We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Noisy and Lousy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D' Beach Street Lodge
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dirty, Noisy and Lousy!”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I had high hopes as it is located right in the heart of the city but disappointment cames in the truckload upon arrival. My family and I were booked into a dorm but we had a room to ourselves as there's no other travelers. The way to our room was almost like a maze and it smelt of urine and garbage in all the hallways! The room itself was clean with air-con but definitely not sound proof! Not even ear plugs could give us a peace of mind or good sleep for that matter till the karaoke downstairs stopped operating in the wee hours of the morning! Bathroom was run-down and just barely functioning and usable. Would not return for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabbybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    24
    18
    14
    19
See reviews for
9
26
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I have mixed thoughts about this place. I stayed in one of the 3 bunk bed dorm rooms on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and had A/C. The bathrooms weren't so clean and our room was close to the garbage room (or something) cuz it smelled like rotting durian and meat - disgusting!! It's attached to a bar that had a karaoke and dj night going on, so it was loud until early a.m. But a good location if you want to be close to some nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0n_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

For the price, the lodge is OK. Breakfast is about the most basic you can find but the coffee is OK and unlimited. Great balcony but I wish the balcony would be smaller and the room bigger :)
Not very clean or nice and could do with a bit of paint. One morning there was a mushroom growing out of the carpet, I will post that one as it is a first for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klottravare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I read about the noise and bathroom issues before booking. I foolishly thought, "I can handle it, its cheap and I won't really mind. I've probably stayed in worse places." Well, I never got to test that theory b/c after a 20 minute fiasco trying to check-in with a reservation (they had my name, but weren't sure they had any rooms open, had no idea how to run my credit card, etc etc...ultimately we agreed since i was staying three nights we'd try to pay again in the morning), I saw my room and stormed out looking for a new place to stay.

Armed with a room key and an A/C remote, my friend and I walked up the stairs from reception, across the outdoor seating area to our room on the left where we found the door ajar - no room key necessary. The first thing that hits us is the FOUL smell...have we stumbled on a dead body? Our eyes focus and we see cats, lots of them, gnawing on bones on the stained, sheetless mattress, on the floor and on the balcony. Lots of cats. They were apparently eating what remained of the previous tenant. The rest was like someone purposefully tried to recreate a bad horror movie...unsecured wires hanging out of the wall, a photoless frame hanging askew above the bed, a phone w/ cord but no receiver, a pile of crumbled conrete? plaster? in the middle of the room, stains on the wall, floor and bed. The door to the balcony we'd been "lucky" enough to get was wide open and did not appear to close properly. It opened out onto aluminum rooftops that the cats disappeared into when we entered the room. I stood in shock for a solid two minutes (my friend entered the bathroom, I was not that brave) before turning on my heel and walking back downstairs. I dropped the key and remote on the desk while saying "this is absolutely not going to work out, are you kidding me?" without coming to a complete stop. Ten minutes later we were at the Gaya Centre Hotel reserving their last room. My only regret was not braving the stench long enough to have the forethought for pictures.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Camping with headhunters is a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissthefr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

At first glance the rooms seem okay and the location is good. However, cleanliness and quietness are simply not applying to this hotel.
A very noisy karaoke disco bar makes it impossible to sleep until 12h30 am (and we like to travel as much as having rest at night). The second pre-booked night we changed room to a interior without window. This improved our situation a bit but still we coudl hear everyone stepping up and down the stairs.
The rooms are not new and have a dusty appearance. We saw a mouse today.
Air conditionning works well but many light bulbs and lamps did not work.
Staff is helpfull and kind, but it remains with us a helpless feeling, as it does not seem a much customer oriented hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ubeda80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Staff is nice helpfull and willing to negotiate a good price! The place is nice looking, rooms are good, and everything is as good as it gets in Asia!
If you want a quiet place to stay, please go to a rural area. The centre of KK night life is obviously not for you...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JegKederMig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I've stayed at the Lodge in two sessions this summer, with good friends. We had a good experience, and hence returned. The staff is friendly, quickly knew our names, gave good rates and even offered fries. Awesome.

To the tards complaining about noise, I can only say: why stay at a place obviously placed in the middle of a bar area, if you want to sleep early, there are plenty of places in the nearby, quiet alleys. Please leave room here for people that actually want to be social. There is plenty opportunity to be that.

We experienced only clean, well equipped rooms, and the breakfast is decent, at least if you are not staying in the dorms. My only complaint would be the laundry: it costs twice as much as local laundry shops, less than 100 meters away, and they mixed up ours. But hopefully this is improved by now.

To sum it up, for young travellers wanting more from their vacation than sleep, full recommandations. For people wanting silence, stay home. Or in the jungle.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#17 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gaya Centre Hotel
Gaya Centre Hotel
#20 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#21 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lodge 58
Lodge 58
#5 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
JSIA Hotel
JSIA Hotel
#13 of 77 in Kota Kinabalu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D' Beach Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D' Beach Street Lodge

Property: D' Beach Street Lodge
Address: Jalan Pantai | Lot 48, Ground Floor & 1st Floor, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Rainforest Lodge)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — D' Beach Street Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a romantic escape, vacation with friends or place to bring the entire family for weekend getaway,why don't you try something new in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, " D'Beach Street Lodge", it has the accommodations for you. D'Beach Street Lodge is strategically situated in the heart of Kota Kinabalu, along the famous Gaya Street, weekly sunday market. Within walking distance to Jesselton Point, shopping centre & Atkinson clock tower. Only steps away from taxi stands & public transport to tourist destinations and a 15-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport. The Lodge offers comfortable living in all its 40 rooms, the cozy guestrooms come with brightly painted walls, quality mattresses & spacious balconies. Emitting its warm local ambience, D' Beach Street Lodge will give you the fulfilling experience that you deserve. Guests also can sample local and international dishes at Sugar Bun Cafe & Pezzo. BB Cafe offer refreshing beverages and enjoy local live band entertainment everynight. Free high speed Wi-Fi network, travel desk was manned by knowledgeable and experienced staff who carry the high status of Sabah Hospitality. Baggage storage facilities are available at the 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your D' Beach Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing