We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean, Lovely Place, Highly Recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Lovely Place, Highly Recommend.”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was a fab hostel's Kota Kinabalu. Very very clean and very comfortable. The staff are lovely and very helpful. It's very secure with a code on the door. Only has a couple of dorm's and a few room's so book in advance. Definitely the best hostel in KK.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekkieboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
2
10
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sensi hostel for about a week and it was awesome. The beds are super comfy, proper mattresses with two plump pillows give a great nights sleep. Breakfast is good and included; decent bread with jam. The toilets and showers are very clean with room next to it to do your laundry. The location is great, super central. Already recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, T'ai-pei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Clean is the most important thing when we choose a place to stay, we saw 4-5 old , dark , not clean hostels in the rain and finally we found Sensi.
The location is good, 10 mins to money exchange, 10 mins to bus station , 3 mins to main road by foot. Staff there are nice to introduce the place to go, and clean the bed everyday.It cost RM200/bed/night ,suitable for backpackers!

第一天我們在大雨中找了幾家說實在有點可怕的hostel,才在想說難不成要住在黑黑舊舊連兩百元台幣都不想付的環境裡嗎?找到Sensi後我們立刻到附近的wesma換錢然後付錢住下,因為乾淨便宜CP值高,一晚不到200台幣還附早餐太划算!

外出乾淨最重要,它的地點位於Gaya街上,算是市區熱鬧的區域,所以若是周六晚上並不建議住這條街,因為街上的店家周末營業時間較晚,音樂吵雜,加上Gaya街著名的是周日市集,所以許多攤商在半夜三四點已經開始準備擺攤,若是早睡早起的包包們恐怕會受不了,但平日相當推薦。

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

[our room had AC but no windows. Breakfast looked yummy, but we left at midnight...]

We stayed at Borneo Backpackers and Sensi Backpackers Hostel in KK. In both, we were awoken by biting bedbugs and checked out of our private rooms without paying. While wondering around (after midnight), we found that MANY of the guesthouses in the "ghetto" had bedbug problems (i.e., we asked them if they had bedbugs and they said "not recently" -- often while diverting their eyes). We ended up at the Gaya Centre Hotel (no bugs and more stars but double the price after a Trip Advisor discount that the staff helped us get).

It seems to be an open secret among guesthouse staff that KK has bedbug problems (does "high turnover" in the LP description of these places mean "bedbugs"?). They typically say "someone stayed here from the jungle," but the problem is OLD mattresses and inadequate cleaning.

They seem to hope that backpackers will ignore the problem and/or get lucky.

This is NOT acceptable.

So, I suggest that you ask about bedbugs BEFORE you check in, check mattresses BEFORE you sleep and leave bad reviews (here and on travel sites) about places that have bedbugs. They are not going to fix the problem until guest numbers drop.

Room Tip: Watch out for bedbugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

verry clean and verry hard wworking staf.

AND FINALLY No Bed BUGS they have a special machine to kill the bed bugs guist bring from outsite other hotels I never see before a machine like this before in any other hotel. The hardworking staff even clean the shower room with steam machine.

The hostel served fresh fruit whole day. Simple breakfast with coffee even all that was for free. so i put RM20 in the tip box. i hope i can find more hostel like this on my jorney.

Room Tip: MYR30/pax is very good for the quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Strategic location with friendly and helpful staff. The room is clean and very thoughtful power extensions available as we have booked this room for 6 person. Wifi is available with decent speed. Facilities wise, the dorms have big lockers, the communal room is equipped with water cooler/heater, TV with Astro and there is fruit placed on the bowl being replenished frequently.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chenwenxiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

As of 2nd July, 2012. room 7 was completely infested with bed bugs. We had to wash all our clothing, and throw away our backpacks.

It looked very clean and tidy, and i'm sure it is usually a really nice place. But the bugs didn't come with us, they were big suckers, all over the bunks and carpet, weeks worth of infestation. We had to leave in the middle of the night, and seek out a hotel room with a bath tub so we could throw everything into it.

It was definitely bed bugs, no doubt about it, the were fully grown adults, and i squashed a dozen or so. Exactly like the pictures on the internet.

I hope they will get it fumigated.

The staff refunded us the money, but it became an expensive 24 hours, that's for sure.

Room Tip: What can you really do? Bed Bugs only come out at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_Kitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KK Suites Hotel
KK Suites Hotel
#32 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bunk Gaya Street
The Bunk Gaya Street
#16 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jesselton Cabin
Jesselton Cabin
#21 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Backpackers Hostel

Property: Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Address: Lot No 103 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sensi Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensi Backpackers Hostel is a cozy hostel located right in the heart of Gaya Street, in the city of Kota Kinabalu Sabah, Malaysia. Our hostel is dedicated for budget travelers who prefer quiet and unique atmosphere. Cleanliness is our top priority. Our staff is friendly and understands the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing