We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel with some challenges”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Vinterbro, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great new hotel with some challenges”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family with children aged 5 and 3 lived at Horizon Hotel from April 5-11 2012. We moved to Horizon after two nights in the Sabah Oriental Hotel, and coming to Horizon was a real energy boost for the whole family! Horizon is centrally located in a main street, across the street from the town hall.

From outside it looks like a large concrete building, but still with some cool design colourings. In the light and nice reception, there is a large horse lamp (!) that our children loved.

We were upgraded from superior to junior suite, a nice gesture for our 6 night stay. Our room 9006 was large, clean and with a giant island photo on one wall. It was quite nice just to sit and watch the interior and nice furniture of the room.

During our 7,5 months of travelling around the world, this is maybe the hotel with the best cleaning and housekeeping, with turn down service every afternoon, leaving chocolate and a poem on the bed. Charming!

We need internet access when travelling, and for the first couple of days our only option was a one meter long phone cabel, that gave us really slow internet. When complaining, we got a wifi box and the internet got very fast. Wonderful, but we should have been given this option in first hand.

We spent a couple of days in the pool on the 6th floor. This was a nice area, with a pool bar, a child pool and a quite large swimming pool. Here we got towels from the pool staff.

One day we decided to have lunch in the pool bar, but the waiter did not seem to understand our order. After almost 30 minutes we started to wait for our food, but then a waiter from the restaurant came and said that the pool man did not understand our order and we had to do it again. This was a bit frustrating, and we ended up waiting an hour before we got our food.

Breakfast in Horizon hotel is very good, with a wide selection of western and eastern food, different kinds of bread and fresh fruits. A challenge in busy periods is that the staff is more busy offering coffee and tea than to set the table. We sat there with food on our plates, but no knives, forks and coffee cups, waiting quite long while the staff were busy offering coffee.

We usually had dinner in this restaurant, called Deco. The food and service was excellent. One day we went to Asian on the same floor. The waitress did not understand that we ordered two instead of one serving, and could not explain the content of the different dishes. The chicken was not completely done and was pink inside...

We had to fill in forms in order to get an extra key to the room, which I have never experienced before. The same occured when we got a internet wire and the wifi box, but that is easier to understand.

All in all, a very nice design hotel with a lot of interesting details in their nice rooms. With more experience and language training for the staff, I'm sure it will be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: In our junior suite # 9006 there was more than enough space for ourselves and our children aged 5 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEGillesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    120
    28
    9
See reviews for
142
326
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A new hotel with great decor, nicely designed rooms/bathrooms, 2 restaurants on site and a refreshing swimming pool perfect after a long flight.
We booked a deluxe room and first impression was “this is cool...it’s quite small...but it’s cool!”. Bathroom was well designed and had a funky wooden plunge tub next to the shower. The bed is soft and comfortable and internet access is included with the room (via cable, beware if you only have Wifi enabled devices).
Breakfast buffet was above average with a nice mix of Western and Asian foods including fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, eggs , and shu mai.
The swimming pool was good (for an inner city hotel pool) with an infinity-like feel to it so you can look over the edge onto the city.
This hotel is functional and would be a great hotel for business stay or if you just needed a place to stay for a night. The location is in the CBD in an area you would not describe as ‘picturesque’ but its walking distance to markets and shopping. The views out to the South China Sea were great from our room on one of the upper floors. Close to lots of bars and restaurants.
If you are looking for a place to stay for a holiday you are better off booking somewhere closer to a beach (a resort style hotel). But as we were transiting through KK on the way to a wedding in Sandakan The Horizon was perfect as it was a great base to explore from, modern with good service.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room with sea view. Definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clintster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked a Deluxe Sea View. And the view at dusk, from our 12th floor room is certainly breath taking. The room is of good size, nice furnishings, very comfortable bed. We certainly love the round wooden bathtub and the rain shower is an interesting addition. There is no vanity mirror in the room and one has to go into the bathroom to use one. Perhaps the hotel can add this feature into the room itself. Location is fantastic as it sits right in the middle of the town itself....walkable distance from Gaya St market, Jesselton Jetty, the seaside night market and the Filipin market and numerous other attractions. Breakfast spread is good. The gym and pool looked good. The hotel is still in stages of completion. Once it does, we shall return.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room with sea view. Ask for the one with full length windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevelLingMinahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

A bit disappointing during my stay at Horizon Hotel. No doubt this is a new hotel, location is good, room is tidy. But the service is definitely not up to standard. The receptionist's attitude was poor when we checked in. I was told that one of my room was not ready and the receiptionist could not tell how long it would take to get the room ready.
Before my arrival when I made the reservation online, I had specifically mentioned that the room would be for 3 people, but when we got into the room, it's defniitely not prepared for 3 people. There was only one pair of slippers, 2 set of toothbrush, 2 breakfast vouchers, etc. When we called to ask for an extra slippers, the receptionist even questioned me back if there was no slippers in the room!!! Very unfriendly!! Perhaps the hotel is too new and the staffs still need more training to bring the hotel back to standard.
Otherwise, it is a nice hotel. The rooms are modern and stylish.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

- sea facing view at 9th floor is excellent. blue sea peeking between two towering building.
- room modern furnishings and well-equipped.
- excellent service by staff despite having a full house.
- lovely breakfast.

was here for business for 5 days and looking forward to future stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanazian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We only stayed here for one night but we really liked it. It was a clean new hotel with parking, a really stylish room and in walking distance to the night market. If I was to return to KK I would saty here again also getting to the airport from here was really simple.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

After choosing this hotel mainly from the reviews on TripAdvisor, and given that the reviews were mainly "Very Good", with some "Excellent"s, I found this hotel to be even better than expected.

What impressed me the most was that the hotel was only 8 months old and yet right in the centre of town-walking distance to all of the shopping centres and to Jesselton Point wharf.

Everything was clean, new, ultra modern and just lovely.

We were on the top floor which is one above 12. (Interestingly though, in the lifts it is called P and not 13, which is not uncommon in many hotels).

As mentioned in other reviews, the room was extremely well equipped with everything you could need, even an ironing board and iron. The decor is very tasteful throughout.
We had a pleasant inland view of the green landscape and the picture window at the lifts looked out over the ocean

Guests have 24 hour key card access to the business centre with free use of computers and printer (charge for printing).

The pool is on the 6th floor overlooking the town. The only downside being that there isn't a lot of seating in the pool area. The pool towels were thick and luxurious. There is also a well equipped gym looking out to the pool.

The international buffet breakfast had something to suit everyone and there was variety each day.
The hotel staff were all courteous and always very friendly
I would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Although the east facing room view was lovely, given the choice I would definitely opt for a high fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassie531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing