We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly Good!”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed here for 1 night in their Deluxe room. Wasn't too sure what to expect as we usually stick with chains we are familiar with in Malaysia, but was very pleasantly surprised! Calling it a boutique hotel would be the most accurate. We loved the decor, delightfully quirky starting from the lobby with its large standing horse sculpture all the way to its rooms. Style is reminiscent of the many boutique hotels in Hong Kong and Taipei. The room wasn't big, but very comfortable. All amenities provided for including free wired internet. View from our window was splendid (ocean view) only slightly marred by the fact that 1/3 of it was blocked by a neighbouring building. Our room had a small table with little cushions which are provided for sitting, Japanese style. Bathroom had a round wooden bathtub, which was rather fun.

If you need the pool, there is one, but it's small. Gym is similarly small, but with the essential treadmill and stationary bike. No free weights though. We tried the bakery and were satisfied with their pastries and baked items. Breakfast was the usual buffet spread, quality was average.

Right outside the hotel is the 'chinatown'. The seafront is around 15-20min slow walk away. All in all, very convenient location. Service levels were average, nothing that stood out. Everyone we interacted with were professional, but all with rather stern unsmiling faces, which was odd.

The only other thing unusual thing to mention in passing, is that the hotel logo reminds me of the biohazard sign. Not an association to be desired I'm sure.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for the maximum view of the sea
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Centrally located and close to everything, very comfortable rooms, just remember to get a spare card as you need it to access the lifts, which can cause a problem if you abandon your husband in the room with no power while you go out shopping. Pool area quite small, and no where to sit, but great view of the ocean. Breakfast included was good, with lots of choice, so long as you went early, if you go later the dishes are not replenished. Has a patiserie, restaurant, cafe / bar. Business centre with two computers with free internet for those how don't take their own laptops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratacactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Checked in at 1130pm on 18 August after a long drive from sandakan.. waited for 10mins for the bell trolley, despite not a single guest was in queue.. not acceptable.
Check in was smooth. booked the Grand Deluxe with Terrace. Good thing about the room is the spacious terrace, great for family or friends to hang out and chit chat.. it is a seaview room, but unfortunately blocked by an abandoned building which is partially burnt...
The room door needs a very hard push every time we want to close it or else the annoying beeping noise will sound.
Aircon in the room was very noisy at night.
Breakfast was so so, nothing fancy, but by 10am, most of the items wont be replenished (breakfast is open until 1030am). Flies are present around the buffet line, especially near the bread counter.
Swimming pool is badly planned.. only 3 deck chairs available and they limit maximum of 20 guests in the pool on any given time.
Another annoying thing was that the room attendant rang my room bell at 8am on a sunday morning to make up the room !
Good location, can walk to Suria Mall (which is nothing much), many eateries around.

Room Tip: If you want seaview , make sure u get the highest floor possible. I had a room on level 6, sea view...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KULDOSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, General Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

We thank you for your review and our response to your review are as follows, 1. The bellman on duty was assisting in rooming a guest when you checked in and as such your luggage was brought up to you later. We do apologise for the delay. 2. Thank you for complementing on the Grand Deluxe room with its spacious terrace which we are the only city hotel with this unique product. 3. If you had difficulties in closing your room door you can always call Front Desk and a maintenance person will be on hand to rectify it immediately. The beeping sound from door is to alert when the door isn’t fully closed. It’s a built in security feature. 4. The noise from the air condition could be the strong air flow which can be adjusted on the thermostat or you can report to Front Desk and a maintenance staff will be on hand to attend to the problem. 5. We do have a wide selection for breakfast from Local, Asian to Western and also a salad bar and a dessert section. Breakfast starts from 6.30am till 10.30am daily and perhaps towards closing time some chaffing dish may have little food left in it but one can ask for replenishment from the wait staff. At times there may be a fly or two which does get in to the breakfast area as we do have guests coming in and out from the outdoor terrace area. We will do our level best to minimise this. 6. We have a fairly adequate size pools, 1 large pool and 1 kids’ pool as this is a city hotel and space is a bit constrain. For a 20 guest’s maximum in the pool is to ensure that guests have sufficient space to enjoy their swim. 7. We apologise for the early “wake up” call at 8am from the Housekeeping staff on wanting to tidy up your room on a Sunday. We have taken note of this and we apologise for the disturbance caused.
We thank you for your comments and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you and your family better on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

There are many positive things about this hotel. Firstly, location is great, within walking distance to eateries, shopping and even the jetty. The hotel is new and rooms are great, we had 4 deluxe rooms and all of us had different room setup, it's rather interesting. Bed and room decor are so comfortable, security parking for hotel guests. Guests room card can only go to their own floor, so there is a disadvantage if you have friends or families staying on different floors but understandably, it's for security reason. So, try request for same floors if you are taking more than one room. Hotel staff are courteous and with professionalism particularly the front desk and concierge. My room was not make up after the first night, I think the housekeeping came early but I had a DND on. Later I removed the DND but housekeeping didn't return to clean. The only improvement I think the hotel needs to seriously think about is how to accommodate guests at breakfast time. We had a problem with this and I saw many guests waiting for their seats during breakfast as well. A couple decided to take breakfast outside instead. Moreover, with the rooms occupancy high there should be more staff working in the restaurant especially the hotel is selling rooms with breakfast. I can see the service staff really had a hard time informing the guests to wait for seat. No supervisor on site to help with the hostess, it's really hard for the service staff to handle especially guests aren't really happy they need to wait. Our second day breakfast, we decided to eat out at the local stalls. Nonetheless, I still think it is a great hotel and reasonably priced. Really couldn't complain..

Room Tip: Top floor, sea view.. Deluxe king, bath tub inside bedroom.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Love the Horizon Hotel and the location was just fantastic.
Supermarket down the road just next to the ever ready taxi drivers, and food glorious food all around us.
We stayed in two different rooms during our time in KK and although the second one rated as the deluxe i preferedd the larger room and bathroom of the first room. That is probably the hardest choice to make - so many room types. The view over the island was great.
Breakfast included every morning was a treat and every taste bud was catered for.
Pool area the only minor down fall as the actual sitting area is quite small but the pool was welcome relief after walking around the city, and cooling off in the water whilst looking over the city was fantastic.
Would go back again and again

Room Tip: Definetly study the website and look at all room configurations. And you must ask for water views
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just got back from a 10 day stay here, room 1117. Clean, comfy and quiet place to stay right in the centre of KK. Big bed and a good size room with a sea view. Couldn't fit in bath tub and shower head not directional but Ok. Tour prices were not a rip off either, in fact the ones we did were cheaper than other operators we looked at. Staff so friendly and helpful. Its a short walk to Jessleton Point for the boat trips to the Islands, some good bars close by (Texas, opposite the Hyatt, just around the corner) and food markets all over the place, even right across the road. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Go high and get a sea view room. Its a bit more expensive but well worth it. Room has English squa...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike911EastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The Horizon is a really modern hotel in a great location. There are lots of markets and shopping centres within easy walking distance. On Sundays there are huge street markets right in front of the hotel, and every night there was a small food markets with amazing and really cheap local foods.

The hotel staff were very helpful and we were upgraded to a seaview room free of charge. Breakfast at the hotel is very nice, the hotel gave us a complimentary dinner as well, which was a nice surprise.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: £53 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Horizon Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing