We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Calling all P Daddies!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Calling all P Daddies!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The reason for the title was that the room decor reminded us of a batchular pad theme – very male orientated!! You cannot fault the rooms – very clean, cool technology, fabulous bathrooms and all the facilities we could need. The location is great as you are close enough to walk to all the malls and Jefferson pier is only about 10RM away by taxi if needed. We ate at a lovely restaurant called Vanilla Chilli which is in the block to the right hand side of the hotel towards the pier which was brilliant as was the Itallian if you fancy a change to Malay. We can’t comment on the pool as it was shut for the whole time we were there – such a shame as this is partly why we booked this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EandG_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    395
    115
    26
    8
See reviews for
138
310
49
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights last week with my husband in junior suite 1306. It was spacious and had a tub in the room which was a first for me. Bliss. The rain shower was well designed.Bed was comfortable but the sheets seemed to have gone through many washes as it felt a little rough and not sleek and smooth. Free wifi is located in the lobby area. Decor along the corridor and in the rooms were more on the dark side. The corridors especially could use with more light.

Staff were friendly. Special mention to the kind waitress at the cafe where I had a yummy blackforest cake. I was short of 5 cents and she waived it. She may have topped it up herself. Thanks!

Hotel is conveniently located and during the weekend the market is just outside the hotel. Loved the Horse statue at the reception but not sure about the lamp shade on its head. =) Will consider coming back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gyyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My family and I stayed 3 nights from the 5th April in a deluxe sea view room on the 8th floor.
Horizon is centrally located in a main street, across the street from the Town hall, Gaya Sunday street markets, easy walking distance to Jesselton Jetty, Pilipino markets, wharf/seaside restaurants, seaside night markets and Suria Shopping centre.

From the outside it looks like a concrete building, inside it is very modern. Our room 8017 was clean, interior and furniture was very nice and had a photo of Mt Kinabalu peak on one wall, smallish size room but adequate. Shower was big with a rain shower in it, which our kids loved. Hotel is still not fully completed, no spa yet.

They only give you 1 room key, which means everybody has to leave the room when someone took the card and everybody has to come back with the card, which isn’t very practical. In order to get an extra key you have to fill in forms, which I have never experienced before; in all the hotels we have stayed at in all different parts of the world you always get 2 keys. The same occurred when we asked for internet wire; even though internet was free in rooms they didn’t have the wire in the room you had to request it.

Pool was on level 6 with a large infinity-like feel swimming pool, kid’s pool and pool bar. The let down is the pool takes up all the room so there isn’t much room for chairs. There were only 3 pool lounge chairs and 2 tables near the pool bar which is a couple of steps down from the pool.

Breakfast in Horizon hotel is good, with a wide selection of western and eastern food, different kinds of bread and fresh fruits, cereal etc.

I bumped into the Manager one day on my way back for the pool. He was very friendly and showed genuine interest in myself, where we had been, where we were from and how our stay so far had been. He gave me some tips on KK and what were the not to be missed places to see and do in Kota Kinabalu.

The only negative we have is one morning we were heading out and the quests staying directly across the hall from us had their door open and they were all smoking. We were very upset by this as we were on a NON Smoking level and we have 2 small children and we don’t want to be exposed to second hand smoke let alone have our children exposed to it.
When we got to reception I went and made a complaint about this. She advised me she would send housekeeping to speak to them and request they stopped smoking. I’m sure she did do this but the guest kept on smoking with the door closed. Because every time we opened our room door or went to our bathroom door we could smell smoke!
We did complain again about this but it is very hard for them to police things like this.
If you want to smoke you should book a smoking room and if the hotel does not have them stay somewhere else.
Given we were only staying 3 nights if our stay was longer I would of request to be moved or the smoking quest to be moved to another room!

All in all, a very nice new modern hotel, staff could do with some language training.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed last month in this hotel en route to the Rasa Ria and for one night before we got an early morning flight to Sandakan for a tour.
The hotel is very new and quite modern. Its fairly close to town (of which there's not that much to do - the sunset is the best part) - about a 10 minutes walk. The standard room and the upgraded room facing the ocean were both fine - quite funky inside and modern, were both clean with good facilities.... but the main (and major) downside really is the aircon. The rooms on both occasions didn't cool down below 26 degrees!! The breakfast is also very Chinese based.... which is fine but fish porridge isn't what you always fancy for breakfast. All in all a nice hotel for one night and food there (in the evening) was nice.... Oh and there's no spa either.... very weird.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinterbro, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family with children aged 5 and 3 lived at Horizon Hotel from April 5-11 2012. We moved to Horizon after two nights in the Sabah Oriental Hotel, and coming to Horizon was a real energy boost for the whole family! Horizon is centrally located in a main street, across the street from the town hall.

From outside it looks like a large concrete building, but still with some cool design colourings. In the light and nice reception, there is a large horse lamp (!) that our children loved.

We were upgraded from superior to junior suite, a nice gesture for our 6 night stay. Our room 9006 was large, clean and with a giant island photo on one wall. It was quite nice just to sit and watch the interior and nice furniture of the room.

During our 7,5 months of travelling around the world, this is maybe the hotel with the best cleaning and housekeeping, with turn down service every afternoon, leaving chocolate and a poem on the bed. Charming!

We need internet access when travelling, and for the first couple of days our only option was a one meter long phone cabel, that gave us really slow internet. When complaining, we got a wifi box and the internet got very fast. Wonderful, but we should have been given this option in first hand.

We spent a couple of days in the pool on the 6th floor. This was a nice area, with a pool bar, a child pool and a quite large swimming pool. Here we got towels from the pool staff.

One day we decided to have lunch in the pool bar, but the waiter did not seem to understand our order. After almost 30 minutes we started to wait for our food, but then a waiter from the restaurant came and said that the pool man did not understand our order and we had to do it again. This was a bit frustrating, and we ended up waiting an hour before we got our food.

Breakfast in Horizon hotel is very good, with a wide selection of western and eastern food, different kinds of bread and fresh fruits. A challenge in busy periods is that the staff is more busy offering coffee and tea than to set the table. We sat there with food on our plates, but no knives, forks and coffee cups, waiting quite long while the staff were busy offering coffee.

We usually had dinner in this restaurant, called Deco. The food and service was excellent. One day we went to Asian on the same floor. The waitress did not understand that we ordered two instead of one serving, and could not explain the content of the different dishes. The chicken was not completely done and was pink inside...

We had to fill in forms in order to get an extra key to the room, which I have never experienced before. The same occured when we got a internet wire and the wifi box, but that is easier to understand.

All in all, a very nice design hotel with a lot of interesting details in their nice rooms. With more experience and language training for the staff, I'm sure it will be an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: In our junior suite # 9006 there was more than enough space for ourselves and our children aged 5 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEGillesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

A new hotel with great decor, nicely designed rooms/bathrooms, 2 restaurants on site and a refreshing swimming pool perfect after a long flight.
We booked a deluxe room and first impression was “this is cool...it’s quite small...but it’s cool!”. Bathroom was well designed and had a funky wooden plunge tub next to the shower. The bed is soft and comfortable and internet access is included with the room (via cable, beware if you only have Wifi enabled devices).
Breakfast buffet was above average with a nice mix of Western and Asian foods including fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, eggs , and shu mai.
The swimming pool was good (for an inner city hotel pool) with an infinity-like feel to it so you can look over the edge onto the city.
This hotel is functional and would be a great hotel for business stay or if you just needed a place to stay for a night. The location is in the CBD in an area you would not describe as ‘picturesque’ but its walking distance to markets and shopping. The views out to the South China Sea were great from our room on one of the upper floors. Close to lots of bars and restaurants.
If you are looking for a place to stay for a holiday you are better off booking somewhere closer to a beach (a resort style hotel). But as we were transiting through KK on the way to a wedding in Sandakan The Horizon was perfect as it was a great base to explore from, modern with good service.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room with sea view. Definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clintster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked a Deluxe Sea View. And the view at dusk, from our 12th floor room is certainly breath taking. The room is of good size, nice furnishings, very comfortable bed. We certainly love the round wooden bathtub and the rain shower is an interesting addition. There is no vanity mirror in the room and one has to go into the bathroom to use one. Perhaps the hotel can add this feature into the room itself. Location is fantastic as it sits right in the middle of the town itself....walkable distance from Gaya St market, Jesselton Jetty, the seaside night market and the Filipin market and numerous other attractions. Breakfast spread is good. The gym and pool looked good. The hotel is still in stages of completion. Once it does, we shall return.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room with sea view. Ask for the one with full length windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevelLingMinahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#8 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotelopia, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing