We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A spot of paradise on an island out of this world”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa from Air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk Front of Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Villa from Air
Villa at Dusk
Front of Villa
Pool from Gazebo
Pool 4
Pool
Pool 2
Entrance Hall
Living Area Downstairs
Living Area Upstairs
Living Area Mezzanine
Bedroom 2
Bedroom Master
Kitchen
Dining Area 2
Dining Area
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Pool and Entrance Hall at Night
BBQ and Dining Gazebos
Sea from Upstairs Living Area
Pool 3
Villa and Beach from Air
Coastline
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District, West Coast Division, Sabah

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
O R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A spot of paradise on an island out of this world”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Borneo in itself is an amazing spot but when we turned up to Hibiscus Villa we truly felt like we had discovered a secret paradise. It is tucked away amongst some trees which makes you feel like you are secluded in a world of your own. The pool is a great addition for those few hours of rain you get and the beach is 5 minutes away (may as well be a private beach). The staff are really friendly and do give you plenty of space and privacy. We had the chef come cook for us every night as the offer was too good. We had an amazing time there, a great spot for families as well as couples.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review, we are really pleased you had a great stay with us...Hibiscus Villa really does feel cut off from the busy world! Hope to see you again some time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprilster...
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had such an amazing time at Hibiscus Villa. The beach is fantastic - white sand, crystal clear water and hardly another soul to be seen. Very relaxing and enjoyable. The staff at the villa are friendly and helpful and took care of us very well. We had great meals cooked for us by Chef Jay from down the road. A fantastic place to unwind.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornbyrd...
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Balinese-style private villa”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This 5 star villa has everything you need for the perfect holiday! It is super spacious, and the view is breathtaking. We loved the open layout including the position of the pool being partly covered and protected from the rain. We took our family of 7 adults and had plenty of privacy, even from each other when needed! What impressed me most was the private beach just a short walk down a trail on the side of the villa. I could not believe we had a beautiful, white sandy beach (one of the best we have seen) all to ourselves- so peaceful. The sunsets were stunning, it made the perfect setting for our future son-in-law to propose! James and his staff are easy to work with and provided everything we could possibly need- any food items, as well as snorkeling gear and paddle boards. James also arranged a wonderful tour with a canapy walk on the ride to the villa that we all really enjoyed- scary but unforgettable. I would highly suggest eating at "The Secret Place", a short walk down the beach- Robby is a wonderful chef! This was truly one of our best vacations- we made some great memories. The Hibicus is a hidden treasure that will always be dear to our hearts! Hope to go back to this untouched tip of Borneo.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant birthday”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We rented the wonderful Hibiscus to celebrate a birthday - it was perfect. There was rain and sunshine and the house was perfect for both.
The pool is a delight and the bedrooms luxurious.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and luxury
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clareafha...
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just got back from a 10 day stay at the lovely Hibiscus villa with our 5 children and can't rate it highly enough. Having spent 4 nights in the jungle at Sandakan, we were looking forward to some down time. The villa is lovely and well worth the drive from Kota Kinabalu airport (approx 3 hours). We were greeted at the door of this very impressive and beautiful villa by James and his lovely staff and things just got better and better. The villa is set in a lovely part of Borneo - 3 mins walk to a white sand beach and snorkelling. Unfortunately, the sea was a bit too choppy to snorkel off the beach while we were there, but James organised 2 very good snorkelling day trips for us which were not that expensive and we saw some amazing sea life. There is no wifi at the villa, but that can easily be remedied by a quick visit to Tommy's bar (3 min drive). I wondered if the children (24-9) would feel bereft, but there was so much to see and do, they just got on with it and Tommy's was our go to first drink every night, which kept everyone happy. The staff were the perfect combination of being in and around, without being intrusive and the 3 girls cooked lovely breakfasts every morning even coming in early on the two days we went on the snorkelling trips. Joe was on hand to answer any questions we had and James was always on the end of the phone to organise anything we needed, shopping, day's out etc. We ate in a couple of nights with the Chef (very good food Steamboat recommended) and also drove up the road to Tip Top restaurant. Puddings! All in all we had an amazing time here.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke J
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Secluded and relaxing”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in Hibiscus Villa with ours and one other family (8 people). It is a beautiful and secluded location just near the tip of Borneo. The house is massive with plenty of places to sit and relax. There is no phone or Internet reception in the house and I personally found that fantastic (you could get reception close by if required). The staff do a great job and aren't intrusive at all. We got Chef J in on 2 occasions but there are also good places to eat nearby as well. You can be as adventurous as you like or just sit around and relax. This is a fantastic place to recharge your batteries!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBC6
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed here with some of our visiting family from the UK and had such a fantastic weekend. The villa is absolute luxury and set in the most wonderful spot just back from the beach, which is easily accessible via a private path. The beach itself is very quiet but you can walk to a local beach-side cafe and the very cool La Playa beach bar, which are both just around the bend on the left. From the villa, there is a lovely view of palm trees and blue ocean (including from 2 of the bedrooms). There were plenty of sun loungers in the gardens and books available to borrow. There were helpful and friendly staff on hand who prepared breakfast for us each morning, and we also made use of the private chef who cooked us a delicious BBQ meal. There was ample space for our group, inside and outside and we all had the most perfect weekend. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thanks for the review Sam - I'm glad you and your family had a great weekend and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing