We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the beach of kotu kinabalu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Borneo Hotel
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights ...and really enjoyed it . Although out of Kotu Kinabalu its self, it is 15 minutes walk to the beach and park We managed too catch the number 16 bus into the city for only 1 Ringit. The staff are great, always smiling and laughing with guests and very helpful. The room was small, fantastic shower and very comfortable . Breakfast was varied and tasty ,,although we found a great cafe across the road called the Runway... fabulous Malaysian menu at very reasonable prices breakfast for 5 Ringit 50 . For the price we paid 77 Ringit per night this was the best value for all our 5 weeks in Borneo , would definately stay there again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisonsmith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for one night only because we wanted to be near the airport for an early flight next day - and the best thing about this hotel is that they run a free shuttle to the airport 1/2 km away. So we can't and won't complain, it did what we needed it to do. In other respects though it is shabby and uninteresting. There is literally nothing apart from the bedrooms (ok, aircon, 6 bed dorm) and cafe/eating room downstairs - rather impersonal service from 2 young girls. If you want a cheap base for seeing KK, choose a backpacker hostel in town (esp Masada). But if you need a bed near the airport, it's fine.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked this family room for just one nite initially.We then realised is cosy and the aircon is working well and cooling.There are sufficient beds for 3 of us to sleep in and is so comfortable.Therfore we continued to extend to stay till the last day we left.The staffs are mostly friendly and helpful, moreover ,this hotel is located near the airport.We will surely comes back to stay in this hotel again for our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacemaker320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Having stayed at this small hotel soon after its opening we were curious as to how it had travelled in the last few years. We certainly had no regrets in coming back. The rooms are small but, as we are usually out during the day, found no disadvantage in this. It is situated close to a local bus service and is within walking distance of the beach and the many food stalls there. There are some local eateries but one certainly should try the "in house" delicacies provided, in the foyer, by the Fresh Loaf Bakery. The New Zealand trained chef is mastering the art of baking very successfully! Free shuttle to and from the airport is an added bonus. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: a room at the back would be marginally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barb d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

The only reason one would choose to stay in this hotel would be for the location. Less than 10 min drive to terminal 2 (air Asia)
Like others have said the toilet is 'see through' with clear window with some frosted parts but I would have felt uncomfortable sharing the room with anyone else!

Few local places to eat around the hotel and convenience store that's open 24 hours.
Good enough for a night or so when you have early morning flight

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneyplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

There is no airport hotel at the Kota Kinabalu International Airport which led me to this hotel when I required a place to rest between arriving at the airport at 1am and departing later at 730am. The travel time between the airport and the hotel was about 7 minutes.

The hotel driver was kind enough to pick me up for a charge of RM30. There was no charge for sending me and other guests to the airport the next morning at 6am.

The stairs lead you up to your basic room with very economical space. But generally clean and well maintained. Recommended for a solo traveller in need of private space to rest and shower.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Discerning78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

No where near kota kinabalu town and we spent a lot on taxis. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are tiny with very noisy aircon and a vuew to the toilet through a glass door from the bed is not the nicest thing. Ok hotel but bad location

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#35 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eminent Hotel
Eminent Hotel
#26 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
41 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
18 reviews
2.5 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#37 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#22 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £16 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing