We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, generaly ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Park Lodge
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“clean, generaly ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The staff is friendly. There is a provision of food you can use for a breakfast. Rooms are small, but clean. Stairs are steep, no lifts, a bit uncomfortable with heavy luggage.
The organization of events by the hotel (rafting, Mt Kinabalu) was ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadwiga_berbeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
KK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

After a dissapointing hostel i turned up unnanounced at CPL, they were more than happy to put me up for 3 nights and were extremely friendly. The hostel is clean, you have access to a computer, the bathrooms are a good size and you are central to kk. As lone female traveller who had had some less than savoury accommodations over two weeks in kk, this place was a dream! They speak good english and will go all out to assist you. Excellant!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellant although some dont have windows it made no differance, just ask for a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bosamkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in total almost 2 weeks, we had 3 different rooms. The rooms were basic, but okay! The staff was very friendly and the storageroom convient, because we did a lot of trips around Kota Kinabalu with our daypacks.

Room Tip: When you stay on a sunday and you want to sleep late, don't choose a room on the backsite, becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed there for one night after the Mt Kinabalu hike and just needed a place to sleep and rest. So we were quite undemanding.
Still, the room (204) was in terrible condition - dirty on the walls, moldy smell, aircon only working lousy, sheets clean but old. All in all the worst was the smell and in existent cleanness which was all we actually wanted!
The lady at the reception was not interested in us, unfriendly and only speaking very limited English - or let's say in a dialect hard to understand.
Only go there if you don't find anything better, Horizon Hotel just besides looks quite good.
Only real benefit was the location - very central, a good lounge/bar (SugarBun) just besides and some nice massage parlours for relaxing after the hike.

Room Tip: Don't get 204!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texmex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed at City Park Lodge for 3 days and we can definitely recommend it! The location is central, very close to nigh market and everything else. The bed was comfortable, shower with good water pressure, the price for the room was reasonable. The staff were very friendly, it felt like coming home every day.
Guesthouses on that street face a noisy karaoke place, so if you want it to be more quite, ask for a room that faces backyard. They stop singing around midnight anyway.
In total, we think that this lodge provides very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina_Andreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I just had a horrible experience with this hotel. I had made an online reservation via their website and had received an email saying:

Hi,

Thank you for choosing City Park Lodge!

We are pleased to confirm your booking of a deluxe double for 1 night.
Thanks and hope to see you soon.

Regards, CPL.

However, when I called the hotel from the airport to inquire about transport to the hotel they advised me not to bother. I was told that there was no room and the hotel was full. When I told them that I have a reservation and provided my name I was instantly told there is no such booking and the staff member who was being very short, loud and rude hung up on me. I called back to see if there had been a misunderstanding but was told that I was not on the books and my email booking is irrelevant, I was hung up on a second time.

The effect of this was that I had to spend the night in Kota Kinabalu airport - not a pleasant experience!

This is unacceptable service for a hotel. Clearly they had overbooked and thus did not want to speak to me. This shows that they are interested in profit over integrity as I had an email confirmation but they would not recognise this because of what I assume was overbooking. It also shows a lack of reliability and honesty. Even if I was to spend tomorrow night in this hotel, could I really trust them enough to leave my wallet or other possessions lying around when they were dishonest and did not recognise my booking? it would be foolish to have such a faith.

I highly recommend you do not make any bookings with this hotel - you could end up stranded at the airport like I was. More importantly how could you trust your person and possessions with an establishment that lacks such basic standards of integrity, honesty and good will.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MuadDib5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed in a room without a window (65RM) which felt like a cross between a bedsit and a prison. The room was small and drab with paint peeling off the walls and large holes where fixtures had been removed. It was very noisy so we were often woken up by people in the corridor and slamming doors. There was nowhere to hang anything so we ended up hanging what clothes we could from the TV bracket on the wall. A decent lick of paint would have made it look considerably better. The whole place seems to have fallen into neglect given that it is not that old. There's free tea and coffee and a toaster for use in the common area although we didn't find this out until we'd been there for a few days. The common area also smelled of fish which was rather off-putting. The location is excellent, very central and within walking distance of restaurants, shops, and the jetty. The day staff are indifferent, bordering on rude. There is a lone PC with free internet which was almost always occupied by one of the staff, either on Facebook or watching videos. The woman who is there during the day was more concerned with seeing how her Facebook cafe was coming along, rather than attending to real customers. On one occasion, I was told not to go on the PC as she was downloading some music. Wi-fi was available although it didn't always work as the PC streaming videos for the staff was using up all the bandwidth. The City Park Lodge doesn't really seem to know whether it wants to be a hotel or a hostel. Either way it is poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#72 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#57 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.4 mi away
D' Beach Street Lodge
D' Beach Street Lodge
#36 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Check Inn KK
Check Inn KK
#35 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.0 mi away
JSIA Hotel
JSIA Hotel
#9 of 78 in Kota Kinabalu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 96 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Lodge

Property: City Park Lodge
Address: 49 Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — City Park Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your City Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Park Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing