We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, good location”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Trendy, good location”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights on 2 separate occasions. The rooms are new with some trendy design features, some which work, some which don't. The rooms are comfortable, decent in size with a good channel selection on the tv, however internet access wasn't free.

The bathroom on the second visit however had 2 glass panels in the wall next to the tv which meant that when lying on the bed watching tv you could see the toilet. Bit of an odd design feature, but apparently only in certain rooms.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They packed us a take away breakfast as our flight left before the restaurant downstairs opened, which was good.

The hotel is about a 5 min walk from the night market, which is a good place to get a cheap eat. We also ate at the restaurant downstairs (can't remember the name), which was quite tasty.

All in all, a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    410
    120
    28
    9
See reviews for
142
326
57
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We twanged to stay somewhere luxurious after our Mt Kinabalu climb and this place hit the spot. We turned up looking sweaty, dirty and dishevelled and no one batted an eyelid. We were given a free upgrade to the penthouse as we were on our honeymoon which certainly had the wow factor! Room luxurious with nice freestanding bath. AMAZING view, great pool with bar! Fantastic breakfast with a wide variety of dishes. Minor gripes - just 2 loungers by pool, noisy air con in rooms, no air con in corridors, weird lights in bedroom when earning you have to get out of bed to turn off. Overall FANTASTIC!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarahstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We found this hotel online whilst searching for a base whilst we travelled in Sabah. In total we stayed for 5 nights, checking in and out three times. On each occasion the hotel staff were courteous and efficient, happy to store a piece of luggage for us and offered to supply a 'packed breakfast' for our early (5am) departures.
We booked a deluxe room with terrace for each stay. This was on the 6th floor, overlooked the sea and was though minimalist in style was very comfortable. These rooms have a WC/large shower room, with the vanity unit and a bath tub in the bedroom. The terrace was a real bonus, with a small table and chairs, and teak loungers.
For our final stay we were upgraded to a suite on the 13th floor. This was light, spacious and well-equipped. The jacuzzi bath (big enough for two) was a very welcome extra - we'd just climbed Mt. Kinabalu.
Breakfast in the Deco Cafe & Bar offered plenty of Malaysian, Chinese and Western choice. The Asian Restaurant was a little disappointing, pleasant food but lacking in atmosphere and with patchy service.
For location the Horizon is hard to beat - in the heart of KK, no more than ten minutes walk from the markets, mall, restaurants and harbour.
Overall a very easy hotel to recommend to anyone visiting Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: The Deluxe with a sea view and terrace (6th floor) - lovely to have the outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee_Tour_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We booked 2 deluxe rooms, 1 room had 2 single beds and the other would be a double/king. Upon arrival, we were informed that there were only 2 deluxe rooms available, but both rooms will have single beds. They offered a different room for the entire stay but it would be a cityview room. What happened was on the 1st night, our companion stayed on a cityview room with double bed. The next night they were upgraded to a grand deluxe with seaview (the tub was an added treat, bcos initially this type of room wasn't available online). The downside was having to transfer rooms and all that, but our companion enjoyed the unexpected upgrade.

Wifi - There is wifi on the main lobby, restaurant but connection was poor on certain times. Unfortunately, no wifi in the room even if you want to pay for it.

Breakfast - I believe was limited, bcos so far this is the first hotel I've stayed in with no eggs station. The breakfast offering had the basics but would be better if they offered a bit more of the Malaysian food/more Asian food and had more for Western travellers. In short, breakfast can be improved.

Location - perfect! walking distance to some small restos, to Jesseltown port (maybe quite a walk for 15-20mins), Suriah Sabah, Wisma Merdeka, KK Waterfront, Filipino Market, etc. but quite far from 1BorneoMall

Housekeeping - needs improvement, there were days when the rooms weren't tidy, supplies weren't replenished and we had to ask for it

Bathroom - water pressure and temperature was okay! loved the rainshower! shower floor was surprisingly not slippery, loved this design.

Hotel - new and clean, great seaview

If I go back to KK, I'd probably stay here again .

Room Tip: get seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovedollygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days, our room was at the 9th floor facing the sea and the spectacular sunset. The room is quite nice, clean and comfortable. All fixtures are quite new, the shower room is big enough to splurge around thou ours didn't have a bathtub. There is a flat screen lcd tv, air conditioning has an adjustable thermostat and wi-fi capability in the room goes on and off.
The hotel is located about 15 minutes from the airport, 10 minutes from a bird sanctuary and about 30 minutes from the nearest zoo. Walking outside the hotel, you can find many small restaurants, bakeries, fast food chain and a supermarket. The seaport is a mere 10 minutes walk from the hotel, there are lots of seafoods to choose from and further you can find Jesselton Point, which is the starting point to exploring the different island beaches.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the sea and the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waltz1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hotel is new, clean, and the location is good. The hotel design and decoration is very chic, this small hotel simply looks like 5 Stars hotel. The infinity pool at the roof top is wonderful, one can relax while enjoying the view of nearby islands and busy street.

The broadband in the room is free, unlimited usage. There was quite a good mix of selection for breakfast. Staffs are very friendly. Very comfortable stay, like the bed and soft pillow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpeedHighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night as we were having a night out in KK and didn't fancy the journey back to the Rasa Ria where we were staying for the rest of the week. We were upgraded to a junior suite on the top floor, although unfortunately we didn't have a sea view. To be fair, for the amount of time we spent in the room, the view really didn't matter.

The room was clean and well furnished. The rainforest shower was good and the bathtub in the room was a nice touch. The decor in both the corridor and the room may not suit everyone but personally I quite liked it. The P Diddy reference in an earlier review is very apt.

The best thing about the hotel is it's location. It's slap bang in the middle of KK and within easy walking distance of all the shops and nightlife. It was no more than a 3 minute walk to stumble home from Shenanigans and less than 30 seconds to the Sunday morning market.

Breakfast was good, with a wide selection. We had a look at the pool but didn't use it. It's pretty small with no sunbathing area but, again, most guests won't be staying here for that.

Staff were friendly and courteous and I'd have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in KK. The only reason I've awarded 4 stars instead of 5 is that we spent the rest of the week in the Rasa Ria which is simply magnificent and I didn't feel it would be fair to award the same rating for both.

Room Tip: Views from the rear aren't particularly inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing