We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and tidy hotel for transit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Borneo Hotel
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Pre trip e mail contact was friendly and efficient. Excellent value (one night was the equivalent of about $57 NZD) We checked in late, about 9pm and were out again by 6am the next day so only ever saw it in the dark! While certainly nothing fancy it was very clean and tidy with honest friendly service. Extremely close to the airport with free airport shuttle, which was a real plus. As other reviewers have said, the beds are pretty hard, (I like a hard bed so had no trouble sleeping myself). Others may find them a little uncomfortable though. Recommended as a quick stop/transit hotel. We would definitely use again for this purpose.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank coleenaperi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Borneo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel was fine for our overnight transit and cheap. Free transfers and location make it perfect plus a nice walk to the beach is possible for dinner if you feel inclined!
The bathroom is strange as they are glass boxes but free wifi and friendly service makes up for it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizardgirlNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The price is quite reasonable for a small, simple, clean and comfortable room which has provided free shuttle to airport.Airport (KKIA Terminal 2) is just 5mins away by car to reach the hotel. 15-20mins walks to Tanjung Aru beach and Perdana Park . Free wifi, coffee maker and LCD TV in the room. There is one convenience store located in front of the hotel and 7-11 are just 5mins away from the hotel. A lot of coffee house or "Kopi tiam" are available at the nearby commercial blocks.

The only problem is there is no elevator available so you have to carry your bags by yourself. Alternatively, you could get the staff to assist you to the carry your bags to your room. Tipping of RM5 more or less will do.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chewyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was organized and helpful. They were friendly and provided us with an early breakfast for an early flight. Its a good place to stay especially if you are just in and out of KK. Quick trip to the airport but not close to the downtown area, which was fine for us. As other people have mentioned, the beds are not very comfortable. The springs tend to poke through.

Room Tip: Find a room on the second floor if you want Wifi in your room.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munsone19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The hotel looks nothing like the photos! The rooms were bizarre - I've never seen anything smaller and the bathroom (shower squashed it with a toilet) was in a bubble in the middle of the room. Breakfast doesn't start until late, so if you're overnighting to catch the early plane don't be fooled!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live2travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed here for one night en-route to Sandakan. I booked the hotel having read the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, and based on the proximity to the airport. We were collected at the airport, driven the short drive (about 5 minutes) to the hotel, and given an incredibly warm welcome by the staff at reception. A lady even came out to the minibus to collect out bags for us, which is very rare for budget hotels. The room was clean, but basic and small. The bathroom was almost as big as the room! We booked a triple, which housed a single bed and a small double bed (4 foot) with a very small gap between them. No wardrobe, and not much room to move around, but we were only there to sleep before heading off again for a 7am flight. There was air con, and hot water. We were also provided with coffee, cereal and toast for breakfast, even though we were leaving at 6am for our flight. Great service and really good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

nice hotel close to the airport and tanjung aru beach walk. offers free airport transfers. service to the city is available with a minimal fee. the staff is very helpful and accommodating. the room is small but clean and comfortable. the bathroom is interesting (glass wall). free wi-fi and coffee and tea making facility in the room. restaurant is available in the hotel and around the area.
downside: no elevator but the staff is willing to help carry your baggage.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#35 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
55 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
18 reviews
2.5 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#33 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
2.9 mi away
Celyn Hotel City Mall
Celyn Hotel City Mall
#80 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £16 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing