We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Switz Paradise Hotel
Ranked #74 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad Place To Stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Called the hotel to ask for help as this hotel is hard to find but they weren't helpful. This hotel is in the 3rd floor of a building of a stacked gloomy and creepy car park. Found out that we have to pay for parking lot PER HOUR, we spent RM 26 just for the parking (luckily we went out for few times or else the rate will be higher). We asked them to explain this but they just responded in a cold manner. The room was ok but the bathroom floor is much higher than a normal hotel bathroom. There is also something wrong with the plugs in the room which makes it harder for us to charge our phones. Apart from that on the 2nd night the electricity just went off. The room is also not sound proof as you can hear noises from outside your room. I will not recommend this place as a place to stay to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    10
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
2
14
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Tiny smelly rooms (even in "deluxe"). Air con works only as a fan - apparently it has never been cleaned, filters have never been changed. You'll never get cool air. Hot water is slightly warm. My bed linen wasn't clean when I came. Staff is ok.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sanechka05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed for 4 days 3 nights in this hotel. Quite tricky to find if I first arrived, managed to follow their signboard from outside of the car park into their hotel entrance on the third floor.

It's a budget hotel so do not expect too much. I found that their pillows are way too soft and getting an extra one will cost you RM5. Oh and the bathroom, you have got to step up to enter the bathroom in the room which might be a problem for elder or for the handicapped. The heater in my room was a little tricky to use, the water went cold in the middle of my shower so I need to crank up the heat but that is not really a problem to me. There is a washing machine and dryer outside the hotel entrance where you can wash your clothes for a price. And they have a coffee machine too! NOTE: There is no safe box in the hotel room so keep your valuables and important documents safely with you at all time.

On a positive note, the front desk staffs were friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to Centerpoint Sabah (one of the mall) and the market which you can book a boat ride to the nearby islands from the boat operators beside the market. And I have to tell you, they are not hard to notice, most of them will approach you the moment you walk into that area. I ASSUMED they are not legal operators since I saw people boarding the board from the rocky banks (maybe that's the way but I am not sure) but all passengers were required to wear lifejacket so it shouldn't be that bad. If you walk a little further from there to the end, you can reach Suria Sabah and Merdeka Mall too!

All in all, for group of female travellers, I would just like to caution you if you were to stay in this hotel. If you come back or arrive late at night, you should make sure the taxi driver send you to the hotel's entrance on the third floor. Going in using the lift from the ground floor is a little creepy (and dangerous) at night, lights are dim and the surrounding inside is a uncomfortably quiet. Otherwise, nice hotel to stay for a budget!

Room Tip: I noticed that most of the rooms' windows do not have a nice view (you can correct me if I am wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkc_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is a little difficult to find as it is in a big building, the Asia City Complex, on the 3rd floor, right side of the complex when facing it. The trick is to look at the floor and you'll see arrows pointing out the way to Switz. Also, 3rd floor in Sabah, Malaysia means the 4th floor.
The room is clean and basic, but the bathrooms are disconcertingly a foot higher than the room floor, so you have to step up going in and step down - not a problem if you are tall, but rather unwieldy for a shorty like me [5'1"]. There are rooms with windows but they don't have any type of view as it only looks out into an open area of the building.
The hotel staff is very helpful and polite. We had no trouble with late check-out. You can borrow a blowdryer with a 20RM refundable deposit and a plug adapter is essential for 5RM. And if you are backpackers traveling light, the advantage of this hotel is that they have a washer [5RM/load] and dryer [2.50RM/15minutes] right outside front doors.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a window out into the building corridor [check the minute you are assigned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Current stopped for almost 7hours and when we checked out late 1hour they still want us to pay extra. Had difficulties breathing because of the small windows and wasn't even located somewhere with fresh air. We have already loss 6 damn hours n they still expect us to pay. Didn't even had emergency for anything. Damn poor service! Liked the old workers better. Never going back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leonardomichael13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

First ever bad experience in my travel time!
Located in a complex, in the city, quite convenience where it is just 10min walking distance to handicraft centre, market, fish market, hawker stalls & etc.
BUT.. the complex and the hotel, quite creepy..
The Deluxe twin room was really small; a small window but facing indoor car park.
Bad experience where there's no electricity in the mid night! Apparently certain part of the city was out of electricity! (ok, fine..) and the emergency alarm rang non-stop and no one solve it! the car alarm was sound at the same time! gosh! no air-con, noisy alarm, not even an emergency light in the room! terrible facilities and management system!
We called for taxi service for airport transfer, and we found that there's no standard rate for it! different staff given different rate!
I will not staying here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayberlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

No more discount if parking upstairs next to hotel. RM1/hr, or more on weekday.

Although hotel is located a little dodgy looking location, next to a night club, room is clean and with nice wooden floor, a bit worry in the fire escape if anything happen.

Downstair is the famous Welcome Seafood Restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danachow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Story Tel
Story Tel
#41 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hii-5 Hotel
Hii-5 Hotel
#68 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
9.7 mi away
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
Tang Dynasty Bay Hotel
#39 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#45 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.7 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#60 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kinabalu
Hotel Kinabalu
#54 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Switz Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Switz Paradise Hotel

Property: Switz Paradise Hotel
Address: 3rd floor Asia City Complex, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Switz Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotel.de so you can book your Switz Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing