We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Nice place to stay. Stayed in a single room enough for four pax for RM120 a night. Close to cafe and eating place. If you like indian food, located just next door and a pharmacy just across the street.

Room Tip: Breakfast, tea n coffee provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethpeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    6
    6
    9
See reviews for
2
10
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We didn't stay as when we arrived with our booking.com booking ready we were told the place was overbooked and they didn't know about the booking done 2-3 days before. The lady at reception seemed clueless what to do and just kept saying there is no space. After getting the owner on the phone she apologised and we were offered help to find another hostel. The lady tried to help, but couldn't find anything by phone so we decided to try ourselves eventually.

The first impression of reception, signage etc was ok, shame the bookings weren't managed well

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkManama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed in Sensi hostel for a week in May with my mum and sister. Honestly, the best and most beautiful hostel i ever stayed. Very clean - thanks to few ladies working there, always keeping place clean and tidy. Never had any issues. Staff very helpful, nice and smiling. I think the owner should really take care of them and give them the pay rise, fully deserved :)

Room Tip: any room is a good room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agni2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay at Sensi - we walked in off the street and were lucky to find they had one room free. Room was spacious with a bunk bed and a double bed. Sheets and towels spotless and fresh.
Shared bathroom facilities very clean and good hot shower!

Kitchen area very nice with free tea/coffee.

Compared to another hostel in kk we stayed in, Sensi was great value for money - RM69 for the room for 1 night.

Staff were friendly and excellent, and booked us an early morning taxi to the airport. They were up at 5am cleaning the showers and kitchen so work very hard!

Very impressed overall. If you're looking for a well priced, well located clean hostel, look no further!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliotAndSyeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siquijor Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 99 dorm room and was very pleased as on the surface it appeared spotless.

I awoke that night with bugs crawling over me and full of my own blood. Luckily there were two free beds and I switched beds. In the morning we confronted the receptionist (owner?) About it and she complained about how often she had to clean matresses and that backpackers bring them in. She didn't apologise, she didn't offer us any sympathy.

It cost me more than a dorm bed to wash my "infected clothing" at the highest temperatures and is the reason i now keep my bags zipped and away from any dorm beds

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for a few nights, ended up staying longer. Really helpful staff, good banter! Right in town, easy to find and comfortable place to stay, plus no curfew like some of the places round here so watch out for that when finding a place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. We arrived about 3 am due to some flight delays and was surprised when the receptionist woke up when we buzzed the front desk (sorry for waking you up maam :D ). Supposed to have a bunk bed reserved but we're told they booked the night thinking we're not gonna arrive anymore but its ok because we were told they can check us in somewhere else. Decided not to take the room in the other hostel and just wait for a couple of hours because some backpackers are leaving early in the morning for a hike and we can check-in immediately after they left - good thing that there is a 24 hour cheap restaurant beside so that's where we spent waiting.

Breakfast of toast with Jam and Peanut butter included plus coffee and tea all you want, bathrooms are clean, aircon is cool, beds are comfortable, common area has tv with cable (this is where you will eat breakfast as well), lockers available (though not very big) - and bring your own padlock to be safe. Wifi is fast and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

The location is nice as it is only a few minutes walk to the jetty port, some malls, money exchange, and cheap restaurants/coffee houses. It will be a bit noisy on sunday morning as the hostel is right where the sunday market is located. For me that is actually convenient since if you end up buying a lot on the market then you can bring the stuff you bought back to the room easily and continue on with your day.

You are definitely getting more than what you paid for here, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swishpaul41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capital
Hotel Capital
#17 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bunk Gaya Street
The Bunk Gaya Street
#16 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fat Rhino Hostel
Fat Rhino Hostel
#3 of 98 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensi Backpackers Hostel

Property: Sensi Backpackers Hostel
Address: Lot No 103 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sensi Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensi Backpackers Hostel is a cozy hostel located right in the heart of Gaya Street, in the city of Kota Kinabalu Sabah, Malaysia. Our hostel is dedicated for budget travelers who prefer quiet and unique atmosphere. Cleanliness is our top priority. Our staff is friendly and understands the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing