We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Little Hotel”
Review of KK Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KK Suites Hotel
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This bird-themed hotel has rooms fit for a sparrow, but definitely not raptor-sized! It had a very comfortable comforter - nice and soft - and the bed was a good one. Our room overlooked Gaya Street, where you can get a "birds-eye" view of the Sunday Market - yet sound-proofed enough where the noise didn't wake us up, which was a surprise.

As others have said, the plumbing isn't quite right. The toilet in our room (104), when flushed, took almost 2 hours to fill. When we told the staff, they said that we needed to jiggle it. It wasn't that it was running, it was just refilling a drop at a time. But that was the only real problem there. The shower (despite the door, the floor still got soaked) had good enough pressure and temperature, and the in-room safe (sparrow-sized) was good. Housekeeping did a nice job and the room was kept clean during our 3-night stay.

They were running a special for October and our double-bed room was 100 RM/night, which seemed like a good value for this area. We liked the bird-theme. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tumbleweeds023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for KK Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

No frills no problem! Sarangova is the perfect hotel for our IT!
We arrived KK at around 6 in the evening, and were scheduled to head to Kinabalu Park the following morning. Our thoughts were to just look for a decent hotel with comfortable beds and a reliable A/C to ensure us of a blissful slumber. We’re very much happy to have come across Sarangnova.
The room we got was clean and decent, fairly small for a triple room but nonetheless big enough for me, my wife, and 3yo son. Beds were comfortable, A/C was strong enough, and we had no problem with the bathroom whatsoever. For RM160 a night, I actually don’t have anything bad to say about it.
The receptionist and staff were friendly and casual, they didn’t have any uniform but that’s ok. They were all polite and helpful and that’s what really matters.
The best thing about the hotel is its location. It’s located in a friendly and quiet neighborhood, along Jalan Gaya. It’s a 5 minutes walk to the Atkinsons Clock Tower, and about 10 minutes to the Hyatt Hotel waterfront. It also only takes about 8-10minutes by taxi to get to the city center (night market area). The hotel does not offer breakfast or room service, but that’s not a problem since Jalan gaya has a string of eateries along its street which, pretty much like the hotel, are mostly cheap clean and simple. We enjoyed Bah Kut Teh for dinner, and Nasi Lemak and Curry for brunch. MMMM-MMMMMMM.
All in all it’s all but a simple decent and relatively new hotel. For the rate that we got, I don't have anything negative to say about it… The rooms did its purpose and made us happy campers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geekay555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The rooms are small and even though they are mostly clean they are nothing special - definitely not as nice as shown on the website. The beds are comfortable and the shower good, but there is no space in the bathroom to put your toiletries and the towels are really small.
Location is good - right in the centre of town in Jalan Gaya (great Sunday morning market).
The receptionist was efficient but not very friendly and the lobby smelt of cigarette smoke.
Overall, an average hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room (207) which is bigger than a double but still not that spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeRuiXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

After spending one night in Hotel Eden 54, we transferred to Sarangnova as it was local, recommended and available. At first glance the room was nice, however our shower drained extremely slowly (took a whole night to drain a shower worth) and any shower water which drained came right up through the drain next to the toilet, flooding the bathroom. After using the toilet, this even came with a conspicuous smell (possibly sewage backwashing too?) Contrary to management's post below, this problem was NOT resolved (or even attended to); we were simply told if another room was available we would receive it, as well as some compensation.

The 2nd morning we had to ask whether another room was available (unlike being told), being downgraded to a cheaper room. We were told we would also receive the difference at checkout. When approaching the front desk, we were told that we would NOT be receiving ANY compensation, nor the difference. Apparently they had paid a commission to Hotel Eden 54 and thus, were unable to cover the compensation or difference.

On the bright side, they offered to hold our bags. That's probably the only positive about our stay at this hotel. Considering there are cheaper offerings with working amenities, I would never recommend or touch this hotel again in my life. Stay well away!

Room Tip: "Check the shower and drainage, they didn't work for us."
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBourkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

It is with regret that the guest experienced the drainage problem as it is a problem which we are still trying to solve these past few months. Indeed our maintenance contractor has tried various ways of unblocking the pipes contrary to what guest thought. All our queen rooms are the same price.
There is no question of having a '"cheaper "room as the guest was transferred to another queen room the next morning, albeit at his request..
Our staff have no authority to give discount hence it is with regret if guest was under the impression he would be compensated since he chose not to move that night .
We note he had no complaints on his second night's stay. Please therefore accept our apologies.
We are trying our best with the available expertise available to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The hotel is conveniently located in Kota's chinatown. Unlike many street in Kota, the street is quiet . You will find all services and shops within walking distance (banks, restaurants, tour operators, harbour to Pulau manukan..)

The hotel is rather small and very quiet.

Rooms are new and clean. All of therm are differently and very nicely decorated
A haven of peace during our stay in Borneo !

During high season, it is necessary to book the room a few days before

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aurelien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Very cute hotel with new tasteful furnishings and well located on Gaya Street with a Guardian drugstore across the street and numerous restaurants in the neighbourhood. We stayed in room 204 on the first occasion, and then checked back in 2 days later, to be put in the same room, only to find it in exactly the same state as we had left it, ie uncleaned. The head housekeeper tried to explain that we had not put the 'Please make up room" sign on the door, to which our response was that we had checked out 2 days ago! She then offered to send the cleaner right away, and then a few minutes later found us a different room, #206 which had more light and was more spacious. Unfortunately the curtain wouldn't close all the way, so we pinned it shut. Despite these minor hiccups, we would recommend this hotel, as it is so clean and nice, esp for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for room 206, as long as they fix the curtain, or you bring a safety pin
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

its really good staying,clean,and the workers also kind. the 1st person that i want to say nice to meet 'rio'. his welcoming the guest,kind person,and very good speak ENGLISH. his suggest us to go a nice place and good tour. the room that we stay also clean,fresh and nice location. regards to RIO

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lola298570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarangnovaHotel, Owner at KK Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2011

Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again at Sarangnova again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#57 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#49 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Suites Hotel

Address: 98-100 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £16 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your KK Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing