We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money hotel, excellent staff - very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Value for Money hotel, excellent staff - very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

We tried to get into Eden 54 but due to all excellent reviews on tripadvisor there was no room in the inn. We were disappointed as it seemed to be the places to stay in KK however luckily Rosaane emailed me back and had managed to find some cancellations, it meant we had to move rooms a few times but we were happy with this as used to being on the road. On arrival to Eden 54 we had a very warm welcome from Rosanne and Chee Ling Ling, there was so helpful and we have never met such a excellent reception service. They told us good places to eat/drink, what to see and do in KK and we had a great stay due to their advise, we cannot give them enough praise.
In relation to the hotel itself, its is very clean however we found it to be quite dark due to the colour scheme. The rooms are really small but they are called Compact on the website anyway so this shouldnt come as a suprise. Its location is superb, very close to the Jessleton Jetty to catch the boats across to the islands. It is next door to a great supermarket which was very handy as there is no restaurant in the hotels. They also have a number of fridges around the hotel and communal kitchen with basic equipment e..g microwave, kettle, toaster. The walls are quite thin and so you can hear what is going on next door and when they are using the toilet or in the shower. The free wifi in the rooms didnt always work but think that there was issues with maintenance being carried out by the internet provider but there is a computer in the lobby. Rosanne and Chee Ling Ling sorted us out a amazing stay just outside the National Park for a couple of days in a lovely lodge called J Residence which was amazing, they booked us the best room too and we had such a lovely time. Overall we were happy with the hotel, it definetly offers value for money for the budget boutique traveller, we have stayed in nicer hotels but we feel it was the staff which made the stay extra special.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriggerSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    380
    91
    12
    1
See reviews for
182
526
103
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Stayed at this hotel because of the reviews and a recommendation. Initially stayed for 3 nights, loved it so much tore the flight ticket up and stayed another 2 nights.
Rosanne and Ling Ling and all the staff are friendly and go that extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay. They are very helpful with any adice or information you need.
This has got to be the best hotel I have stayed in for a long time and the daily rates are even better! If you plan to visit KK then a stay here is a must.
Very close to all amenities and a doddle to transfer from the airport in 15 minutes.
Fantastic is the best description.
Many thanks again to all the staff for an enjoyable stay.
What I would recommend is book early or you will be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChepstowBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

After reading about this on Tripadvisor decided to give this hotel a go and so glad we did. The hotel staff are very knowledgeable about everything and will do anything to improve our stay. It was perfect !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

An outstanding gem of a small hotel in KK. With its easy location, good affordable price, comfortable and clean rooms, close proximity to other facilities and most importantly, the excellent friendly helpful staff lead by Rosanne and Ling Ling. An enjoyable and relaxing stay at Hotel Eden54.

Sure, they don't have a swimming pool nor the 5 star rating, nor the central location, nor the ocean views but they make it up with 5 star friendly & helpful service and hospitality along with the clean and comfortable beds and air conditioned rooms.

The beds are very comfy, the room size are good, clean towels and bathrooms with a powerful hot shower and a good reliable quiet air conditioning unit. The small flat screen TV is also a plus. However they don't have a fridge in the rooms but there's a shared one on the foyer, so no big hassle there.

The hotel is within walking distance of the Sabah Tourism office and the Jesselton jetty (for island hopping etc), as well as the new Suria Sabah mall and the older Wisma Merdeka mall. For more convenience, there's a supermarket on the corner block from the hotel plus plenty of small wonderful eateries and restaurants just further down the block. Definitely worth a try. KFC & McDonalds are also nearby as well as the Sunday & nightly markets.

For breakfast simply head down and go to the nearby shop, literally beside the hotel entry and feast yourself with numerous yummy choices, from a full rice and noodles meal to something more lighter like rice cakes, sweet local breads and all sorts of good stuff (I don't even know what they are) that goes very well with the local brewed coffee. Mmmm .. I'm missing it already. All these for a few Ringgits, awesome! But you gotta be early as they disappear fast, but not too early as some of the goodies don't turn up yet. Between 7am to 9am I'd say.

Rosanne, Ling Ling and the rest of the hotel crew makes this popular place what it is. So thank you very much to everyone at Eden54 for a memorable and wonderful stay, I wish them all the very best for the future.

Special thanks to Rosanne and Ling Ling for all their advice, suggestions, recommendations and patience for my many queries.

So overall a brilliant well managed hotel in central KK. Will definitely return and recommend Eden54 to anyone looking for a comfy, affordable & friendly place to stay in KK. 5 Stars for me.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

We booked this hotel after reading the great reviews on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed. Everything you read is true. Very clean and tidy, with genuinely friendly service. We were very comfortable here and what a great price too. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Like many people we chose to stay at Eden54 on the strength on the high ratings given in Trip Advisor and It was without doubt the best decision we made on our trip to Borneo.

The hotel:

Very clean rooms, air conditioned, free wi-fi, hot showers & large comfortable beds. All your could ask for and remember this is a hotel that does not charge a 5 star tariff. Excellent location with supermarket next door, restaurants nearby & only a five minute walk to Jesselton Point jetty. Sabah Tourism center is also just a few minutes walk away.

Email enquiries regardings bookings prior to departure were answered promptly and efficiently.

The rooms are serviced to a standard that could not be exceeded by a luxury resort hotel. On one occasion we were forced to leave our room in a very untidy state in the afternoon in order to catch a tour bus. On our return late that night we could not believe the detail & effort staff had put into getting our messy room in order. Something we have not encountered in many years of travel including stays in upmarket hotels.

The people:

Rosanne and Ling Ling do an outstanding job in an efficient, friendly and helpful manner. Their laughter & good humour as they do their very best to assist is something we will always remember and appreciate. Nothing was too much trouble. They assisted with our itinerary, made helpful suggestions, did bookings, stored our luggage between stays and booked early morning cabs just to mention a few things.
It seems like they are always in the office (must be at least 12hrs a day minimum) and with their help we were able to maximize our time in Borneo to full advantage.
Hotel Eden 54 along with Rosanne & Ling Ling provides a level of service & value for money that would be very hard, if not impossible to exceed. We can highly recommend this hotel to anyone intending to stay in KK

Glen & Gary

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

What distinguishes this hotel from other excellent hotels is the service, hospitality & friendly staff. Price/quality rate is also great. We stayed for 6 nights & loved it here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchManMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#13 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing