We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Borneo Hotel
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here on our way to Sandakan. We arrived late into KK and had a flight out the next day. The hotel is fine for this kind of stay. It is close to the airport, therefore not close to the center of town, and it is functional. There is nothing much nearby so I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay. Breakfast was plain but adequate. The staff was very nice and accommodating but couldn't make up for the fact that, despite our having prepaid in advance, when we arrived at close to midnight they had given out two of our three rooms. They put three adults, who had paid for a double and a single, into a large room with 6 beds shoved up against each other, much like a camp cabin, and called it a "deluxe triple". The double room for the other two people was tiny.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimSL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Borneo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

I spent one night at this hotel ahead of an early morning flight. It was clean and quiet but very small. TV was great, shower was hot. Wifi was very weak and didn't reach my room. Received a wake-up call then was driven to the airport in a minivan before dawn for free. There are several small hotels and guesthouses around this area with much better prices. Also, KK is a small city, so you can get to the airport quickly from anywhere really - no need to stay closer to the airport. The hotel is just a few minutes by cab from downtown anyway. Food and massage are both available nearby.

Room Tip: Get a room near the router if you need wifi reception.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed 6 nights at the Crown Borneo Hotel. It is very close to KKIA Terminal 2.

The hotel has an awesome transfer system. You can get transfer to anywhere in the city, and the prices are the same or even lower than by taxi.

Rooms are clean and they have a free wifi. We also enjoyed the complimentary menu breakfast.

My family was also a bit worried about the noise of the airport but there were no departing flights after 11pm.

The staff is very helpful and I would recommend the hotel for everyone, people having a connection flight in the next morning and even for longer stay.

Hotel is a good choice if you dont want to be too far from the city but not too far from the awesome Tanjung Aru Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A nice small hotel with clean, although small, rooms. The only medium level service was WiFi, which seemed to operate with fluctuating cycle.

Location close to one of the KK airport runways made me thinking about the noise, but I was able to sleep without any disturbances. Room quality was of the very good standard if you don't count floor space. Shower, sink and toilet were clean and worked well. If you want a whole breakfast buffet, this place is not for you. For a tall guy as I am, breakfast could have been a bit larger, but the variety was still enough for me.

I found the personnel to be polite, humorous and able to help me to find places of my interest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasaatituuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed two nights, separated by a night, at the Hotel. It is pretty much as advertised, tidy, clean, compact rooms (seems the norm in KK in this price range) and very close to the airport, with the bonus of free airport transfers, free wifi. I've bumped my review up to top marks due to the brilliant team that work there and run the place. They were extremely helpful, accommodating and genuinely friendly.

As for location, we were essentially in transit but went to the KK nightmarket, and the local mall for some food and last minute Mt Kinabalu supplies (there's a good outdoors shop on the 4th or 5th floor of Centrepoint mall, 35 RM walking poles!). The hotel offers a 15RM ride in to central KK, which is about 4 - 5km north of the hotel, this is cheaper than a taxi. It is about 30 - 40 minutes walk. There is a lovely beach, with bars and a hawkers food court about 10 - 15 minutes walk or a short drive from the hotel as well, perfect spot for viewing one of KK's famous sunsets.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

If you need a place to sleep at night, for your flight next morning, look no further.

We stayed for one night at Crown Borneo, it was convenience and hassle free.
Our flight suppose to reach Kota Kinabalu at 8pm, however, due to flight delay casued by bad weather, it was delayed till 8.45pm.
We were so worried that no one gonna wait for us a good 45mins, but we were wrong. Once at the arrival hall, our names were clearly stated on a white piece of paper and can easily noticeable from far!
Was greeted with a huge smile, despite we were really late, it was really a great sense of relieved!

It was really rainy so we waited as the wonderful lady drove her van over to pick us up. Excellent service I must say.

Arrived really late, we ate our dinner at about 9plus, and the nearby coffeeshop, there’s a lot 2 – 3 coffeeshops just steps away from the hotel. There’s this huge convenience store just across the street if you need to get any supplies.

The room was small, but its comfortable for 2 person. Bathroom very clean and tidy as I am very particular about bathroom though. Hahaa~ TV has all the major channels and cable, there’s wifi in room! Excellent price for all this benefits.

Room Tip: higher floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The price is quite cheap but the facilities really terrible.There was no mirror in the room but only bathroom.I hate the hotel.Then breakfast was not buffet and not nice.If I not mistaken it was new zealand style breakfast.Other than that,the bathroom locker also have problem.The matress was really hard and uncomfortable to sleep.The room was really small.Then the Tv also only can screen 8 channel and not clear at all.The only plus point was the hotel is near to airport and beside the hotel have a few restaurant so took our dinner there.So I can conlude the hotel was terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarvinrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#35 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
55 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
1.5 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#25 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
18 reviews
2.5 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#34 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
2.9 mi away
Celyn Hotel City Mall
Celyn Hotel City Mall
#80 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £15 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing