We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service!”

Koryo-Jeong BBQ Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 578 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly service!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had lunch here twice during our stay in KK. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful. We ordered the bibimbap and bulgogi, both were tasty. Highly recommend if you are looking for Korean food and a good dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabs1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We always look for something different if we can, and after a good first ever Korean meal in a small restaurant in Hong Kong we thought we might try for another for our second visit to a Korean restaurant.
I was amazed at how genuinely welcome we were made by the owner and his family and all the help and advice we were given in both choosing what to eat and the proper Korean way of eating it, It was a distinct advantage the the owners niece was on hand that night as her english was fantastic and her enthusiasm was a joy.
The food was good and loads of it, it was a great experience and one that will be remembered for a long time for all the right reasons.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank grahammckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Authentic Korean”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We were the only non-Korean diners when we ate there. That says a lot about the authenticity.
We received a friendly welcome from the owner, who offered to help us with our selection if we weren't familiar with Korean food. Ended up having bibimbap and Kimchi pancake. The panchan (side dishes) were so generous- three types of delicious Kimchi, potato and eggplant. Dolsot bibimbap is featured in the menu, but they will happily make a regular bibimbap. Dietary requirements, eg vegetarian, happily catered to.
Juices were freshly squeezed- I was pleasantly surprised.
Not cheap by malaysian standards I guess, but still very reasonable. Quality, authentic Korean food run by friendly and welcoming Korean owners. A little gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Delicious korean food. Opened by korean family. Limited food but overall was good. Good location city center easy to find. Nice ambience the owner is friendly and recommend what is nice to eat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yong86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Authentic Korean food, not for the cheapskates who can't differentiate between cheap franchise and authentic”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Walking into Koryo-Jeong, I felt as if I'd walked into a Korean drama series.

Myself and the beau - we were the ONLY Malaysians in the restaurant at that time. ^_^ what an astonishing find. I'll admit, that for its location it seemed like it would've been pretty empty. In fact, I expected it to be empty, not half full with true blue Koreans!

We were staying at Le meridien and were craving for Korean food, obviously. Naturally, we'd spotted this restaurant , it being located on the 1st floor of warisan square and what-not.

Now, this restaurant doesn't have a very extensive menu. It's got very limited choices and its a tad bit pricey. But I like the atmosphere, the friendly owner and the down to earth, authenticity of their food.

What I absolutely loved was how the owner of the shop and his wife were so very welcoming. That and it was my very first time having Korean BBQ ( as sad as that sounds). They suggested which meats to choose and then when the meats came, the owner even BBQ-Ed the meat for us!!

We chose the beef tongue and one of their pork choices. Both extremely delicious. I'll have to admit that their portion is small, given the price. But oh, the taste... Simply to die for.

We had their soups as well. I loved their beef stew soup - had a very homey taste to it. Wanted the super spicy soup but that was sold out. Their seaweed soup wasn't so great tho.

All in all, I'd recommend this place but only if you're willing to spend on good, authentic Korean food. Yes, you can get cheap Korean food from some Korean franchise, yes it may also be good... But this... This experience you hardly ever get. And nothing can take away from having a true blue Korean Aunty take your order while the Korean uncle helps you BBQ your meat.

Simply priceless.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ElusiveLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koryo-Jeong BBQ Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Koryo-Jeong BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing