We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Switz Paradise Hotel
Ranked #77 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

The stuff is very helpful
and the rooms are clean. (Some with window).
You can walk from here everywhere in KK.
The location is a bit funny (3rd floor in a mall).
But it's very quiet and i had a good sleep for 5 nights.
Room was basic, but everything working.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
2
13
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Daytime reception staff helpful and friendly but lady who checked me in failed to show me how to use the shower properly. Room was basic and showing its age. same as other reviews. The location in a mall is poor with regards to access by car. The parking fee situation is also unfavourable but the management assured me they are resiolving this issue. Night staff was a problem in that he fell asleep and also early wake up call was over 30 mins late and the excuse given was poor. Their private taxi service guy was particularly helpful. Mangement discouraged tipping the staff without any good reason, which was strange. Also surprised by the number of transvestite prostitutes living at the hotel. Wouldn't recommend this overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The hotel is located inside an old mall. The main entrance is well hidden in a 3rd floor of a parking complex, and could be extremely hard to locate so be prepared. The hotel staff are friendly and helpfull, but you can instantly notice that the hotels sole purpose is to serve chinese businesmen on a trip with out their wifes if you understand the point.

The rooms are small and dark, but clean. there is a AC, TV and hot shower, bed is ok.
Location of the hotel is good if you manage to find it in the first place ;)

Pros:
+ Cheap (for down town KK)
+ Clean

Cons:
- Night time trafic (customers tend to stay in the rooms from 1 to 3 hours... you can actualy book a room for 3h)
- Key card system on the door

Room Tip: Watch out the KEY card system. Be sure that your door is locked when you leave! you understand what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Very difficult to find. It does exist - 3rd floor of the mall in the car park. Room very small with functional bathroom up a large step. No window. No safety deposit box but valuables can be locked away overnight in the office - no access until the morning. Staff friendly and helfpul. Would only recommend as a transit hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Although this hotel was recommended by the Borneo Lonely planet guide, we found the review entirely inaccurate. To begin with, finding the hotel was quite problematic. While the address listed is the Asia City Mall, this mall is officially signed Star City Mall which confused our taxi driver. Furthermore, being dropped off in a parking lot was an inauspicious start to our holiday. While the staff are nice, they are somewhat clueless. When we arrived the hotel was under renovation which we were not made aware of despite having booked the previous week. The room was musty, the spare bed arrived without any sheets, and the room was noticeably dirty with a few flies. There was no shampoo. The rooms are small. The hotel website's pictures are deceiving; the rooms are not as nice as displayed. Overall, the name was a misnomer; the Switz was unfortunately no paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashkebash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I took the cheapest price they had. Got room with no windows. Very small. Aircond was not working well. This not cool the room at all but since my friend was sick so he said it was ok since he didn't want the room to be cold after all. There were used towel left! Toilet was ok. Parking was easy. Right in front of hotel in the 3rd floor of the building. So had no problems looking for it. Parking was RM2 per entry for hotel users. Overall if you have car, and on a very tight budget, can stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zaffarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
270 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We arrived late at night, cab driver had trouble finding the place so dropped us off at the carpark & left. Security showed us to the hotel which is 3rd floor of a carpark??? Never would have found this on our own! One nice guy at reception, checked in & off to our room. Well, had it not been so late we would have walked out. Pretty ordinary overall. Not very clean & a very small room with a cupboard which housed the shower & toilet. Being in the carpark, (very hard to explain) but we had young guys running around, & talking outside the windows the whole night. The lights shone through the windows as the curtains were not the best cover but the noise outside was definitaly the worst. Overall, not a good place, we actually checked out the following morning as certainly not the place for a 5 day stay! Right in the heart of the town, that was the only plus.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Story Tel
Story Tel
#40 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#66 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
32 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#36 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#42 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#71 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kinabalu
Hotel Kinabalu
#51 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Switz Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Switz Paradise Hotel

Property: Switz Paradise Hotel
Address: 3rd floor Asia City Complex, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Switz Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Switz Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing