We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in too much...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D' Beach Street Lodge
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Don't stay in too much...”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Other better-looking hostels around the area were full so we settled for this. The price was decent. The lady at the counter warned us before we paid that there would be loud music, so no complaints there. Actually it was quite fun to listen to the cover-songs and they only lasted till just before midnight. We had no issues sleeping through it, but if you're a light sleeper... think twice about staying here

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm (with no other beds occupied). The room itself was fairly clean and looked ok. The hallways, staircases and bathrooms however weren't great. A cockroach ran away from me in the hallway, an alarm kept going off in the stairway, water was dripping everywhere (it rained quite a bit for 2-3 days) and there was a nasty smell in that same stairway you had to get through to get out of the guesthouse. No lockers so we kept our valuables with reception (nice ladies).

Breakfast is white toast with peanutbutter, butter or jam and a cup of tea/coffee. The location is good, right in the middle of bars, restaurants, etc

We were looking for cheap, found it and therefore don't complain too much (and give a 3 star rating), but it definitely wasn't great

Room Tip: We had a shower in a single room as the shared showers weren't working. I'm happy we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    24
    18
    14
    19
See reviews for
9
26
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon after 2 nights luxury in Le Meridian. We were still really jet lagged so the ridiculously loud band wasn't too much of a problem (after a few beers we both passed out). The rooms are small and basic but has everything you need - we have definitely stayed in worse on our travels over the years! We had an en-suite with large balcony over looking the central courtyard area and the band area! We didn't have breakfast there but went to nearby Borneo Backpackers which was lovely (will do a separate review when I get a chance!)

This hotel is centrally located and has plenty on the doorstep (although there isn't much to do in Kota Kinabalu!). We had tried a few other places first but they were all fully booked - this place is absolutely fine if you're looking for a short stay and something cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_Cardif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Saw rats in the building. Lodge is very run down and disgustingly dirty. They tell you music goes on until midnight - although it's in fact 2am. That was fine though. However at 6am they start rearranging all the furniture in the bar / cafe below around and it's impossible to sleep through the screeching of tables being dragged across the floor. Feels like since they've been listed in the lonely planet, they've not had to bother to maintaining standards.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex1690000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here on a Monday night. We booked into a double room with a shared bathroom. The facilities were alright - a bit old but we could handle it.

However, the staff were awful. The place reeked of garbage and desperately needed to be cleaned. There was no toilet paper in any of the 4 bathroom stalls and the hot water heaters did not work. When I reported this to the desk staff she handed me a roll of paper. Translation error? I tried again, "Four bathrooms. No toilet paper. Four showers. No hot water" She handed me two rolls.

They had live music at the cafe until the early hours of the night (on a Monday night). Our room was right next to the stage and it was unbearably loud. It was a bit too loud for the people at the cafe too - when we walked by no one was sitting within 4 -5 tables of the stage. That should be a cue to turn it down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohmystars28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIRMINGHAM
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

How I stayed here for the one night amazed me. It's was absolutely filthy, feet marks up the walls paint flaking off the ceiling right above the bed from a prior leak & I really don't want to guess what the stains where on the curtain I closed to stop the sun coming in. No clean towels available, when we asked for a towel we were told that the maid is not in till tomorrow and this wasn't late in the day so we was not being unreasonable. There are much better hotels available in Kota Kinabalu for less than the £23 we paid no fridge no tea & coffee in the room the best thing about this hotel was the balcony. It was bigger than he room, shame the wooden furniture had rotted away. The location is good very central little bit noisy for some folk as next door there is a massive open air bar that have bands playing very loud into the early hrs. This I actually enjoyed watching the cockroaches Dane across the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The best thing about this place is the location--very central to the shops, the restaurants, Sunday Mkt, etc, directly across the street from a supermarket. About a five minute walk to the overhead walkway that leads to the oceanfront. In the same complex are restaurants and a friendly bar, which has live music until about midnight or so (so it'll be loud for some folks).

My room was a very adequate double with private bath and balcony at 115 RM. Breakfast is toast and coffee, but there are plenty of coffee shops on the block with more varied and substantial fare for 5 to 10 RM. The staff were helpful, from fresh towels, to directions, to arranging tours.

I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuttle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

One of the worst hotel I've ever been.

The room was dirty, cigarrettes anod the flor and cocroraches, we found two!, the room was't cleaned upthe three days , even though we asked for it!.. bad, nothing good to tell about this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mai187457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#29 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
North Borneo Paradise
North Borneo Paradise
#35 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Good View Lodge
Good View Lodge
#60 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#1 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D' Beach Street Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D' Beach Street Lodge

Property: D' Beach Street Lodge
Address: Jalan Pantai | Lot 48, Ground Floor & 1st Floor, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Rainforest Lodge)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — D' Beach Street Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're looking for a romantic escape, vacation with friends or place to bring the entire family for weekend getaway,why don't you try something new in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, " D'Beach Street Lodge", it has the accommodations for you. D'Beach Street Lodge is strategically situated in the heart of Kota Kinabalu, along the famous Gaya Street, weekly sunday market. Within walking distance to Jesselton Point, shopping centre & Atkinson clock tower. Only steps away from taxi stands & public transport to tourist destinations and a 15-minute drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport. The Lodge offers comfortable living in all its 40 rooms, the cozy guestrooms come with brightly painted walls, quality mattresses & spacious balconies. Emitting its warm local ambience, D' Beach Street Lodge will give you the fulfilling experience that you deserve. Guests also can sample local and international dishes at Sugar Bun Cafe & Pezzo. BB Cafe offer refreshing beverages and enjoy local live band entertainment everynight. Free high speed Wi-Fi network, travel desk was manned by knowledgeable and experienced staff who carry the high status of Sabah Hospitality. Baggage storage facilities are available at the 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your D' Beach Street Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing