We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable n comfortable stay at New Horizon hotel in kk”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable n comfortable stay at New Horizon hotel in kk”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was looking for a place to stay for my visit to kk in January 2012. I must say that comfortable lodging in KK can be quite expensive.

Then we came across Horizon hotel along Jalan Pantai. As it is not fully opened yet and have limited rooms, we pounced on the chance to book direct with the hotel for our stay. Our decision was made after viewing the rooms n comments made on TA. Furthermore, the rates are reasonable n very centrally located.

Gaya sunday market is just at the opposite street. Centerpoint is 10 mins walk. Central market n filipino market is also 10 mins walk n the new Suria Sabah shopping mall is 5 mins walk. Theres alot of chinese coffeshop infront of the hotel along jalan pantai n jln gaya. I only come across 2 stall in the coffeshop that served halal food. So for muslims, food around the hotel can be hard to find. We arrived in kk at 8pm n most of the shops around the area are closed. There is a link bridge behind the hotel that is linked to KK plaza n central market.

Horizon is a 13 storey hotel located along Jalan Pantai infont of General post office. They have 2 restaurant at the lobby n 4 levels of carpark. The outdoor swimming pool n gym are located on the 6th floor n rooms are located from 7th to 13 th floor. We book for deluxe king room n was given the junior king suite room on the 13th floor.

The room was spacious with nice bathroom. The unique design of the room is that the washing basin n bathtub are located outside the bathroom. The room will comfortable accomodate a family of 4. There are long sofa placed along the glass window overlooking Atkinson clock tower.

Overall, we are very happy with our stay ay the hotel. It just makes us just want to stay in the room n not go out. Breakfast was ok. Theres a choices of American n local delights like eggs, sausage, nasi lemak n mee goreng. Our stay will be complete if only the spa at the hotel is open.

I will definitely be staying at horizon hotel if i were to visir kota kinabalu again......

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w4ss4p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    412
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
327
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2011

First impression was enough for me to check in..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lx2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Newly opened place. We got special offered through a local friend. All in all a great stay. Watch out though. They have used budget materials throughout the whole place. Locks already rusting, vineer falling off the cabinets after only a few weeks. Unless serious money is spent on maintenance the coming years his place will be run down quickly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwei10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We heard about the hotel from a friend living in KK and decided to book our stay there. The hotel is brand new and only three floors are open at this stage for accommodation. The rooms are very nicely appointed and have nice water views on one side. We found the service exceptionally good and staff extremely helpful. They have two restaurants (the coffee shop and an Asian Restaurant), both of which serve fabulous food. The variety is superb. We did not make use of the spa, only because we ran out of time. However, we imagine it would have been of the same high standard as the rest of the hotel facilities. The hotel is close to most attractions and just a street away from the Sunday Gaya Street Markets. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side of the hotel face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psych17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This ia a recently opened business class hotel offering a very attriative promotional rate until September 2011 of RM180 for a standard room including taxes and breakfasts. The hotel is not finished and some things do not work properly (the wifi did not work when we were there and the spa is not open) but the quality of the hotel is excellent, the position is central and it offers a pool and free parking. Service was willing but patchy but it was obviously still working up.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUC878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing