We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and Value”
Review of Gaya Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaya Centre Hotel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Convenience and Value”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a week in November on B&B basis. My travel agent had already made the decision for me to go sightseeing during the day time and Kota Kinabalu has plenty of eating options all day.
The breakfast spread was not that great, consisting mainly of eastern food and very little continental chow. The room was compact and convenient with some decent TV channels.
There's free wifi in the lobby and restaurant areas and there's a large mall right across should you wish to try some other type food or drink. There's a night market with all sorts of sea food cooked in different ways and you could sample these, if you walk along the esplanade which starts just outside the hotel.
Beware of touts and others trying to sell you mobiles etc.
There's a travel agent in the lobby, so you could book your excursions and tours through this company. The prices are similar to other agents (I checked!).
Some of the must-do's in Kota Kinabalu are: take a river cruise to spot the proboscis monkey and see the fireflies at night; climb Mt. Kinabalu (if you're fit enough, requires 2 days and a one-night stay at Laban Ratta up on the mountain route) or at least visit Kinabalu park and Poring Hotsprings (soak in a tub and you'd come out feeling much refreshed); snorkel or dive in the Tungku Abdul Rahman marine park (tours vary from 2-3 island hops).
Overall, Kota Kinabalu is a lovely city and Gaya centre will put you right in the middle of it all to enjoy yourself! Taxi costs 30RM from airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anuk_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    284
    136
    36
    27
See reviews for
137
152
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Gaya Centre hotel is not expensive and good value for the money. I stayed one night and then later in the week for two nights. The second time it was a larger room with a double bed. The service is good and, when I asked for an internet pc cable, it arrived in minutes at no cost. It is very central for the markets, sea, shops and restaurants. The breakfast is fine possibly better for Asian and Chinese food. The terrace outside the breakfast room has great views.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scandic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here one night, and only because we couldn't get a room at Hotel Eden 54 (they were booked out). It's an efficiently run hotel, and the room was clean & comfortable. But the standard rooms only have twin beds, so not suitable for couples.

It's located on a busy road, and the traffic noise was incessant. It's also in the flight path, so planes are regularly flying overhead. And the music emanating from the lift area can be heard in your room. Earplugs are a necessity when staying here!!

Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby, not your room.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The view from our room (on the 7th floor) was great, looking across the water to Gaya Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristesse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I was at this hotel last week. The positives are location, easy to get a tour anywhere, good new Suria Sabah supermarket just in front of hotel, clean room, large shower, friendly staffs and easy taxi access. Of the negatives, there was slight smoke smell in my non smoking room but the biggest problem is no internet in rooms. It is only available in the Lobby and even that is hit and miss. This is definitely a huge negative in this day and age. The management need to take of the times as most hotels even the cheap ones have internet access these days. Otherwise, this could be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Take the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheemengtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

our first time to visit Kota Kinabalu and we were booked in this hotel for 5D 4N. the only good thing about this hotel is the location. everything else was just BAD HORRIBLE TERRIBLE - 5 DAYS OF NIGHTMARE. beddings had dog-like smell, breakfast buffet cannot be considered a buffet at all (more like a what the beggar's beggar would eat during dry season), NO INTERNET the entire stay (staff said there's wifi at the lobby but my prepaid dial up connection 25 years ago was way much faster than their wifi), very poor response from staff when i asked why internet didn't work "sir, it's because a lot of guests are using it…", cable tv has only 10 channels (most were actually local), only free amenities were soap and shampoo., and there's a whole lot more i can share to warn future guests. bottom-line is… IF YOU ARE AFTER THE LOCATION, get any hotel within the city center since everything in kota kinabalu is NEAR. if you are after location, service, food and internet, this is not the hotel for you. trust me. 5 days and 4 nights in this hell-like hotel is more than enough experience for me to learn from.

Room Tip: if you're after the location, just get any hotel within the city. everything's walk-able, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a2joshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I stayed here with my two friends and we found the hotel fantastic so much so that we booked it again. This hotel is close to everything. There is Suria Sabah mall across the road- where you can pay RM6 for hainese chicken- the best ive ever tasted. The markets, food stalls and pier are only a 5-10min walk. Its a great way to explore KK. The staff were extremely friendly and polite. We watched a game of soccer in the bar section of the hotel with the staff. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was a little dated but it was clean. Free bottle water was provided. Breakfast was ok. My only gripe would be the noise & wifi . If staying on level 2 ask to be put in a room away from the main road as it can get loud at night. Wifi is only available in the lobby. You can access internet in the room but via cable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passport24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Our first time staying here and may not be our last. We had a last minute decision to go to KK and booked a room just one day prior to our trip. The hotel is easy to find, right next door to Suria Sabah shopping mall. And just a few minutes walk to the markets and other shopping complexes. We booked a deluxe room, we were given a room on the 12th floor although small but good enough for 3 of us and had the most beautiful sea view. The room and toilet were clean, although not sparkling, the carpet needs polishing because some areas were stained but not too bad.

The room had flat screen tv with limited selections but we didnt stay there to watch tv! We had everything we needed except there was no internet connection in the room. There was limited parking space at the front of the hotel and limited parking space at the basement which we could book at first come first served basis, for RM10 per night. We didnt know until later there was in fact an ample parking spaces at the back of the hotel which the receptionist failed to inform us, otherwise we didnt need to pay RM10 per night for our stay! But never mind.

Breakfast was ok, good enough selections and the restaurant was also facing the sea where we could sit there having breakfast while enjoying the sea. Our only complaint was the noise from the traffic below. On our first night I couldnt slept very well (I am a light sleeper) due to the noise which came from the motorcycle and other vehicles passing by, this at 2am in the morning and from the 12th floor. My suggestion is to ask for a room on the east side of the hotel but you may not get a good view of the ocean from there, so its up to you.

I am glad to inform as well that this hotel had earned A Certificate Of Excellence from Tripadvisor for 2012 due to the good ratings by its guests so congratulations!!!

I recommend this hotel to anyone and may not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor to get a good view of the ocean, room on the east side is quieter, i guesss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemongrass08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,414 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Centre Hotel

Property: Gaya Centre Hotel
Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaya Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gaya Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing