We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and safe place”
Review of J Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the J Residence. The gentle staff, the peaceful garden, a small kitchen to have a coffee,,,,,, Very comfortable stay it was. In the second evening there, our Malaysian neighbors invited us to a hot pot dinner that they prepared by them selves. We had a nice talk eating their heart-warm dish. The not-so-hot shower was only tiny negative point, but I'm sure that someone comes here doesn't seek for the luxury stay, but simple and quiet one in the heart of the nature. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nenehcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

What can I say about j-residence? Well quite a lot actually, and all you need to know is in the name as in "j" j for joke. Ever walked into your garden shed after a long winter of cold damp rain. Or ever been in a house that's had a leak and damp has set in, you know, that smell that gets right in your lungs? Welcome to j residence.

Now please don't be thinking I'm some sort of stuck up ignorant, un adventurous, untraveled idiot who has never had to rough it in the wild, on the contrary all adventure has have been with me since a child, but there is roughing it and there is uninhabitable.

I'm sorry but no heating in such cold temperatures, damp floors with visible water around the beds, an intense smell of dampness in the air, blood on bedding, thread bare towels, and shoddy everything.

I'm struggling to believe my eyes when I read the reviews on this place, so much so I have to question their authenticity.

The worst worst worst place I've ever had to endure.

Room Tip: Bring a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManganMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Sitting here in J Residence wondering where all these good reviews came from while simultaneously searching for alternative accommodation elsewhere. It feels exactly like camping, but with electricity. The mount Kinabalu area is susceptible to bad weather and today it's raining (very normal). Wooden hut 5B is not geared up for wet days, the air is damp and the staff have never heard the word "heating". The bathroom floor is soaking wet from rain coming in through the open top roof and the one and only loo roll has gone limp. The room is spartan apart from 3 mugs (no spoon), a kettle, threadbare bed linen and a plastic outdoor seat that's inside with no cushion. At this price I was not expecting red carpet treatment, though minimum necessities like heat and warmth are a basic right when paying for any accommodation. I'm bundled into a fleece jacket with a hood but not even that can protect a person from these damp swampy conditions. Counting the seconds to leave this dire hovel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We chose this hotel as our base before and after the climb at Mount Kinabalu. It is located in walking distance outside the park premises. The hotel itself is "hiden" below the main road and thanks to this it is surprisingly a quiet place. The rooms are spacious and very tidy. The design is really exceptional and made us feel like at home. I can recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to stay close to park premises and at the same time wants to relax in a quiet atmosphere after hard climb :-)

Room Tip: We spent 3 nights at House 1 and we were fully satisfied (2 persons).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Best hotel I've been to in my entire life , the whole place is just mystical.we had a campfire around the dining area midnight the view was mesmerizing ! And best of all it's very clean! Bravo! Definately would recommend anyone to stay here ! Not to mention the price is appropriate and is suitable for backpackers as well!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here the nights before and after our summit climb of Mount Kinabalu. It was absolutely perfect for this purpose. It's a quiet hideaway at the bottom of a busy road - and arguably the most accessible 'outside the park' accommodation. You can walk there in 10 minutes. The view from the units overlooking the Crocker Range is stunning and the air was clean and cool when we were there. The rooms have a rustic, yet tidy feel. The staff are friendly and helpful and let us leave our packs behind while we were climbing. Free dvds, free wifi. We ate all meals at the restaurant across from the park entrance, which was also easy, cheap and good. If you are passing through Mount Kinabalu and want to stop and enjoy this amazing locale, this is a really good inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesky104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I was looking for a place to stay for our trip away from the city and came across this place,so i booked online & not to mention the price is very much cheaper!. During our arrival the place is really quiet & had the nicest view (not to mention friendly staff). Being near to Kinabalu Park is a credit,so it won't be that much of a hustle to get transport instead it's like 10 min walk there. We stay in room 3B,it's quite spacious & a nice view from the window. I like how quiet it is even tho the Villa & room 3A,5A & 5B is occupied,the place is very cold all the time,so be sure to bring thick cloths & socks. It was rainy during our stay & we didn't have umbrella with us,the staff don't have it either (maybe they can have this in the office so it's easy to borrow) good thing is our neighbor lend us their.
They have a big dining area that overlook the nicest view & it's really mind relaxing. they have BBQ pit, sink where you can clean your dishes with & they also provide the dishwasher liquid,which is very convenient. If you prefer to stay in the room & relax,they have DVD player or maybe you can bring board games. My daughter enjoy her stay there & didn't want to leave. We really love the stay there even tho it's just for a night. Won't hesitate to have another stay in J residence soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.3 mi away
Ayana Holiday Resort
Ayana Holiday Resort
#1 of 34 in Ranau
71 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 14 in Kundasang
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
170 reviews
3 mi away
Nabalu Kundasang
Nabalu Kundasang
#10 of 33 in Ranau
16 reviews
34.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Residence

Address: Along Tuaran Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £22 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres away from the entrance of Kinabalu Park Headquarters, J Residence is the nearest lodge outside Mount Kinabalu National Park, and with rooms price three times lower than those chalets and lodges inside Kinabalu Park. J Residence was built in the year 2010 and our lodge are partially hidden by trees and plants from the main road. Our lodge overlook the Bundu Tuhan dwelling & farming community while the back is decorated with rows of tall matured pine trees. Temperature here ranges from 19°C to 17°C at night. Truly a great place to seek refuge from the hot equatorial climate of the other major cities of Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j Residence Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing