We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view, clean rooms & reasonable service”
Review of Gaya Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaya Centre Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 27 September 2012

what you get from this hotel is a seaview room, above average clean room and expected services and facilities from a city hotel. Next to the hotel is a newly opened shopping mall and you can easily spend half a day there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
There are newer reviews for Gaya Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Gaya before and after climbing Mt Kinabalu. We arrived late and really only wanted a room to sleep and have a hot shower. That's what we got! We travelled with another couple and their room was very clean but had no wifi. We were 5 doors down, our shower was mouldy but had wifi. Staff were very helpful, organised taxis and looked after our extra luggage until we returned. Hotel was in a great location, walking distance to shops, jetty etc. Breakfast was ok, nothing amazing but did the job.
For the price we paid $45aud, we thought this hotel was good value. I would have marked it higher but for the mold in the shower. The shower pressure was fantastic by the way.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank insulbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is a good hotel, more like a four star than the buget hotel it is. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff were very helpful. We thought it let itself down by the poor quality of the breakfasts, but they were catering for hundreds (or so it seemed), and it is mainly catering for those on a tight budget. But the hotel it is very well situated. It's literally just across the road from a large shopping mall, and there were many places to eat nearby. It was also near to the market and to the ferries which take you out to the islands. It's a good base for visiting KK, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twotravellingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It's not located in city center, but KK ain't that big; if you are not able to walk under the heat, taxi fare won't shock you either (just remember to negotiate it prior the journey).

For divers, this hotel is in 5 mins walkin distance to Jesselton ferry point for your connecting boats. If your dive center use a different jetty, chances are most dive operators will offer free shuttle transport. Beside, a few dive shops is just located in the building behind this hotel.

This hotel offers buffet style free breakfast with many choices, and the three main dishes were changing everyday. This saves your time to hunt for brekkis and give enough energy to start your day out in the water.

The Hotel has a small shop, open from 9am to 10pm and the price is reasonable. As view has stated, KK's largest shopping mall with its own food court is just opposite the hotel. The mall has a small side door/exit which is directly opposite to the hotel.

Later afternoon or evening, a 10mins walk along the beach side, you will reach the Philippians Market. Local hawker food, fresh fruits, seafood... You will be amazed by the pricing.

To note, there are many hotels to choose from in KK, and a lot of the famous brand such as the Hyatt, La Mirada... are along the beach side as well, close to city center & night markets, but ain't all of them has free breakfast offer. So value for money, I'd recommend this Hotel.

The only pitfall is the free WiFi only covers the lobby area. There is in room internet cable connection point, but guess you have to bring your own cable line and not sure you need to pay.

Taxi fare from/to airport currently is RM30 (as Sep 2012), and its about 20mins ride with not much traffics.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amon029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

According to the local city map (hotel listings) this hotel is in the Budget category,but really is a 3star place. I was lucky to get a water view, which made the room nicer. But overall this is a good place to lay your head.

Room Tip: High floor with water views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Located strategically opposite Suria Sabah-a shopping mall and the waterfront. Also within walking distances to the Sunday market, Philippino market.
Also very easy to arrange for transportation to the airport. A cab to kkia2 costed rm30.
The room is clean but the bed and blanket seemed to be shorter than the standard size. Hardly able to accommodate >170cm adult.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eemee131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Have stayed at the Gaya Centre Hotel on 2 occasions in the past year and i am already planning my next stay there in a couple months. I must say that the price we paid for the rooms, what we ended up getting was way beyond expectations. The rooms were comfy, spacious and clean. Have always taken the Deluxe rooms on the 12th floor as the view of the islands and the sea (especially at sunset) is simply breathtaking! Service has always been prompt, the breakfast included is adequate and a great way to start the day before taking the short 5min walk over to Jesselton Jetty if your plans for the day is to go to the islands in the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Wisma Sabah ( where most Tour agencies, a few car rental companies and the very amazing Diverse Borneo dive operator is situated) is just right next door, and so is the new 'Megamall' Suria Sabah. Gaya Street and lots of food stores is just right across the street. Basically, everything interesting in the city is within walking distance, and that, with the amazing views from the room, is what i love most about staying here. I work in the hospitality business and have travelled to Sabah countless times and this will be my permanant place to stay for the forseeable future whenever i'm in KK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dylan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#30 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Centre Hotel

Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £27 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaya Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gaya Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing