We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel,reasonable price and good location!”
Review of Gaya Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaya Centre Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel,reasonable price and good location!”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I stayed in deluxe room with seaview in Gaya Centre Hotel for 4 nights,the room was a bit small but enough for 2 persons.Great seaview,comfortable beds and good air conditioner make you feel really comfortable after a super hot day in kota kinabalu.We loved the location of hotel,you can found restaurant,shopping malls(our favourite is wisma merdeka!)and everything you need within a short walk.Good services provided by front desk and bell boy.The only problem we found was there were bad smell in toilet most of the time,maybe the drainage system needed to be improve.
We were very alert of our valuable things after reading some comments about the security issues here so nothing unhappy happened on us.
We did enjoyed our stay here and loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    284
    136
    36
    26
See reviews for
137
151
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

3 star hotel with affordable rate at center of the K.Kinabalu town.
Strategic location and nearby to all attraction place in town.
New and fresh look of room interior design with contemporary touch.
Very clean room and nice plasma tv with combination great lighting fitting effect.
Great services and helpful staff.
Well done Gaya Center Hotel

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YeaSkyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed there for 2 night for a quick diving trip. The location was perfect for divers since a dive shop is only 3 minutes walk and wharf is only 10 mintes walk from the hotel.
The room is very clean. It has electric pot, cups, tea, etc.
The best part is the great shower especially after diving. Roomy shower room and great water pressure! When we requested extra towels, a staff gave us right away.
Breakfast buffet has lots of variety of food.
Staffs are nice and friendly but were bit slow at check-in. But you just need to be patient.

Room Tip: The standard room has only twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeQueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

New hotel, good service, next to suria sabah mall, easy access to halal food, near waterfront and jetty, walking distance to handicraft market, wireless internet in lobby, wired internet in room, airport transfer at RM15/person

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahsophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2011

v book this hotel in promotion period...v booked a twin bed rooms wif RM40..

at 1st v din expect anything, v jz wan a place to overnight, bt whn v enter the room...it was amazing~ really worth it!

v wil back thr in next kk trip~ =)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ele_000y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

After reading the earlier reviews on security, we were apprehensive when we arrived. I even asked the front office on the security issues. They acknowledged that there were some problems and advised us to use the safe provided in the room. We were therefore extremely cautious with our belongings when leaving the room by locking up our bags and putting valuables in the safe. The staff were extremely friendly, including housekeeping. Any requests were attended to within a short period of time. Front office were friendly and helpful. Was pretty impressed by the many door men - literally I did not need to open any door when entering or leaving the hotel as they were always there! Did not try the restuarant so cannot comment on the food. The location is great which is opposite the waterfront and near to shopping malls and markets. Love the sunsets!
The room is of reasonable size and is clean. Would however like to have wi-fi in the room. Overall we were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We had our camera with all our Borneo trip photos on it “disappear” from the room we had just stayed in. Admittedly we had checked out and caught a half hour flight by the time we realised this. It was 5:00am in the morning when we left and a bit wherey from having climbed the mountain the day before. We contacted the hotel and told them that it was in the room still and they said they would go collect it for us and hold it. We also sent them an email to make sure they understood, this all happened well before any of the cleaners had started. However with no reply to the email we were a little concerned, however had faith that it would fine.
As we were returning for another night’s stay after being away for a couple of nights in the jungle, and had left our bags in storage, we didn’t think it would be a big deal as we had a spare so just expected to just pick it up when returned along with our gear, however upon our return we were told that there was “no camera in the lost property and the policy was that all things left in rooms went in there, so it wasn’t left in the room as that is there policy.” Then when questioned further English didn’t seem to be understood.
Sadly the front desk either didn’t go and get it before the cleaners and they took it or they did and it has walked, which for us was heartbreaking, we didn’t even care about the camera it was only a cheapy but the SD card was worth more than anything.
We had expended more from a reputable hotel but clearly not. We are thankful that we had Packsafe’s around our bags otherwise who knows what else might of happened.
Next time we will stay with a trusted chain hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpsauce-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,395 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Centre Hotel

Property: Gaya Centre Hotel
Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaya Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gaya Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing