We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but...”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
QLD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but...”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Hotel Eden 54 really is a quite good choice while staying in KK compared to other hotels for the same money, as many have pointed out before, but for us there were a few small issues which I have no one to blame but myself.

There is no fridge in the room, which for us is a major issue.
This is mentioned on the website, I missed it but management did offer to place a small fridge in our room, so no complaints there.

For us, it ended up being the wrong end of town as we spent time at Sutera harbour marina where we had friend on a yacht and we mostly seemed to be eating at the restaurants that management recommended to us, which, were mostly down the other end of town, again, this would be no huge issue for many as there are several good places close by ( Fatt Kee under Angs hotel and Moon bell being 2), but, it is very close to Jesselton wharf area and restaurants if that's your thing.

*King size bed in room was very comfortable
*A/c was very good, almost too good
*Bathroom was adequate though the hot water in our room was lacking (not really an issue)
*Room size was smaller than expected (Magic Camera) or used to compared to other hotels in our asian adventure, but again, not really an issue.
*There are one floor of steps, but staff helped with baggage, so no complaints, but there are steps.
*Internet connection was not stable enough for my requirements (sadly, I still had to do work online most nights)
*Management were very helpful with recommendations and have good communication skills.
*If renting a car parking "appeared" that it could be an issue as it seemed you would be fighting for a street park

You do get more bang for your buck in Peninsular Malaysia, but for KK, this hotel is a safe clean enjoyable choice if you can live with the few small issues and it will stay on my incredibly short list of viable accommodations in KK.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dacaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    390
    93
    12
    1
See reviews for
187
541
105
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

This was the best hotel we stayed in on our whole holiday. The rooms are great, the location is fantastic and the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. We originally booked for two nights then decided to made it our base for our two weeks in Sabah. Really brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanJan-GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We felt very much at home in this family-owned hotel. The rooms are nice designed, modern western style, very clean and offer a good value for the money. But the best is the team: it is hard to find better hosts than Ling-Ling, Roseanne and Alfred.
My girl-friend got seriously ill in KK and was suspected to have dengue-fever. Without even having asked the owners they brought chicken soup for her, organized a doctor for a second opinion and asked other guests to change their reservation, so we did not have to change rooms. When my girlfriend recovered, they helped us with so much with advice on our next trips – which they kept on doing even when we we already had left the hotel for a week. And when we came back for one night to catch our flight from KK back home, a breakfast with fresh fruits was waiting for us, that they had prepared especially for us. It felt like a little coming-home!
Bottom line: if you want a clean, modern and 1A serviced hotel, the Eden54 is a superb choice! And after a fews days you might even feel a bit like home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
257 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

One night stay in June, Compact D room.
Eden54 is a boutique hotel, derived from renovated shoplots and mostly located on the second floor. Location in town is good - a short walk from Gaya street (for the Sabah Sunday market, eateries and shopping) and just a short walk from the new Suria shopping complex, and Wisma Merdeka (more shopping, Coffee Bean, etc). It's also the right side of town for a trip to the islands, via Jesselton Jetty. It's also right next door to the most upmarket supermarket in town, so handy for any little purchases you might fancy. The second floor location with no lifts means a short walk upstairs, though there is provision for help with suitcases and luggage. Once in, there is a communal lounge for reading and relaxing, and access to a shared fridge and general use computer with internet access.
The room was compact - but clean, well equipped, tea/coffee, flat screen TV, all mod cons. Lighting was a bit dim for the bedside readers amongst us. Bathroom was small and basic, but again, spotlessly clean. The room was next to the lounge, and some noise was transmitted through the thin walls.
Upsides: location, price, friendly service.
Downsides: small rooms, thin walls (noise).
Tailor your expectations to the offered prices, and Eden54 does offer a welcome alternative to other existing accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mostlyharmless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sud est France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

last april 2010 I was in Kota Kinabalu and stayed at this marvellous place Hotel Eden54 two times. Of course like all the other lucky travellers, I found Eden54 on tripadvisor ; and usually I am never disappointed when all the reports like here, are almost 100% positive .
I say I was very lucky because this place is so well noted that it can be difficult to find a room ; a last minute cancellation , a present of god, allowed me to stay with these delicious Rosanne and Alfred, the owners and the also very friendly staff.
From the beginning to the end, they helped me so much that I am very grateful. This makes the big difference with an ordinary hotel where you are alone and stay alone .
Another good thing is that it's a very safe place ; even if Malaysia in general and Borneo in particular are relatively safe, it's a good point.
The rooms and the bathrooms are very clean and of good size ; the linen is of very good quality ; there is coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms.
There is no breakfast but in the lounge, there is a small kitchen where you can prepare what you want ; otherwise you can find a supermarket of good quality just 30m from the hotel and even 2 or 3 small shops who are opened early in the morning and sell many things like cakes and so just next to the hotel.
You have got fast speed free internet everywhere in the hotel and I didn't experience any trouble ; even, there is a computer for free in the corridor next to the lobby.
There is a very good restaurant 50 m from the hotel : Restoran Rasa Nyonya. Really a good Chinese cooking (good quality).
5 mn walk from the hotel you will find the pier to the islands and even to Bruneï
The owners will help you prepare your trip to mount Kinabalu with good advice, like a hotel, next to the entrance of this overpriced park, which is a small paradise ; but ask them ; it's a secret !
This hotel Eden54 deserves all the good reports that are written ; if one could find in every town a place like this one, travelling would be easier (and I know what I say as I travel 7 months a year).
Rosanne and Alfred, I send you many kisses from France

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heureuxhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We booked the hotel after we read some good reviews in tripadvisor. As the hotel just recently opened, we were not so sure how it would be. But what a positive surprise! I can just repeat what other travellers have already written: this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in terms of price-value and hospitality.
The only downside was that it is a bit noisy (we had a room facing the main road) and that the rooms are a bit clairaudient. But the staff really made up for it. They helped as with every trip we wanted to do. The owner gave us a lift to the farmacy! This is real customer service. Hotel Eden54 is really the perfect gateway for discovering KK and the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anichan555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

i was looking for a small hotel as I m bored staying in big run of the mills establishment and I think I made the right choice. OK the hotel is not perfect, no breakfast, small rooms, no lift etc BUT its clean, its "warm", and Ms Ling Ling is just the perfect hostess. She helped me make onward booking, the car rental and arrange visits to the attractions.

Food wise.. no problem at all, there is a Supermarket next door selling mostly imported Aussie stuff, and a cafe inside. There are other restaurants/cafes down the same road (gaya St) and i feel safe walking up and down even at late night. Best is on Sunday, the Gaya street market is just down the road and you can find all the souvenirs and crafts stuff there. And the Jesselton Jetty is 5 minutes walk from the hotel for the boats to the islands. BTW the WiFi works fine and one can even use the 1 computer next to the front desk for free web browsing

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mat_asri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,036 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.9 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Property: Hotel Eden54
Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing