We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stingy boss with a bowl of money on the table” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kam Kee Bak Kut Teh

Kam Kee Bak Kut Teh
Ranked #130 of 555 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Soups, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A local coffee shop in the heart of Kota Kinabalu serving authentic Bak Kut Teh which is a traditional pork broth dish served with pork meat. Other notable dishes would be the Steamed Herbal Chicken & Stew Pork Trotters.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stingy boss with a bowl of money on the table”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

used to be regular diner with family there. as times flies, the soup getting tasteless and we asked for refill, the staff only refill half bowl of soup for 5 person sharing. the soup taste like 1 portion added with 5 portion of water and salt. meat portion also getting lesser. even normal person can finished up 2 serving. chopstick and spoons are oily so bring your own wet tissue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BMU2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuching
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not worth a try!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Went here to try out Sabah's Bak Kut Teh after we went to the nearby Sunday market. We order our Bak Kut Teh from an old man (I suspect the owner) & he said their "special" is Chicken BKT (I thought BKT special should be pork) & amazingly they don't have anything else on the menu that time but the Chicken BKT. The place was dirty ( got small roach on our table) & service was bad (we waited quite a while before orders being taken eventhough there were hardly any customers & the old man was rude). The Chicken BKT was plain taste & includes small pieces of chickens with its feathers still on! What's even more shocking was when we're ready to pay, he charged us RM15/bowl! I said "how come on the board written RM8.50?". He told me "owh...this is Chicken. Special 1...". We know he lied & took advantage of us tourist but we paid anyway because we don't want to make a scene. So my advice, avoid this stall. If you have to try BKT, try other stalls & don't forget to ask the price of a menu before you order!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JunSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The foods are nice and delicious. Fast service. Reasonable price. Always pack with people. Cleanliness of the place is okay. Should upgrade the restaurant and add some tables too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 93sasha848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

no one speaks a word of English. asked for the price of their noodle, lady came with a calculator and pressed 6. finally an old man (he is Chinese Malay who speaks cantonese) came in, so i asked why the aloe juice is bitter, he said i m toxic (上火), when he gave me the bill, i asked him why it costed more, he argued with me. when i asked a small portion, they gave me a large one instead. terrible service! never go back there. They cheat. I have been to other family run business, people are much nicer than here.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seasontraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best Pork Rib Soup in Claypots”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

This place serves one-person size claypots with choice of three soup flavors, original, with 当归 (good for women), or pepper corns. You can also specify the mix of meat. The mixed default has pork ribs, stomach, intestine, liver and pork. Ask for soft ribs. You can chew them and eat them whole.

Absolutely delicious and flavorful.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kam Kee Bak Kut Teh also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Kam Kee Bak Kut Teh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing