We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay”
Review of KK Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KK Suites Hotel
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I "splurged" on this hotel (would usually stay in a hostel) and wasn't impressed. The reviews which mention the bathroom issues are correct: my first room had a shower that wouldn't drain and flooded the bathroom and I asked to be switched to another room, which was fine although had no remotes for the TV or aircon and the safe didn't work. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, and it wasn't terribly noisy for being in a busy area of town, but it certainly wasn't as nice as the pictures. For half the price I got a private room with aircon and private bathroom in a hostel a couple blocks down. The only real difference was the bird pictures!

Room Tip: Make sure your shower drains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

It's a good location and good value for the money, but still it feels like an ugly person with a lot of make up. Fine design and style, but you can see the humidity marks everywhere. The windows felt like they had never been cleaned. The staff not really helpful. We were gonna climb Mt Kinabalu and come back to Sarangnova. We asked if it would be possible to keep our luggage there during one night, the answer was a simple "no". In the end we decided to stay at another hotel in the return. The people that climbed Kinabalu with us all left their luggage att the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucaBrasi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Sarangnova Hotel. It was perfect for what we wanted. The rooms are small, but big enough, the bed is comfy, and the aircon is amazing!! The location is great. There are many restaurants and a couple of bars close by. About a 10 minute walk to the handicarft market.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biddiebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

room small but price is affordable. You can find good food at the next door restaurant and nearby shops. Air con works and cool, every one can stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert210853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

120RM dbl room with a/c no breakfast
Clean, small rooms themed with different birds on Jalan Gaya in the city centre. The rooms have free Wifi, a boiler and free water. The receptionists speak English fluently. Good value with discount from the second night on. Stayed two nights as a couple and were only disappointed with the sheets and towels which all had stains when we arrived but were exchanged immediately.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawsteen1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This hotel room was pretty cheap. The hotel is in a good location. The rooms are small but I knew that from previous reviews on here. The bed was comfortable, but there was some noise during the night from upstairs and some road noise. The room was clean but a bit tired looking. The staff were helpful, although we couldn't find anyone at reception when we wanted to check out which was a bit inconvenient. The room deposit was quite large compared to some of the other hotels we stayed in, but they did tell us about it when we booked and returned it with no problem at check out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We were recommended this hotel by the Lonely Planet’s 'top choice' Hotel Eden 54 that couldn’t accommodate us, and it was a great find.
Rooms are quite small but not at all cramped for a couple with two massive rucksacks and daypacks. They are stylishly decorated, modern and minimal, with the bird theme art on a feature wall tastefully done.
The bed was incredibly comfy with quality crisp white linen - a pleasant surprise.
The whole place was spotless.
Very efficient, quiet A/C.
There’s not really anywhere other than your room to hang out in - reception is sparse and functional and rooms are all accessed by a small lift.
Reception staff were friendly and helpful, but their English was surprisingly limited, so don’t count on them for anything more than the basics.
Only very minor gripe was that there was a kettle and mugs in the room teasing us without any tea or coffee (they were for sale!). There was a complementary bottle of water though.
Perfect location a short walk to restaurants, nightlife, night market and bus station - a rare combination of handy that offers a peaceful night’s sleep.
We actually reserved the room through Hotel Eden and seemed to get a preferential rate to the one advertised in the window, so might be worth trying that.

Room Tip: Rooms with outward-facing en-suites (rather than internal) are bigger and brighter all round. Might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curi0usWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
1 City Hotel
1 City Hotel
#27 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lucky 11 Hotel
Lucky 11 Hotel
#57 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#49 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KK Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KK Suites Hotel

Address: 98-100 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Sarangnova Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £18 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KK Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your KK Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing