We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice ambiance”
Review of La Fuente - CLOSED

La Fuente
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“nice ambiance”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

nice ambiance, nice finger food, but not cheap. like the free drink for ladies every tuesday. but also like their wine and cocktail selection

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank almostnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice surrounding. Love the music and the decoration.”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I went there to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The waiter was nice and friendly. They give us free tiramisu cake for the occasion. The pasta was a little bit oily but still nice. We went there on Thursday, which is ladies night. I get free drink (red sangria). Very good experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethjmosikul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The food was pretty good, the service was a tad too enthusiastic, they offered board games for the kids to play with, music a tad too loud. Overall, not a bad experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pingviner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice but cosy”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

The food is great but it's a letter cosy. Been here to treat my friend birthday dinner. Average around rm 40-60 per person. The food choices is limited.
The environment are great. They divided for smoking area and non smoking area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kingpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in 1B. Must try their paella!!”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Having actually been to Spain and had proper tapas, I wasn't expecting much from this place. Not to mention that it didn't look overly promising, considering there weren't very many patrons there. However, since my partner had never EVER had Spanish food, he was keen to try something different.

I'll have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

I absolutely LOVED their paella. It seemed a tad bit soggy, but the taste was definitely authentic. It would even beat some of the places in Spain that served paella! Plenty of seafood and just perfect. Well worth the wait, that's for sure. By the time the paella came out, we were actually stuffed from all the tapas, we didn't think we could finish it. But it was just so good we cleaned out the wok in no time. We actually surprised ourselves in doing that.

We tried their set tapas which included (for the life of me I can't remember their Spanish names, so I'll just go with describing the dishes)
1- chilli prawns - actually tasted pretty good although the prawns werent very big. more like prawns cooked w garlic, oil and dried chilli.
2- potatoes w garlic mayonnaise. AWESOME possum stuff. I have a thing for mayonnaise, so this was just perfect. The mayo had a garlicky, lemony twang to it that tasted simply... YUM.
3- chicken w ? Garlic? - didn't leave too much of an impression. Very meh.

Didn't quite like the mushroom soup. Was only so-so. I think their pumpkin soup was much better.

Overall, left this place with good vibes. Will definitely recommend this place to others - must try! Will be back to try their other dishes, that's for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElusiveLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fuente also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing