We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good night”
Review of Flames

Flames
Ranked #358 of 572 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: US$10 - US$150
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Flames Steak Restaurant opens daily, and is Kota Kinabalu's only international steak restaurant that caters to fine diners during lunch and dinner from 12pm - 2.30pm and 6.30pm - 10pm. Flames' sophisticated concept of casual, stylish crafts a great quality of food, showcasing the chef's signature steaks, truly for the serious palates of Kota Kinabalu city's steak aficionados.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a good night”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We had high hopes for Flames. The steak arrived stone cold after an 1 hour 25 minute wait. The request for plain baked potato fell on deaf ears as the dish arrived covered in sour cream, onion and chives. Service was very disappointing and we ended up serving ourselves. Clearly not a good night fro the restaurant. The manager gave many of the tables large discounts, us included. Honestly, it's not about the discount we were looking forward to a really nice Saturday evening in Kota Kinabalu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkymarkandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Ribeye”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The complimentary bread served was normal but the dipping or spread was great. I love the tuna spread for it was very moistened and fresh; I like the butter spread as well.

I tried the fish head consommé with prawn tortellini. It was not really consommé as per say due to the generous amount of fat floating on the soup. The prawn tortellini had slightly thick skin but prawn was fresh. The fish head was very tender. The soup tasted great but perhaps not a consommé.

Boyfriend and I shared 220g Black Angus Ribeye with caramel balsamic shallot juice, cooked medium rare. It was super lovely; it presented almost no resistance but firm enough to hold itself together; so tender and so juicy that almost no sauce is needed but the sauce was igniting what it has got to offer.

We ordered seared portobello and garlic mash potato to go with our steak. The portobello was very juicy and flavorful but a little too small. The mash was lovely and couldn't go wrong.

Our dinner was lovely. However, when we wanted to pay our bill, instead of 50%, we were told that we were only entitled to 30% with SPG card. Bewildered but we paid it anyway because the food was good. Boyfriend cleverly asked for complimentary dessert from manager due to the misunderstanding and it took them more than 10 minutes to send us the chocolate coated strawberries which we suspected that it was taken from the buffet spread.

Too bad I did not get to enjoy the swimming steak in my tummy for long as I started puking at 10pm as I was about to sleep. I suspected it was the strawberries.

Actually we were right about the 50%. For SPG cardmember, you are entitled to 50% discount when dining in two in all SPG restaurants, including Flames. We managed to get full refund for it and had free dinner :D

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hitomi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mediocre experience but nice steak.”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Had dinner here with our family. Service was ok but not excellent. My steak was fantastic but my husband's was just alright. The worst thing though was my daughter getting food poisoning from the juice (the only thing she had the entire day that wasn't shared with someone else). Sorry, can't recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“fantastic dinner”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we hada fabulous experience at a fantastic restaurant. the meals were great and the setting was wonderful. the pricing was higher than some other restaurants but you get what you pay for. dinner and drinks for 5, two entree's, 5 main courses,sides and one dessert, beer and soft drinks, total price about $40 aussie dollars per head,

well worth it especially as a celebration dinner

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best steak!!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

if you are looking for a quality restaurant in KK and steak is your thing than recommend a visit here!Of course It is a little more expensive than the roadside eating places of KK however so worth it! We had steaks which were the best ever and the service was friendly and professional. Loved the presentation of the food and the decor of the dining area. Large cream leather arm chairs and dim lighting which was very relaxing. The manager even provided a clip on light for the menu! Menu consisted of other choices aswell and a fellow guest said the salmon was delicious also. After our meal we sat in the lounge area and listened to the resident singing group of the Le meridien hotel who are non intrusive but provide excellent entertainment. We thoroughly enjoyed our after dinner cocktails served again by lovely staff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindsayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flames also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Flames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing