We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A & J Bedbug Hotel”
Review of A & J Budget Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A & J Budget Hotel
Ranked #84 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A & J Bedbug Hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This place is very much in the budget bracket. We are not too fazed by this and our family room was what we expected for 80 ringgit a night. The air con worked and a TV in the room. All good so far. However, on our 3rd and final night here the bedbugs hit us with a vengeance.

The kids got eaten so badly it was horrifying. The hotel know they have a problem but can't be bothered to address it. What you may save by staying at this place you will probably spend on cortisone cream and loratidine. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redburrowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
3
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

For this price is perfect.
Cheap like cheap.
LOCATION , LOCATION , LOCATION IS GREAT!!!
The stuffs and manager - PETER is very helpful all the time. He will take care of everything what you need it!!!
I will come back there again!
Arkadiusz.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arkadiusz z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We had a terrible experience. The room was not clean up. The rubbish are everywhere. No towels provided till we asked for it. Water heater not functioning. It could be too hot and it's looking very old type. I would not recommend this hotel to a family vacation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossazleny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kota Kinabalu hotels

Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, they didn't have the booked room for us that we booked online so they gave us another room for 10 RM plus. On the next day we got the room that we booked but in this room we had bed bugs and the water heater was not working!!! So we had bed bug bites and had to pay for a lot of medicine for which the hotel refused to pay. After this we got another room where we found a cockroach and used tissues of the previous visitors. To continue the manager is very rude and all of their staff doesn't speak English that well or not at all. All in all it was one of the most terrible places to stay and really not enjoyable! If you want to enjoy Kota Kinabalu don't spend you stay in this hotel because it will ruin it!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I found this BUDGET hotel MUCH better than some of the budget hotels I have stayed in. The place looks a bit Budget from the outside and the stairs up to both the reception and the rooms. The Noise from the surrounding streets is off putting however...... Once you enter your room the noise is gone the rooms are a good size for a budget hotel and they are very clean. The Beds are VERY comfy.
It is close to Kota Kinabalu shops (5 minutes walk) and there is a market set up at nights at the front door of the hotel.

The Wifi on the 3rd floor was not working but I just went to the second floor and stole their connection. :)

The bathroom was VERY clean. 2 words of warning. 1: My room had no Toilet Paper provided in the room 2: they did not provide a towel for you to use after your shower.

Given the chance I WOULD stay here again for the Price and location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GOLDTOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights in a double room. Everything in my room was old and dirty. There were two leaking pipes in my en suite bathroom which dripped relentlessly. There was also a hole to the ceiling in my bathroom. The walls were cracked and the window looked like it had never even heard of cleanliness.

The room comes advertised with TV in the room. The TV is an old, tiny cathode ray TV with poor signal. The TV was smaller than my tablet.

The air conditioning barely worked at all. I'm not sure I saw any benefit from having it on.

All the corners of the room are filled with grime. The general level of cleanliness is just dire.

On the second day, a rat scurried past me as I was standing outside my hotel room.

If you're looking for a budget hotel in KK, don't even consider this one.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaSnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I went to Kota Kinabalu from 19th to 22nd September 2013. The weather was clear and we got to view the low peak of Mount Kinabalu all the time. On the 2nd day there, we moved from Kundasang Inn to A&J budget hotel. Because there's 5 of us, we decided to take a family room. Actually the room can fit almost 8pax, but comfortable number will be 5 to 6. In the room, there's 1 double decker queen bed (yeah! you've read it right) and 1 double decker single bed. But the queen bed, is large that you can squeeze 3 person comfortably. But the downside of having to many occupant in 1 single room is the bathroom. Even though you can say 'sharing is caring', in case of toilet or bathroom, it is no more caring especially when you need to urgently emptied your bowel.

Room Tip: Choose room with window. It really helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raihanrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.4 mi away
Story Tel
Story Tel
#38 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Switz Paradise Hotel
Switz Paradise Hotel
#74 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#46 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
D'Borneo Hotel
D'Borneo Hotel
#58 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#47 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Street Inn
High Street Inn
#60 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A & J Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A & J Budget Hotel

Property: A & J Budget Hotel
Address: No. 8 Tingkat 1,2 &3, Block M | Sinsuran Complex Jalan 19,, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A & J Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your A & J Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing