We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended super good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 12 August 2012

verry clean and verry hard wworking staf.

AND FINALLY No Bed BUGS they have a special machine to kill the bed bugs guist bring from outsite other hotels I never see before a machine like this before in any other hotel. The hardworking staff even clean the shower room with steam machine.

The hostel served fresh fruit whole day. Simple breakfast with coffee even all that was for free. so i put RM20 in the tip box. i hope i can find more hostel like this on my jorney.

Room Tip: MYR30/pax is very good for the quality
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjamin0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Sensi Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Strategic location with friendly and helpful staff. The room is clean and very thoughtful power extensions available as we have booked this room for 6 person. Wifi is available with decent speed. Facilities wise, the dorms have big lockers, the communal room is equipped with water cooler/heater, TV with Astro and there is fruit placed on the bowl being replenished frequently.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chenwenxiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

As of 2nd July, 2012. room 7 was completely infested with bed bugs. We had to wash all our clothing, and throw away our backpacks.

It looked very clean and tidy, and i'm sure it is usually a really nice place. But the bugs didn't come with us, they were big suckers, all over the bunks and carpet, weeks worth of infestation. We had to leave in the middle of the night, and seek out a hotel room with a bath tub so we could throw everything into it.

It was definitely bed bugs, no doubt about it, the were fully grown adults, and i squashed a dozen or so. Exactly like the pictures on the internet.

I hope they will get it fumigated.

The staff refunded us the money, but it became an expensive 24 hours, that's for sure.

Room Tip: What can you really do? Bed Bugs only come out at night.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R_Kitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Good location, friendly and caring staff. After traveling a bit in Malaysia, i noticed that this hostel was way cleaner and nicer than the other places i've been so far.

The place s superb. Good breakfast and a bowl of fruits to eat anytime you like. Wifi connection is good. Dorms have big lockers. And it is located in the very center. On sunday's there's a street market right in front of the hostel. And all the rooms have aircon

Only thing is that TripAdvisor price suggestion was not correct. You can not stay there for 18-26 RM. The prices start 30RM(25 if you haggle a few day discount) for a dorm room. Although it was well worth it

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merivee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Sensi Backpackers is a lovely hostel and the staff are incredibly kind and friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable (amazing pillows!) with good a/c and spotlessly clean. It is in a very good location too. I loved the fruit bowl provided in the communal room, which is also a great place to sit around in. Free, cold filtered water too was brilliant and free hot drinks. There is also Wi-Fi and hot showers. We stayed here a few times and it was great everytime! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed in Sensi Backpackers several times when coming to Kota Kinabalu. It is centrally located and just outside in Gaya Street you will find a lot of restaurants and to eat. Supermarkets and smaller shops are nearby. The hostel itself is very clean and the staff helpful and friendly. I just loved the superclean common bathrooms, the nice hot shower and the comfy mattresses. The common area/kitchen is a good place to meet other travelers and there is water and hot drinks for free. Breakfast was a nice change to other places in Borneo, with fresh fruit and a bigger variety of spreads for your toast. Enjoy your stay, I definitively did and will come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinaWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

the hostel is not that big but a great bargain for the price to stay.everyday they clean your beddings and you've got two pillows.very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eidmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#16 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mandarin Hotel
Mandarin Hotel
#13 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#4 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masada Backpacker
Masada Backpacker
#1 of 105 in Kota Kinabalu
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Backpackers Hostel

Address: Lot No 103 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £8 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sensi Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensi Backpackers Hostel is a cozy hostel located right in the heart of Gaya Street, in the city of Kota Kinabalu Sabah, Malaysia. Our hostel is dedicated for budget travelers who prefer quiet and unique atmosphere. Cleanliness is our top priority. Our staff is friendly and understands the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sensi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing