We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff and smelly rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gaya Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaya Centre Hotel
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Rude staff and smelly rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Gaya recently for one night at the start of our Borneo trip. The reception staff were rude, had problems with their credit card machines that caused a lot of delay and wouldn't let us check-in a minute before 2pm.

We had booked two rooms. The rooms itself were ok but the bathroom smelt of urine/sewer. We changed the one room that was unbearable but the replacement was not that much better.

Overall, I don't think Gaya is worth the money. The location is good (next to the mall Suriah Sabah) but the service and rooms are sub-standard. After touring Sabah we returned to KK and stayed at Oceania hotel. I can only sing praises about Oceania. One of the best hotels we have stayed in Malaysia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swmi_edi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    281
    134
    36
    26
See reviews for
135
149
46
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night after a late night arrival. I chose Gaya because of its location in the center of KK next to shopping malls, like Suria Sabah, and the waterfront. Restaurants are within walking distance. No problem with the location at all. Most hotel reception is a little moody past midnight but I was served by a pleasant lady. For a tired traveller, this is a welcome addition.

The hotel is a typical local hotel. Design of the hotel could be improved. The lobby is cluttered, a staircase blocks the way to the reception. The elevator is on the slow-ish side, but not as bad as the small hotels in Paris where it is quicker to walk up. The hallway to the rooms is carpeted, but sometimes I wish hotels in Malaysia, where the humidity is extreme, should go for something that's fresher. Carpets attract dust and dirt and can smell musty - which is the case with Gaya. Not a complain, I see this quite often in midrange hotels in Malaysia. The maintenance required to keep it clean must be very high.

The rooms are reasonable in size. It looked to me like it is on the smallish side, but I did get a sea view. The windows starts from the waist height, so there's no full length window. Room was clean, mattress firm and gives a good night without waking up with a bad back. Power sockets are mainly on the worktable, I'd prefer one that's by the bedside so I can charge my iDevices while I sleep. Then again its easy to push the side table out and use the plug meant for the side table lamp. However the choice is, light or charger.

No problem with the air conditioning. It seems to work, though it dries the air. I managed to set it to a temperature (about 24C) where it is comfortable enough not to require fiddling the controls.

The bathroom is average. It has tiles all over and some dirt along the grout, which is unescapable for tropical countries. So I guess it was a bad choice for bathroom if it is to appear clean. Shower works, and I didn't experience the bane of most hotels - inconsistent hot water. Then again, its possible - or recommended - to shower in cold water in KK. Especially after a hot day out.

There's the quintessential lifeblood of travellers: wifi... throughout the hotel. Using the same password. Get the WEP passcode from the reception. Since they don't attach room number to it, you could use multiple devices to it. However internet is slowwwww. I dont know if its Malaysia slow. Slow enough photos sometimes don't upload to iCloud for me. Fast enough for Whatsapp and iMessage texts.

Breakfast was included in the rate for me. There are seating outside as well, and has a view of the sea and the floating village. The selection for breakfast is ok, more attuned to the local taste - porridge, noodles, fried kuey teow, curry and the like. There's toasts and butter and coffee, sausages eggs, etc. But cooked the local way. Average. Nothing much to say.

Summary: Don't expect the Hyatt. Then again you're paying a third of the price of the Hyatt next door. Treat Gaya as a place to sleep and an inn and you will not be disappointed. Use the money you saved on a dive adventure (guess what, there are dive shops next to the hotel).

Location... a large shopping mall is next door. Suria Sabah has the usual shops and Starbuckses for those that are allergic to local food. But you're in Malaysia. Go eat local. Not far away is a pasta/pizza joint called Little Italy that's not too bad and has a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dufffader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Located at the town of Kota Kinabalu, easy to explore the food and attractions nearby. Super friendly hotel staff and the room was clean and well equipped. Just a 5mins walk from hotel to Sunday morning market, which is a must to go if visit KK.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siew teng l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Price was very reasonable for a clean, comfortable room with buffet breakfast for 2. The room was also facing the sea and the location is superb. Toilet was clean and spacious, shower was good. Suria Sabah is directly opposite the hotel, Wisma Sabah and Wisma Merdeka is behind and all within walking distance. We paid RM10 per day for their VIP parking right infront of the hotel. Staffs and the bellboys were very friendly and helpful. Also, I forgotten about my iPad that I left in the hotel safe and only realized it hours later after checking out in the morning, the staffs were helpful and honest to return it back to me when I went back to look for it. Overall, I left this hotel with a very good impression and will definitely be staying here again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuessnacht am Rigi, Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spend 1 night in KK while travelling from Kuchin to HK and we choose Gaya center for the night. The people at the reception were really nice and accomodating our requests. The hotel is a bit old compared to others in town, the room is very very simple but clean and at a competitive price. Location is very convenient even tough at night the planes landing at the airport can be pretty noisy. Overal good value for money if you dont plan to spend time in your room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The location is very good, very close to the sea and several shopping centers around. You can also find food in all kinds in walking distance.
The room is not so big, but big enough for 3 of us. Room is very clean and they provide free drinking water everyday. The reception is super friendly and the staff in the restaurant and at the door is also very nice, smiling all the time. The buffet breakfast is just wonderful. Many varieties and compared to the price you pay, it is really worth the money.
We really like this hotel and will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here twice. On Aug 2012 and March 2013. Very very happy and highly recommended. Why?

1. Location. Only opposite street to Suria Sabah, a mall. You can find supermarket and food court at the 3rd floor.

2. Location. Only 5 minutes walk to the waterfront where you can go to Sapi, Manukan, and Mamutik island (which is clean and you can do snorkeling)

3. Location. Only 5 minutes walk to Gaya Street where you can eat lokal food, bar, and street market on Sunday.

4. Value for money.

5. Clean.

6. Breakfast is good.

Negative:
1. No free Wifi in the room, only in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lidia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaya Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaya Centre Hotel

Property: Gaya Centre Hotel
Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | PO Box 13751, Kota Kinabalu 88843, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaya Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaya Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing