries shopping.

Oh, don't get me wrong about the receptionist. She is nice but not as warm as I expected. Mr Dennis on the other hand was more warm and friendly (although he was more caught up in a conversation with a Caucasion man at the lobby when we arrived).

Do note that they are normally fully booked, so make your reservations well in advance. We confirmed ours 3 months prior to arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We just turned up in the hope that the hotel had space, and although Ling Ling (the owner) had to juggle round a few rooms, she managed to squeeze us in. Ling Ling gave us plenty of recommendations in terms of what to do and where to eat and also helped us plan a 3 day tour from Sandakan. We would not have enjoyed KK so much, had we not been staying at Eden 54. The location is great, just along from the Tourist Information Centre and a 5 mins walk to the Sabah shopping centre. There is also a supermarket just next door that has a bakery. The rooms are tastefully decorated and clean. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garry20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hotel Eden54 was just as good as the Lonely Planet guide said. The room was clean and cozy, the location excellent. The service was so helpful, they helped us reserve hotels and plan our trip. My boyfriend and I didn't feel like going to a hostel, wanted some privacy and a good night's sleep. This was perfect for it!

Room Tip: We booked a better room (queen if I remember correctly). Can't say if the cheaper rooms are as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katariina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

While my husband was taken to hospital very urgent and I had to rush from Kudat to KK together with my children, Eden Hotel 54 was my safe haven. Ling Ling, the hostess of the hotel took very good care of me and my children. She was very welcoming and helpful. Without her I would have not felt at home in a strange city. That made our stay enjoyable, even though we had to be forced here.
The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The neighborhood is good. If we are ever in KK, we will definitely book another room at Hotel Eden 54

Room Tip: ask for a room with kingsize bed and a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roekla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Eden 54 is amazing. It's like a proper hotel with beautiful rooms, lobby and the most helpful staff you could ever imagine. It's super clean, our window looked over a pretty rooftop garden and you could make tea and coffee in the rooms. The location is fantastic, really near the jetty to the islands, some great restaurants and shopping malls that have everything from currency exchange to luxury.

At the desk is Ling Ling. She's a delight and will help you with city maps/ what to do/ will give you discount vouchers for the islands / discounts for the Mari Mari cultural village (definitely worth going to!) , and tell you where to get everything from massages to amazing Malaysian breakfasts (again- definitely worth it. Really great food.) Ling Ling really cares about your experience and always tries to help. We had terrible luck with power point converters- the one we brought didn't work and the one we bought blew on our last night. Ling Ling loaned us a converter for our stay and let us take it to Kinabalu... Then when our new one broke on the last night and we asked if we could buy it, she gave it to us for free!
I'd definitely stay here again and again and recommend everyone else to do the same. You will be looked after exceptionally well by people who really care.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on either side of climbing Mt Kinabalu and just wanted a cheap and cheerful place to stay. We arrived at midday and they promptly gave us access to our room. After exploring KK we grabbed dinner down on the water and had a mooch around the big mall and were in bed early as we were getting collected at 6.30am the following morning to begin our 2 day hike.

The hotel recommend we pop down to the supermarket that evening to get some items for breakfast which you can then leave in the fridge at reception. We were also able to leave our luggage behind which they kindly placed in our room when we arrived back from the hike.

Hotel Eden54 is great value! We stayed in a King window. It's convenient, the staff are helpful and it's quiet. Rooms and furnishings are basic but clean.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JeniAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights in the Eden54. It was really good! The people there are very friendly and helped us a lot.

It is clean and the rooms are big enough!

The hotel is close to good parts of the city.

We would come back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lk198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#9 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £25 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing