We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location … Close to Mount Kinabalu National Park”
Review of J Residence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
J Residence
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location … Close to Mount Kinabalu National Park”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

In general, a pleasant experience one could reasonably expect to live near the nature.

Positives: nice basic room with reasonably sized bathroom, pleasant little private deck with hanging egg-shaped chair and free wifi. Be sure to bring your sweater, it gets cold at night.

Negatives: power failure for 10 minutes during the night around 11pm (Good thing there was emergency light). Hot shower here sucks (it works but the pressure is low).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    130
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
89
81
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I love staying here because it is quite , peace ,, tranquilty. The rooms are very clean although it is quite small but the exterior area is big and we could sit outside and have a cup of coffee while enjoying the view. Since we book 2 rooms next to each other it equivalent having the whole villa by ourself. We had no time to watch the DVD as we were too busy exploring mount KK. The number of rooms are limited that limit only 10 family at onetime hence the early booking is a must especially during school holiday. The management is very responsive and gave lot of information before we came that made the trip lot easier especially the first timer...The only reminder is the road lead to the villas is very steep hence you must have the gut and skill to drive the car during exit from the hotel. But overall I enjoy the stay and will certainly visit the place again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugun, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after exploring KK as we had planned the mountain climb. It was everything we had expected and more! No one can prepare you for the sheer beauty of this place! Yes the accommodation is basic but the views and the scenery are well worth the price! 5b is the pick of the rooms with the best view, a little more secluded and has its own coffee making facilities.
Please note this is very basic, no frills but it is truly beautiful.
The only disappointment was the heat and pressure of the shower, which after a 10 hour mountain climb, just didn't cut it lol.
And th staff are very helpful too. Would definitely return and highly reccomend if you are after a couple of days getaway.

Room Tip: 5b for the view and the pod chair :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the J Residence. The gentle staff, the peaceful garden, a small kitchen to have a coffee,,,,,, Very comfortable stay it was. In the second evening there, our Malaysian neighbors invited us to a hot pot dinner that they prepared by them selves. We had a nice talk eating their heart-warm dish. The not-so-hot shower was only tiny negative point, but I'm sure that someone comes here doesn't seek for the luxury stay, but simple and quiet one in the heart of the nature. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nenehcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What can I say about j-residence? Well quite a lot actually, and all you need to know is in the name as in "j" j for joke. Ever walked into your garden shed after a long winter of cold damp rain. Or ever been in a house that's had a leak and damp has set in, you know, that smell that gets right in your lungs? Welcome to j residence.

Now please don't be thinking I'm some sort of stuck up ignorant, un adventurous, untraveled idiot who has never had to rough it in the wild, on the contrary all adventure has have been with me since a child, but there is roughing it and there is uninhabitable.

I'm sorry but no heating in such cold temperatures, damp floors with visible water around the beds, an intense smell of dampness in the air, blood on bedding, thread bare towels, and shoddy everything.

I'm struggling to believe my eyes when I read the reviews on this place, so much so I have to question their authenticity.

The worst worst worst place I've ever had to endure.

Room Tip: Bring a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManganMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Sitting here in J Residence wondering where all these good reviews came from while simultaneously searching for alternative accommodation elsewhere. It feels exactly like camping, but with electricity. The mount Kinabalu area is susceptible to bad weather and today it's raining (very normal). Wooden hut 5B is not geared up for wet days, the air is damp and the staff have never heard the word "heating". The bathroom floor is soaking wet from rain coming in through the open top roof and the one and only loo roll has gone limp. The room is spartan apart from 3 mugs (no spoon), a kettle, threadbare bed linen and a plastic outdoor seat that's inside with no cushion. At this price I was not expecting red carpet treatment, though minimum necessities like heat and warmth are a basic right when paying for any accommodation. I'm bundled into a fleece jacket with a hood but not even that can protect a person from these damp swampy conditions. Counting the seconds to leave this dire hovel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We chose this hotel as our base before and after the climb at Mount Kinabalu. It is located in walking distance outside the park premises. The hotel itself is "hiden" below the main road and thanks to this it is surprisingly a quiet place. The rooms are spacious and very tidy. The design is really exceptional and made us feel like at home. I can recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to stay close to park premises and at the same time wants to relax in a quiet atmosphere after hard climb :-)

Room Tip: We spent 3 nights at House 1 and we were fully satisfied (2 persons).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip_Baumruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
2.8 mi away
The Cottage Hotel Kundasang
0.9 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#3 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
Kinabalu Mountain Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kundasang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ayana Holiday Resort
Ayana Holiday Resort
#1 of 34 in Ranau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kinabalu Park
Kinabalu Park
#3 of 27 in Ranau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J Residence

Property: J Residence
Address: Along Tuaran Road | 300 meters from Mount Kinabalu Park, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 300 metres away from the entrance of Kinabalu Park Headquarters, J Residence is the nearest lodge outside Mount Kinabalu National Park, and with rooms price three times lower than those chalets and lodges inside Kinabalu Park. J Residence was built in the year 2010 and our lodge are partially hidden by trees and plants from the main road. Our lodge overlook the Bundu Tuhan dwelling & farming community while the back is decorated with rows of tall matured pine trees. Temperature here ranges from 19°C to 17°C at night. Truly a great place to seek refuge from the hot equatorial climate of the other major cities of Sabah. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j Residence Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing