We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ELEGANT HOTEL AND LOCATION”
Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“ELEGANT HOTEL AND LOCATION”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Room: elegant, stylish and spacious even for superior. Design and color of the room is black but the atmosphere is nice and COMFORT and most of all.. clean.

Bathroom - Clean and clear. shower rain and wonderful design. amenities also available.

Location: center of CP, wisma merdeka, suria sabah, pasar....

Service - ok... all staff are friendly even the housekeeping.... surprise at dawn when there's a chocolate provided for sweets :)

Value: Good for money.

Room Tip: Center of Wisma CP, Merdeka and Suria Sabah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Kennyahm ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and recent experience at the Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Your feedback is always welcomed and helpful.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Sabah. Sabah is a unique destination with lots of hidden treasures and places of interest to explore.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel Team, we all look forward to welcome you back with us again soon.

Regards,

Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    412
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
145
327
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stay for 2 nights , I 'm checked in @ 4:30pm , I booked for 1 king bed room but not ready and provide me 2 twin bed room .

During check in , front staff very nice only the concierge not really feel welcome and the concierge not allow frozen food keep in the freeze , this is my 1st time facing this type of services , I stay in 3 - 5 star hotel all provided such services , only here 4 star no such services, if you need buy frozen foods better ask don simply buy , if not , you will disappointed .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights with my husband and 3 young kids. When you travel with young children, their comfort is important. My kids love the hotel, the room, the tv with cartoon channel. The pool is a bit small but still nice to have a swim. The buffet breakfast is good with eastern, western and cereals. they also have fruits, yogurt, juices and all kind of bread. Dinner for good fresh seafood is just a walking distance away from the hotel. Dinner price at the hawkers stall is very reasonable. The philipines market is the best place to buy whatever you need from sabah. But my kids hate that place. Because it is hot and the smell of the dried seafood that they sell around there. Our trip to the Sapi and Manukan island is my kids favourites. they still talking about the fun they had untill today. Swimming and feeding the fishes is what they love most. Lucky us, the hotel and the experience is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aztaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear aztaj,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and recent experience at the Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Your feedback is always welcomed and helpful.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Sabah. Sabah is a unique destination with lots of hidden treasures and places of interest to explore.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel Team, we all look forward to welcome you back with us again soon.

Regards,
Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The location of the hotel is what I liked best. It is located right in a place which is convenient yet it is not congested. Walking distance to everything in the town area for shopping, famous seafood, jetty and even tour agent offices.
As for the hotel, it was clean, modern, quite new and the stay was pleasant. Our room was as expected besides that they did not have king bed as requested previously. But the bed quality was one fo the best.
Breakfast was acceptable having a moderate spread, general food quality and taste. They also change some of the dishes during my four-day stay.
Last but not least, service standard was fine but could be even better with more smile. Front desk staffs were helpful to share some dining places and directions.

Room Tip: Ocean seafood village serves good seafood but it is a tourist place. So, be prepared for a cost whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ong_YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon_Hotel_KK, Manager at Horizon Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Ongrodney,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and recent experience at the Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu. Your feedback is always welcomed and helpful.

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Sabah. Sabah is a unique destination with lots of hidden treasures and places of interest to explore.

On behalf of the Horizon Hotel Team, we all look forward to welcome you back with us again soon.

Regards,
Hisham Abd Samad
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We checked in for 2 night with 5 rooms. My friends are very pleased with the clean room, nice bathroom, walking distance to most of the tourist location, friendly staff. The hotel gave us a complimentary dinner at their Chinese restaurant. It surprised us and the food was delicious. The other thing to try is their Durian chill cheese Cake at the coffee house, the coffee served is Sabah local coffee called 'Tenom Coffee', for me it's a bit thin, but it has it's own unique flavor.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamien O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Horizon for 2 nights, everything was fine from when we checked in until we checked out. Very friendly staff, within walking distance to everything, good pool and gym set up and complimentary breakfast excellent. Definately recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Khoa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Me and my fiance truly enjoyed our stay at the Horizon Hotel. The ocean view room was great with a king sized bed and the room including the bathroom were very comfortable for the price we payed.

The location of this hotel is the best thing about it. You can walk to Jesselton Point to catch a boat to any of the islands or walk to 3 major shopping centres in the main town (Centrepoint Sabah, Wisma Merdeka, Suria Sabah). BB's Cafe and Gaya street are a two minute walk away. They also have an excellent Gym on the 6th floor.

The only downsides (which really weren't that major) was the swimming pool AREA is a little bit small and can get crowded. Not enough space for 7 people to sit nevermind lay about and sunbake. We found if we wanted to enjoy lying in the sun we had to go to the islands as there were europeans/caucasions constantly trying to burn themselves all day on the 6th floor pool (not sure they left the hotel all that much).

All in all it was a great place to stay considering the price we payed. Would happily stay there again. (My only gripe is how small the pool area is)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88999, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the city with sea views, featuring branded 42/50" Plasma TV, restorative rain showers, comfortable beds, free high speed internet access and all the extra touches that will make your stay memorable. Our thoughtfully designed modern spacious and luxurious rooms promise a restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel And Spa
Horizon Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing