We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shower, clean, good value”
Review of Gaya Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaya Centre Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great shower, clean, good value”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Spent a couple days here. Really enjoyed our stay here, as compared to a hotel that was very close by a similar rating. For the price on Agoda, this place is hard to beat. Good location, air con, tv and very clean. Staff was helpful.

Only downside - they advertise internet in the rooms (LAN only and not wifi). We tried the LAN cables, but found out the internet wasn't working in pretty much any room. So we used the lobby wifi, which was good. Just don't expect to have internet in your room!

Room Tip: Stay high, good views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_Jack_Rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    284
    136
    36
    27
See reviews for
137
152
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We chose this hotel after one night in a dirty cheap hotel and it was a huge relief.
The service was as it should be and the rooms were very clean and well maintained.

The only point of improve they could make (next to a swimming pool) is on the lack of wifi in the building. They only have some public computers but nowadays this feels a bit old fashioned, especially for the semi-luxe type of hotel Gaya Centre Hotel wants to be.

If this is no problem for you, it is a nice choice for staying in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, easy to get around for some hot spot attractions.
very close to the Jesselton point ferry, just 5 minutes you will be there.
buffett breakfast was average, but for this price, it's acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Able1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnybora
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

really enjoyed are stay here,lovely rooms,big and clean.there was 2 adults and 1 young child,the room had 2 single beds in but they were bigger than your average single bed.Looked better than a 3 star to me.Nice buffett breakfast which was included in the price.Good location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnybora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Outstanding situation, within easy walking distance of many KK locations.
Service could not have been more courteous or efficient. Plenty of staff were available and all requests were dealt with immediately.
Breakfast buffet included wholemeal as well as white toast and spreads, moist fluffy scrambled eggs, frankfurters (steamed not fried), fried eggs, cornflakes and ice cold milk, beautiful fresh tropical fruit, crisp fresh vegetables and a variety of Asian foods. Service in the dining room was extremely efficient and courteous. Stunning sea view during breakfast was a bonus.
Room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom had only a small vent above the shower and no other ventilation so although it was immaculately clean, it smelled a little musty. A flaw in the hotel design and in no way reflecting a lack of hygiene.
Shower was hot and easily controlled.
Free parking is available in front of the hotel. We used the hotel's very good underground parking for ten RM a day. The airport transport promotion mentioned by earlier reviewers is no longer available but taxis sit outside the hotel waiting for custom.
An inexpensive hotel that provided outstanding service and value for money (and not a bed bug in sight). We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We had a twelfth floor room with sea view. Traffic noise was insignificant and we loved the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

After 2 days of my Mount Kinabalu climbing adventure, i was back to civilisation and need a good rest. Gaya Center Hotel gave me just tat. The room was cosy and trendy. The single bed that i slept gave me the most awesome sleep that i needed after my climbing adventure. The bathroom was big, and spacious.

However, the coffee house where we had breakfast next day was ok only. The food was ok but had limited choices.

Room Tip: try to get the rooms that have sea view. you may get awesome sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraArumugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

It was our first time trip to Sabah and location of the hotel is the priority for us as we was not hired any travel agent to guide us while we were there. We prefer to walk to any attraction in the city. The hotel is quite new with white clean bedsheet, clean carpet and great bathroom. It's just a walking distance to the seafood stall open at night at waterfront. If we walk further, there will be another seafood stall behind the 'Pasar Philippines'. As well as the Jesselton Ferry Terminal, it is just 10mints walking to catch the ferry for Island Hopping. Overall the hotel is nice so do the people.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syazfariena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Centre Hotel

Property: Gaya Centre Hotel
Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaya Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gaya Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing