We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner and room facilities not provided as booked”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We booked the Horizon hotel at kota Kinabalu for 21 July 2012, for the special weekend promotion, the rate included 1 x complimentary dinner for 2 persons at the Asian Restaurant which we never received, we were downgraded to a room with less facilities and not the deluxe upgrade as booked and paid for.

We took a taxi to Suria Sabah costing RM10.00, we purchased dinner which cost me RM130.00 and a return taxi for RM10.00. There were no ironing facilities, no complimentary Wi Fi in the room only in the lobby, I had to use my own Modem, the room had two single beds and not one large bed and a single, no hairdryer and there was only one pair of slippers.

We even asked the desk clerk to talk to the manager who refused us dinner and the proper room.

Room Tip: I complained to the booking agent Agoda.com and am awaiting a reply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gram123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed at deluxe euroasia room at level 13. The room was fantastic with great set up and relaxing ambience. Great for business travellers as well as honeymooners. If u love bathtub, deluxe euroasia room is the best choice.

Normal deluxe room offers simple set up with wider space.

I will definely come back to try out junior suite!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I'm stayed in deluxe room only for 1 night. Room was spaces, comfort and clean. Althought hotel outlook rather old but inside still maintain well. Staff have prompt service and helpful. Buffet Breakfast was great and with lots of choices.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yngamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had two stays in this hotel. First for 2 nights with a view to the ocean and later on one more night with a view over the city towards the escarpment. The location is central to local markets and the waterfront seafood cafes.
Both rooms were a good size and the beds excellent. All staff were friendly and helpful. We particularly enjoyed our meals in the Deco Cafe and Braimim looked after us very well.
I would recommend this hotel to friends visiting Kota Kinabalu

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A friend and I recently spent 3 nights in the Horizon Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with the rooms and very happy with the beds which were fantastically comfortable. Bathroom was great with all modern comforts. What pleased us most about the Horizon was the staff. From the front desk to the restaurants everyone treated us as family. In fact we ate for all 3 nights in the Deco Bar restaurant as it was cheap with a wide range of foods including many local dishes. There is a happy hour between 5 and 7 pm and on one night we stayed for the buffet which included entertainment. We walked through the street stalls and meant to eat there but found we were perfectly happy with Horizon food. Horizon is very central to all KK sights especially the markets months waterfront, literally a 2 minute walk. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Gai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The reception was very helpful to explain about the possibilities for our stay, We are 4 persons so options are family room, 2 rooms or deluxe room with extra bed. The possibility was actually to stay in a normal double room, because the twin single beds are BIG. Not Queen size but close. We were offered to see the room and decided to book for our last 3 days in Borneo (after 4 weeks) and we have been very pleased. Breakfast is GREAT. The food in the Deco Cafe & Bar is nice, soft drinks are the most expensive we have seen in our 4 weeks and last the serving is as in most restaurants here in Sabah - you never get your food served at the same time. We ordered 3 pizzas and they were served one at a time with 10 minutes interval.?? Do they really only have room in the oven for 1 pizza at the same time.

Swimmingpool is nice and gym is good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junker208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights, overall verry godd with a few exceptions:
Our room stunk of cigarettes, no non smoking option was offered
Breakfast was not great
Considering it is a new hotel, both bathrooms (we had two stays) had problems (shower not working, screen would not close), also workmanship was poor, with big gaps appearing around doors already - I think it is going to look terrible in a few years
The pool was great, but deck only allowed for half a dozen of people to sit around.
Saying all that, it was great value and staff were very good, if they lifted their game a little, it could be great

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room if you don't like ashtrays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thornylloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £55 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing