We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Borneo Hotel
Ranked #69 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Bergen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Good value for money! Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. Lots of daylight in the breakfast area and good sized portions. Not much to to/see outside the hotel, but if you are looking for some place to stay close to the airport or do not plan to spend much time at the hotel, the Crown Borneo is a real bargain. No noice from the airport! Would definitely stay here again. NB some rooms do not have windows!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilyBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    60
    34
    20
    11
See reviews for
28
49
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

No one wants to spend eight hours in Kota Kinabalu's airport terminal waiting for a connector flight, myself included. I booked a room here based on proximity to the terminal and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, the sole exception being the odd transparent bathroom wall. Awkward! However I awoke refreshed and ready to tackle more travel. Free transfers to and from the airport sealed the deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlito99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hisaronu, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights ...and really enjoyed it . Although out of Kotu Kinabalu its self, it is 15 minutes walk to the beach and park We managed too catch the number 16 bus into the city for only 1 Ringit. The staff are great, always smiling and laughing with guests and very helpful. The room was small, fantastic shower and very comfortable . Breakfast was varied and tasty ,,although we found a great cafe across the road called the Runway... fabulous Malaysian menu at very reasonable prices breakfast for 5 Ringit 50 . For the price we paid 77 Ringit per night this was the best value for all our 5 weeks in Borneo , would definately stay there again .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonsmith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for one night only because we wanted to be near the airport for an early flight next day - and the best thing about this hotel is that they run a free shuttle to the airport 1/2 km away. So we can't and won't complain, it did what we needed it to do. In other respects though it is shabby and uninteresting. There is literally nothing apart from the bedrooms (ok, aircon, 6 bed dorm) and cafe/eating room downstairs - rather impersonal service from 2 young girls. If you want a cheap base for seeing KK, choose a backpacker hostel in town (esp Masada). But if you need a bed near the airport, it's fine.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We booked this family room for just one nite initially.We then realised is cosy and the aircon is working well and cooling.There are sufficient beds for 3 of us to sleep in and is so comfortable.Therfore we continued to extend to stay till the last day we left.The staffs are mostly friendly and helpful, moreover ,this hotel is located near the airport.We will surely comes back to stay in this hotel again for our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacemaker320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Having stayed at this small hotel soon after its opening we were curious as to how it had travelled in the last few years. We certainly had no regrets in coming back. The rooms are small but, as we are usually out during the day, found no disadvantage in this. It is situated close to a local bus service and is within walking distance of the beach and the many food stalls there. There are some local eateries but one certainly should try the "in house" delicacies provided, in the foyer, by the Fresh Loaf Bakery. The New Zealand trained chef is mastering the art of baking very successfully! Free shuttle to and from the airport is an added bonus. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: a room at the back would be marginally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

The only reason one would choose to stay in this hotel would be for the location. Less than 10 min drive to terminal 2 (air Asia)
Like others have said the toilet is 'see through' with clear window with some frosted parts but I would have felt uncomfortable sharing the room with anyone else!

Few local places to eat around the hotel and convenience store that's open 24 hours.
Good enough for a night or so when you have early morning flight

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#33 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
0.6 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#41 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zara's Boutique Hotel
Zara's Boutique Hotel
#46 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#23 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
7.6 mi away
Grand Borneo Hotel
Grand Borneo Hotel
#65 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Borneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Borneo Hotel

Property: The Crown Borneo Hotel
Address: 23 Jalan Pinang | Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Borneo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Borneo Hotel is centrally located within the Tanjung Aru town just minutes away from the city centre. The Crown Borneo has 28 rooms, offering queen bedroom and twin bedroom and comes with an attached bathroom with shower. All rooms are air-conditioned with an individual control, features a 32" LCD TV with selected satellite channels and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Borneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing