We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean hostel to stay within a bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
1 review
“clean hostel to stay within a bargain”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

the hostel is not that big but a great bargain for the price to stay.everyday they clean your beddings and you've got two pillows.very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eidmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    23
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
2
10
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2011

My fiance and I stayed there for a couple of nights. The rooms are newly renovated. The place is clean, comfort room's spacious, and the pantry area will make you feel at home. It has perfect location as it's in the corner of Gaya St where you'll see great finds and cheap local products.

Enjoy your stay in Sensi!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailsfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Went to KK for 3 days. Stay here 2nd nite. Place is nicee, good service, clean, feel homey. Will come back next time.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights for less than 100 RM. The place is very tidy. My first time to use a common bathroom. It wasn't bad at all. Free bread and water at the common area with jam and coffee. The location is at Gaya St. Which was more than perfect. I almost don't want to let you know, this is a great steal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimeCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Korea
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This is a fairly new hostel right at the heart of the Sunday Market and a good location for walking anywhere in KK. The dorms are nice, and they give you two comfy pillows! Bathrooms are clean. The Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsfadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed at the Blue Ocean Lodge on two different occasions. The first time we spent 5 nights there. The first two nights of that stay were in the double deluxe room (for 55 RM per night) and the other 3 were in the family room (75 RM per night) as a friend met up with my husband an I. The three of us returned about a week later to stay in the family room again for 2 nights. Both rooms had a/c and they didn't limit it to 12 hours of usage like a lot of other places in town.

The double deluxe was comfortable and large. There was even a wardrobe, a clock on the wall and the sheets were green rather than the typical threadbare white we had everywhere else. The family room had one set of bunk beds and two single beds as well. That room was a little more of your standard hostel-style comfort but it worked. The bathrooms were usually quite clean and the common room had a comfy couch with plenty of channels to keep you entertained while it poured outside. The breakfast was the usual toast and tea/coffee.

There were 3 people who worked there and each one of them was great to chat with and they always tried to give any advice that they could.

The one downside is if the hostel was crowded, the common room just wasn't large enough for a lot of people at once. Lucky for us, we often had the place to ourselves. There is a small fridge you can keep things in as well.

The location is great - right off Gaya street so walking distance to anything you need. They have a market on Sundays down Gaya street so you're right in the middle of it then.

The wireles internet was free but we could only get it to work if we were downstairs in the reception area so we couldn't use it in the common room or our room. The hostel feels very secure and the front door is always locked - but there's always someone to let you in or they can give you the code to get in.

We stayed at a few different places in Kota Kinabalu and if I was on another budget visit, I would definitely return to the Blue Ocean Lodge over any other ones we saw and stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

After having spent my first night in a small hotel, I decided to move the next morning and just happend to walk into Globetrotter's Lodge. It's very centrally located, near Australia Place. The rates are the usual, and although the lounge has a TV, cold drinking water (free of charge), a toaster and an electric jug (free tea and coffee), there is no kitchen. However, that's not really a problem, since all the local restaurants offer "take away". So if you don't want to join the locals, just bring your food back to the hostel. The cost of food is so low, you would not save much cooking your own food anyway. The walls between rooms are a little thin, so if you have noisy neighbours that could be a problem. Seperate bathrooms for males/females, each with two toilets and two hot water showers. The owner/staff are very friendly and helpful, and DON'T push you into booking any tours, as some of the larger hostels do. I am currently on my 2nd stay here, and will be back again after visiting Sepilok.

  • Liked — apart from the friendly staff, there is FREE WIFI internet access available
  • Disliked — the only thing was the thin wall, with 3 teenage boys in the dorm nex door :-))
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank widder47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#22 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#2 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bunk Gaya Street
The Bunk Gaya Street
#13 of 99 in Kota Kinabalu
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Backpackers Hostel

Property: Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Address: Lot No 103 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sensi Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensi Backpackers Hostel is a cozy hostel located right in the heart of Gaya Street, in the city of Kota Kinabalu Sabah, Malaysia. Our hostel is dedicated for budget travelers who prefer quiet and unique atmosphere. Cleanliness is our top priority. Our staff is friendly and understands the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sensi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing