We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to a romantic sunset...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
Ranked #36 of 81 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Kajang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Walking distance to a romantic sunset...”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Escaped from a horrid hotel to find a clean & comfy hotel is enough for me. Newly renovated lobby & situated in a quiet & private area which helps me to fall asleep. Walking distance to Tg Aru beach for a romantic sunset walk & do try the avocado juice at the fruit juice stalls. They're very delish! Rooms have an old feel to it but was clean & well maintained. WIFI only at the lobby but was sufficient enough. Room rates were reasonably cheap. Walking distance to Perdana Park for the fountain display at night.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    34
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
24
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We just wanted a hotel close to the airport to get some sleep after arriving in the early hours. The hotel is very close to the low cost carriers terminal (still got charged MYR38 for an airport taxi but couldn't find any normal taxi's). There was someone to check us in despite the early hour. Downstairs has been renovated and hopefully this will extend to the rooms. The decor is a bit dated and the carpets no longer fit well. Room was clean enough, beds comfy for tired travellers, a musty smell but aircon took care of that. Soap, etc. provided in the bathroom which I wasn't sure we would get at this price. Even more surprising that one gets the breakfast included - no choice offered (sausage, beans, egg, toast) but no complaints. There was free wifi for guests although the signal came and went. Easy check-out. Not the best hotel (you get what you pay for), not close to town but suited our purpose. Would use it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saydelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

On arrival we were met by a friendly receptionist, always a good start. Our room was on the fourth floor and had a small balcony facing south across trees and fields with mountains to the east and the beach and sea to the west, although these are mostly hidden behind the trees. The hotel has free transport to the town and airport terminals, and other places on the way, which include the bus terminal and railway station. The location is close to the very long beach, which has lots of local eating establishments and a nice park. It is also quite close to the domestic air terminal, which handles all Air Asia flights as well.
On the down side, the complementary breakfast is somewhat basic and can be a long time coming, although this seems to be standard for the smaller hotels an many parts of Asia; and laundry has to be taken to the nearby town, which the hotel no longer do for you.
Free WiFi is available in the reception area.
We would probably stay there again but it would be nice to have a more substantial breakfast with choice of Asian menu also.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legazpi, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Heres a straight forward review on this hotel.
Casuarina Hotel Kota Kinabalu is quite an old hotel BUT a well-maintained hotel. Its not that old old old hotel but its the best reasonably priced hotel that is very near Tanjung Aru beach (or sometimes called as the First Beach). You can go to the beach by a mere 5-minute walk. At Tanjung Aru beach you can Jog or stroll along the stretch of sandy beach in the mornings and romantic evenings. Enjoy the sunset and sea breeze.Dine at the various hawker stalls and open-air seafood restaurant, or quench your thirst at the coconut stalls. Try out the pickled fruits and other local snacks sold at the roadside facing the beach bus stop. Good play ground for kids too. This hotel is in the same street as the Borneo BeacHouse ( a backpacker's choice of accomodation)

The lobby is nice and clean , reception staffs are very cordial, friendly and are always ready to assist you. The restaurant serves good quality food at a very fair price. Breakfast is usually at RM8.00 + taxes (RM9.20) a choice of either American breakfast (2-hotdogs, sunny side up egg, baked beans, rice and coffee) or Beef rendang (which I like so much) or chicken curry (nice one too) or a continental breakfast (a toast, egg, baked beans). The restaurant usually opens at 6:30am and so if you have an early flight, I guess you just have to buy food at the airport.

The hotel is very near the Airport (terminal 1) its a matter of a 10-minute walk from the hotel. But why bother when the hotel offers you a free shuttle from the hotel to the airport.

One good thing about this hotel is that they offer a free shuttle service from Hotel to downtown -- dropping you off at the city's CENTER POINT shopping area. However, its services is only twice in the morning. Leaving the hotel at 9:00am and at 11:00am. Going back to the hotel is at your own expense. By taxi around RM12.

And now, what about the rooms? The rooms are typical rooms of any 2 or 3-star hotel. We stayed in a twin room with balcony. Expect clean sheets and pillow cases, nice comfy beds. The bathroom is fairly clean but you can see traces of some stains and rust due to being old but still functional bathroom fixtures. Hot water is good and water supply is just enough to complete your bath. However, the downside of these nice things is the carpet in the hotel corridors and in the rooms that pretty smell moldy due so many factors. But I guess you will get used to it once you're inside your room and get a goodnight sleep.

Over-all I can say that this hotel is a must for any budget and not so fuzzy traveler like me. So If you want a nice, decent and reasonably price hotel then this is for you.

Have a nice and safe trip!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ricoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

rooms were ok tv reception terrible., breakfast really boring ie 1 fried egg 2 x toast, baked beans and dry sausages and packet coffee with creamer and no milk. They did have other items on the menu but you had to pay for anything different. did not try any other meals. Staff were accomodating enough but seemed rather aloof at times especially the restaurant man.
Good for a short stay or for transit travellers as close to airport. The beach was 5 min walk away and very nice at sunset and also had a great eating market with plenty of variety and obviously a favourite with the locals. The other restaurants on the beach were not very enticing as per food as mostly western ie fish and chips etc. alue for money if travelling as a couple apart from the breakfast. $36 aud per night for a standard double with b/fast-free shuttle into KK ...when the driver was ready..

Room Tip: rooms on the north side get hot sun all day but have a better view from the small balconies. south s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shardyYorkWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed there for 1N to catch my early morning flight from KKIA T2...breakfast coupon stated starting time of 0730 for breakfast. Waited for 15mins from 0730 and restaurant still closed.

Double room given was okay, only bed lighting not functioning and toilet bowl was not flushed upon entering room. TV signal quality aren't that good.

Good points: quiet, nearby restaurants and Perdana Park Jogging track, only 10mins walk to airport.

Overall, below average value for the price i paid via Agoda: RM115.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madelene_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

After making an error in my hotel booking, I was left stranded in kota kinabalu airport. I managed to walk to this hotel from the domestic terminal (about ten minutes), tho not ideal with a large case. The staff were endlessly helpful opening the restaurant for me and cooking me a meal themselves, even though I had no cash to pay them. The hotel itself was pretty and in a lovely green, open setting. So different from the downtown area. the rooms were spacious and clean, if a bit tired and the pillows were soft. The cost of $37 for the night was very reasonable and I could recommend this hotel for a stopover, much nicer than the downtown hotel I stayed at on the way over and much cheaper, plus no taxi hassles as I have had previously. Thank you so much to all the staff who made my stay so pleasant in what could have been awkward circumstances, you were lovely!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 255097Wendy_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
0.6 mi away
The Crown Borneo Hotel
The Crown Borneo Hotel
#67 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Megah D'Aru Hotel
Megah D'Aru Hotel
#34 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
55 reviews
3.8 mi away
Putatan Platinum Hotel
Putatan Platinum Hotel
#2 of 2 in Putatan
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Asiana Hotel
Asiana Hotel
#40 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hin Loi Guesthouse
Hin Loi Guesthouse
#54 of 104 in Kota Kinabalu
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
C'haya Hotel
C'haya Hotel
#3 of 81 in Kota Kinabalu
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel

Property: Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel
Address: Lorong Ikan Lais | Jalan Mat Salleh, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Casuarina Tanjung Aru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing