We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Money at All”
Review of Gaya Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaya Centre Hotel
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stay here if you have exhausted all other 3-star options. This hotel is overpriced and probably taking advantage of large tourist group package. Paid MYR280 for a deluxe king room. It wasn't much of a room worth that price. Old and dirty carpet, unattractive bathroom and large gap in between the entrance door to the floor. And my room was right at the lift area.
And the winner is, the breakfast buffet. What an insult. There was not much choice at all. No pastries, freshly boiled and fried eggs or omelette. More like a canteen than a hotel breakfast buffet.

Location is not bad, near a mall and food place but at the edge of town. People are friendly and helpful. But I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Last choice. Nice view though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noxf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is my third stay in this hotel. The location was good, convenient for shopping, just opposite Sabah Suria. Just ten minutes walk to Jesselton jetty to catch a boat for island hopping. I found that its location could be a big factor to stay here. Happy staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zamanuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The hotel is located at the far end of the ‘central’ next to a shopping mall. I have to say this is far from a 3-star hotel. The staffs are all right with a few exceptions. Most hotels will allow guests to check-in IF the room were available. If the room was not available the staff would normally advice the guests to place their luggage with the porter and come back later. Here, a BIG sign is placed on the front desk insisting that the check-in time is 1400. You can see many restless guests at the lounge waiting for the magic moment. At 2 pm sharp, everyone just battle to rush to the front desk to get a room. I suppose the management probably enjoy a rush hour period. I have booked a studio suite including breakfast through the internet, however, when I check-in I was told breakfast was NOT included. Not until I took out my booking confirmation sheet then I was given coupons for the breakfast. The confirmation sheet, including details of my travel package, was simply taken away from me without my consent. This is not a good start. I was also asked to place a deposit of RM100 for no reason. Only one card-key was given for a room of four. The room is on the second floor facing a parking lodge so there was not much view. The size of the room is reasonable but the bathroom was the worst of all. There is only a shower with a door that somehow never manages to keep the water inside the shower basin. When a towel was placed on the floor it is always soggy wet. The toilet seat is NOT built for the toilet and is too small to cover the bowl. Nonetheless, the lid of the seat is VERY IMPORTANT – it keeps the malodours coming from inside the toilet. If the lid was lifted the whole bedroom will be filled with odours as if you were visiting a sewage treatment plant. It was lucky that we discover this trick on the first day of our visit. The furniture is below average. Stains are everywhere. The buffet breakfast was ok with some local food. One of the strange things that I observed is that it’s up to the guests to rearrange the tables and chairs. For unknown reason, many Chinese (because they speak Mandarin) would like to have an additional seat on a 2-seater table so the additional seat would block the passage and prevent others from going through. None of the hotel staffs would advice the guest not to do so especially when there were plenty of 4-seater tables around. Sometimes the waiter/waitress were reluctant to take your dirty plates away while some would take away your spoon and fork before you finish your breakfast. It’s just amazing. You would also expect the waiter/waitress to be alert on the quality of the food. However, I ones saw a bunch of ants enjoying their meals over the jam that was placed in a dish next to the bread counter. It took nearly an hour before that growing population was removed from sight. The hotel is advertised to have free high-speed internet. I mistakenly though that it means wifi especially when a login password was given to me to access the hotel’s secure site. I later found out that this wifi service is not available for my floor. When I tried to use this service in the lobby or in the restaurant the speed was very slow and unstable that the connection was easily disconnected. I like to visit KK again but I don’t think I will come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HK_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed May 2013 Hotel in good location, modern with clean rooms except for the carpet,which was badly in need of a shampoo. If you are arriving from a long haul flight and are looking forward to early check-in this hotel is not for you, a heavy typed notice at the reception clearly enforces managements decision that 2pm is check-in time. We stayed 4 nights and found the staff friendly and helpful, we also concluded that the hotel was focusing on the Asian market as western breakfast choices were few and not varied. The inflexible management and sad breakfast are not what hotels should be promoting, better choices abound in KK

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

If you're looking for an affordable hotel with excellent room and service choose gaya centre hotel.
It is in center of almost everything. Across the hotel is the shopping mall, the bay-walk to watch the sunset and the filipino market which you can buy fruits and also souvenirs.
On the lobby, there is a travel agency to cater your tour needs. You have also other options for travel agencies just cross the hotel and you can find several tour groups.

Overall i can say is this hotel is excellent!!
The next time i come back to Kota Kinabalu i will still stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stay this hotel for 1 night with family. Is satisfy with the service and location of this hotel. Hotel is very clean, aircond is good, breakfast is nice, bed is nice. Location wise, is near just opposite suria sabah.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location - right in the heart of town. So it is very convenient for eating and shopping and travelling to outlaying areas. It is a new hotel - opened only in 2011. The room is of good size, clean and nice. The air-con and water heater are in good working condition. Breakfast is very good considering that this is a 3-star hotel. Staff are friendly and attentive. Check in and check out were a breeze. My only complain is we were not able to connect to the internet during our stay there. This is an area I hope the hotel will upgrade to provide wifi connection in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1john316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Klagan Hotel
The Klagan Hotel
#14 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Gaya Hotel
Little Gaya Hotel
#31 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu
#20 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Centre Hotel

Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £27 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaya Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaya Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing